We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Great Prices and Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samano's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Samano's
Ranked #14 of 31 Restaurants in Cudahy
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Prices and Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Once again had another outstanding meal at Samano's. They just finished an exterior remodel and the new space is looking great! Committed to trying new food this time and was not let down. The grilled steak burrito was well done, but the winner was the Chorizo Tacos. These were absolutely fantastic and will now be included in my regular order! I highly recommend this family run Mexican restaurant!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarvis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    3
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Filthy. Go in the day and see. Dirty menus.
Waitress said they TRY to clean them daily. No way.
Food is not even ok.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Maggies made with 7-up”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I couldn't believe it when I ordered a margarita and the bartender made it with 7-up and tequilla. I complained, but he said that's the way they make them there. And it's not like they're cheap. Otherwise their guac is OK, but the fried appetizers seem to be like bulk frozen foods.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank PerpetualTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One Word "Horrible"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

Locals seem to think this place has the best authentic Mexican food. Those locals must be brain-dead. WE have lived near Cudahy for 10 years. We tried Samanos on Kinnickinnic and could not leave fast enough. Truly the most blah tasteless small portion and expensive food we have had in many years. Absolutely no idea why anyone would recommend this dirty little beer hole. The restaurant seems to be a converted duplex. From the 1950s plastic plates and cups to wait staff that can not spell "customer service" avoid this place. We left and went to a local fast food place so we could get something worth eating. As we left our surly barmaid waitress shouted "Nice tip a-hole" as we walked out the door. We left $0 because the service and food was worth the same.

Want truly great authentic Mexican food - head west down Layton Blvd (street just south of Samanos) for about 5 miles to El Fuego on the left. Worth ever penny and service 2nd to none. My high school lunch was better than Samanos!! I swear my chicken tacos tasted more like cardboard box tacos.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarnivalSux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It all tasted the same”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

The locals rave about this place...I tried it three times and tried something different each time thinking perhaps I just wasn't getting the right item.... BUT nope it all tasted teh same. Whether it was beef or chicken...enchilada or chimichanga...didn't matter...

And no it wasn't the cleanest place to go! I went to the restroom washed my hands and wanted to turn right back around and wash them again. Door knobs were chunky...foors not swept...adn this was right at opening time for lunch.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank outdoorjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samano's also viewed

 

Been to Samano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing