We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a shame” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheridan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheridan House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cudahy
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what a shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

The first time we dined at Sheridan's we were fairly impressed. One year on, and looking forward to going back there - we were very, very disappointed. Not only was the food poor value for money and nothing special at all (it is expensive for what it is) - but the service and management are surly and incredibly blasé. Not a happy atmosphere at all - and if we had wanted that sort of reception or attitude whilst dining - we would have gone to France. On the one occasion we had to speak to the Owner, she was inflexible and really didn't care at all. It is such a pity as this could be such a good place - but they really need to up their game and not take their custom for granted. We will never go back there again as it was a rip off with attitude - and in the words of Sweet Brown - "ain't nobody got time for that'! Jackie - USA traveler

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    10
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
34
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

My wife and I stayed on Friday and Saturday nights to decompress after a weeklong conference. The room was attractive and clean, furnishings very nice. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spacious wth a huge shower. Wonderful towels! The restaurant food was very good, and the bistro atmosphere was pleasant. Well worth a return visit..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

My husband and I stayed 1-11 and 1-12 in 2014 and had a wonderful time the room was fantastic and the food downstairs very good. Bed was wonderfully comfortable, bedding and sheets first class, robes in bathroom, hot tub is self sanitizing and worked beautifully. All the amenities are upscale, loved little details. Very very clean. Not recommended for handicap unless maybe you do the courtyard rooms. We stayed in the Champagne room, had a little trouble with our room key but the 15 minutes I was locked out of the room they pampered me in the dining room downstairs so no complaints.
Don't miss the packages either we used this one I pasted below... while it lasts makes a great value! Get the crispy salmon from the menu I loved it. Oh and the parking is free in their private lot across the little street ( Pulaski? Ave.)to the side of the building. Take your bike, there is a great trail along the lake shore that goes for miles in either direction along the lake shore in either direction, runners paradise.

PACKAGE INCLUDES:
~ 2-Night Stay in an Exquisite guestroom only $199!
(Upgrade to Luxury +$50)
~ $30 Sheridan’s Dinner Voucher
~ $10 Sheridan’s Brunch Voucher
~ Two Free General Admissions to the Rosebud or Times Theater!

Use Promo Code "BACK2013" when you book your stay online or call 414.747.9810.

Must book and stay before March 23, 2013 when offer expires. Cannot be combined with any other offer, discount or special. Other restrictions may apply. Rates are based on double occupancy.

Room Tip: Corner room above dining room, quiet but some street noise from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

This is a great small boutique hotel and I was overly impressed by the accomodations and service I received on my visit. The rooms have different themes and are decorated to match the room theme. Everything seemed to be brand new or updated. The bed was extremely comfortable, we had a large electric fireplace in the room, and a Bose radio system. Overall, I can't say enough about how nice this little hotel was. I was going to stay at the Hilton in Milwaukee and I am very glad that I stayed at the Sheridan House instead. Also, with it being only about 15 minutes to get to downtown Milwaukee, it was very easy to get to all the sight seeing/attractions that the city has to offer.

Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: There is a main house that is attached to the restuarant which is on the second level. They do have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Recovery, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

i stayed here for two nights traveling for work and enjoyed my stay there. the rooms was very large with fireplace an nice king size bed. The bathroom had a nice walk in shower. The only thing i didn't like was that the tv was small flat screen and from the bed it was hard to see...it was march madness when i was there. i ate only 1 meal in the dinding room and it was excellent! its a short drive to downtown milwakee lots of thing to do down there we went to Harley muesum...a must.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottandabby419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srfurrer
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We treated our parents to a night in the Rioja room for their 25th wedding anniversary. My parents could not stop raving about what a fabulous time that they had at the Sheridan House. The décor was gorgeous and the room was clean. They enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the dining room. They were there on a Thursday night, so they had the pre-fixe “date night” menu and found the food very tasty. My parents were treated to a glass of champagne for their anniversary. My Dad especially liked that they served Alterra coffee, a local coffee roaster. What really made it a great experience for my parents was the owner and her staff - they were friendly, personable, and attentive. When selecting a place, we considered sending them downtown but were glad that we selected the Sheridan House because the staff went out of their way to make them feel special

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srfurrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed in the Rioja room for our 25th anniversary. The building overall was very nicely done and in great condition. The room was beautiful and the jacuzzi was very nice. However, unlike the last review, we did not have as great a dining experience, so guessing it was an off night, as we left feeling that Gordon Ramsey needed to come pay a visit!

We went down to the bistro early and there was only one other couple. The dining room is very nicely decorated and we were excited to be there. We ordered an appetizer first, which took quite a while to come out, to the point where I asked if we would be getting it with our meal, but she said it would be out shortly. Three cups of coffee later, it did finally come out. The appetizer was good, though I’m not sure why it would have taken that long to make, as it was just salsa, guacamole and chips. Just after finishing our appetizer, our food came out. We had ordered the barbecue chicken meal, which came with mashed potatoes, and the blackened grilled shrimp dinner, which came with polenta and peas. The potatoes wouldn't even melt the butter my husband put on them and the chicken was cold and just barely done. I tasted the barbecue sauce on top and while that tasted fine, it was also cold. The best part of my meal was the peas. The five small shrimp were neither blackened nor grilled, though there was some type of spice on them. Two of the five shrimp were still raw in the tail part and the last shrimp I ate had a real strange taste to it. We didn’t say anything about the meal at the time because we had already waited quite some time to get our meal and didn’t want to wait any longer. In thinking back, because the appetizer took so long, perhaps the food was done and sitting while we ate our appetizer. The one bright spot in the meal was we did have a very nice and friendly waitress. After eating, we decided not to chance the dessert and ended up going to the local Dairy Queen!

The other checkmark for me against this place would be the lack of personal touch and hospitality (unlike the County Clare we had stayed at on Friday night!). We got here just about check-in time (4PM) and met someone in the hall, who said she would tell Nick? we were there. We went back to the closed door just inside the entryway. A young gentleman met us there who was greatly lacking in customer service. He had us sign the credit card slip and told us how to get to our room, then was done with us. As we turned around to go up the stairs, I was thinking, "Wow, that's the fastest check-in I've ever had!" No explanation of anything, including the option to dine with them or the fact that there was a $15 credit for dining with our room. Nothing. Our departure the next day was about the same. The door was again closed and no one around, so we just dropped an envelope with our keys in it (one of which didn't even work!) into a metal box and we were gone. As if we'd never been. A very strange feeling.

Again, Sheridan House was a nice place in a nice location and well-maintained, and the room was beautiful and spacious. And the people we encountered in the bistro were all very friendly. Just was disappointed with the lack of personal touch with check-in/check-out and our poor dining experience. Honestly don't know if we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paperwrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cudahy
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan House

Property: Sheridan House
Address: 5133 South Lake Drive, Cudahy, WI 53110
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cudahy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cudahy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheridan House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep on a cloud and enjoy a tranquil night in the luxurious comfort of a Sheridan House guest room. Each with unique decor inspired by renowned wine making regions of the world. Every room has custom massage showers and a warm fire to cozy up to, or select an Luxury Guestroom and relax in a bubbling tub for two. Guests feel pampered as they surround themselves in luxurious Frette(R) hand-pressed linens, plush robes and towels. Be sure to visit Sheridan's, our on-site casual-gourmet cafe, serving Breakfast and lunch daily. Our scratch kitchen offers seasonal menus and our full cocktail and espresso bar features Milwaukee's own Valentine Coffee. Don't miss the Friday Fish Fry and Sunday Brunch - local favorites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sheridan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan House Hotel Cudahy
Sheridan Hotel Cudahy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing