We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mexican food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand River Oasis

Grand River Oasis
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dalton
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Big Bend, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I have been to a lot of Mexican restaurants but this is the best food around, granted it does not have "atmosphere" but I would rather go to a place that has good food rather than to some place that looks nice and has bad food! The prices are reasonable and my wife and I will drive up from Muskego (about 90 miles) just to eat here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montello, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Greatest mexican food in the area. Authentic and reasonable priced. Super margaritas The staff is relaxed and friendly. Almost like you're in their kitchen.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's all about the food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Grand river oasis has some of the best beef taco's ive ever eaten. Some people may have trouble getting over the dive bar, 80's rock, bud light drink coaster, kind of atmosphere. nevertheless they are putting out excellent, authentic mexican food. So get over your inner-yuppie and allow the food to speak for itself!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnsonaaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic taste!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

From the outside of the building you would not expect to find a delicious authentic Mexican meal awaiting you inside. However,this small Wisconsin bar is a roadside gem with AMAZING Mexican flare . The chips and fresh salsa is as good as it gets. (Be sure to try the HOT) I had the shredded chicken tacos with a side of black beans and Mexican rice. The rice is fantastic!! The margaritas were terrific and were a great complement to my meal. If you order a side of guacamole, be ready to over eat! Everything was fresh, delicious and there was plenty of it!! You can not find a better Mexican meal for the price in the area. This is an establishment you choose to try GOOD FOOD and not to be concerned with ambiance. The owner does not speak English and while I was there he walked by while I was eating and smiled when he saw that I was happy with my meal. The bartender and the cook (owner) appeared to be the only staff working during my visit.. The service was excellent and quick!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
small town, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great food and tasty margaritas. Out in Amish country - just be careful to not hit any horse + buggies!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelesterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand River Oasis also viewed

Been to Grand River Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing