We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iiija's Place”
Review of Ilija's Place - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ilija's Place
Cuisines: Eastern European, International, European, Central European
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Wi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Iiija's Place”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This place is no longer in business,but was a very nice place . Owner of building raised the rent too high and they could not afford it any longer

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shayneWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very sad to see them close!”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

After many years Ilija had a landlord change.
It seems the new landlord only cares about money, she increased the rent to the point that Ilija and his lovley wife were not able to remain there.
Imagine pushing such a great business out of your door...
Ilija's Place closed this fall and Cudahy and all Southeastern Wisconsin will miss them.
We spent the last few nights they were open there for dinner and many hugs and tears were shared.
We left with full bellies and aching hearts. There is NO OTHER place like Ilija's and we are very sorry to loose such a great restaurant.
We have had Ilija and his family to our home for dinner and the friendship we have with them helps to carry on the countless memories we share.
Hope to see you again soon, my friends...
J&A

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our "home away from home"”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

THE BEST sarma, venison goulash and lamb shank in town, not to mention all the Serbian specialties! My husband and I have taken many friends and family members there over the past 3 years and worked our way through the entire menu...everything is amazing! We've never been disappointed. Ilija is warm and welcoming and very charming as is his handsome son Neven... and Georgia is a force to be reckoned with in that tiny kitchen! I am always impressed with her cooking. It really has become our "go to" home away from home. There aren't many places that give so much personal attention to their customers...obviously, we go there for the food, but the whole experience is wonderful and sometimes our meal lingers on for 4 or 5 hours because we're having such a great time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very authentic ethnic menu”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

As a change from regular menu fare, we decided to eat at this Croation restaurant. It is a very distinctive menu in a totally European atmosphere. I pointed to the special because I couldn't pronounce it. Service was efficient and food quite tasty.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank watergirl0153226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“We always feel so welcome here!!!!”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have been going to Ilija's for dinner for at least 8 years. We absolutely it!!! The family who own it are amazing. Ilija is such a pleasant host. He always makes sure we are well taken care of. His son,Neven, is equally welcoming and friendly. Georgia, the beautiful wife of Ilija, is an extraordinary cook. Her food is always so delicious. My favorite entrees are the sarma(stuffed cabbage) and the stuffed pepper. My husband likes the venison goulash and the pork shank. The Serbian salad is yummy. The bread is always fresh and perfectly baked by son, Dario. My winter drink of choice there is the Serbian tea. You can't go wrong by eating here. We always love it!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janetalthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ilija's Place also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing