We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated hotel with several annoyances”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison North
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in DeForest
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dated hotel with several annoyances”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We are currently in Madison for 2 nights for a state swim meet. We picked this hotel based on previous reviews. When we checked in late last night we were not greeted by the front desk associate. I guess I would at the very least expect a "hello" or "good evening". She just looked at me and waited for me to speak. Upon checking into the room, one key didn't even work. The beds, while not uncomfortable, were stained and filthy all around them. There were several hairs on 2 of our pillows, as well as more hairs in the shower...even on the ceiling! Breakfast was okay at best. Watery eggs, bagels were crumbly and tasteless...not sure how you can mess up a bagel. The kitchen workers were at least pleasant and made sure the food was kept up. The fridge in our room sounds like a time bomb ticking. I had to unplug it during the night because it was keeping me up. The heater turned on every 5 minutes and blew freezing cold air on our bed for about 30 seconds straight. I have stayed at a lot of hotels and do not feel that I am all that picky. I don't set my expectations too high, but I want to at least feel that the room has been cleaned and the bed linens have been washed prior to my arrival. We didn't use the pool so I can't comment on that. All in all, very disappointed for a $100 per night room.

Room Tip: It is about a 30 minute drive from the campus in Madison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvbassist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cicares, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Madison North, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Sorry you were disappointed with your accommodation during your stay. I will consult with my staff and review with them these concerns. We strive to make our guests experience a pleasant, memorable and content one, but sometimes these expectations are not obtained. The training on personal services has been addressed and we aim to improve these services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    40
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
26
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I was overcharged on my bill and it took months to resolve the problem. overall the rooms are good but contacting anyone that is in charge of billing is next to impossible. And you might get charges on your credit card 4 months after your stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cicares, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Madison North, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
We have set up a better platform so this action does not occur again. Your concerns determined that more communication regarding billing issues was needed so that this will not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have stayed closer to Madison for a few years as we travel south and our return trip north and have been disappointed each time. We decided to try this Comfort Inn for a change. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. There was work space and an easy chair in the room, along with refrigerator and microwave for convenience. The desk staff was quick and efficient. There was a sitting area on the second floor where I could work and be comfortable and not interfere with my husband's tv watching. We were especially pleased with the breakfast selection (one of the important things when we travel). We will make this our stop each year on our way south and north.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The first overnight of our vacation trip was very enjoyable. The front desk was notably efficient at getting us checked in. Our room on the second floor was terrific. Plenty of space to stretch out after a long day of driving. The bathroom was very clean and well stocked with the standard toiletries. The room had plenty of light and a convenient workspace for my computer. There was a wedding reception going on when we arrived which sort of filled the parking lot, but we were able to find a space not far from the stairway. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and I enjoyed a good night's sleep. Having a refrigerator in the room was a plus. allowing us to chill our beverages for the next day's drive. (We had a cooler along for our drinks.) Breakfast was actually better than most and the choices were excellent - basically, something for everyone. Check-out was a breeze and made the entire stay a real pleasure. The best thing I can say is that I would not hesitate to stay here again. If you are looking for a fantastic value, a very clean, comfortable room, and a convenient location to I-39, this is definitely the place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RevRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We LOVED our stay at the Comfort Inn in Deforest. They have a regular pool, kiddie pool and very large hot tub. Was shocked to see it used salt water process that I have only seen in high end resorts in Florida. The price was great (awesome actually). Breakfast was good with a lot of variety. Staff was friendly. Had a maintenance issue that was fixed within 15 minutes of calling front desk. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: They sold out of extra beds before we arrived.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales5025, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Madison North, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed 5 nights while at a conference and found this hotel to be functional and clean. The room included a couch, coffee table, microwave and small frig. The pool area had a whirlpool, pool and kiddy pool. The breakfast is adequate and there's a small bar and conference center on site. The bedding was the least favorite part of the stay - very industrial. My room had dusty corners and an old beer next to the bedside table. I mentioned it to the staff and they cleaned a little more carefully the next day. The hotel is right off the interstate but it's about 30 minute drive to downtown Madison and 45 minutes to WI Dells. That said - there are a nice assortment of local restaurants within a 10-15 minute drive.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a room on the backside facing the cornfield. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We were here for a wedding on the premise's. We had a king suite on the 2nd floor. The room was huge! The bed was very comfortable and we slept great. Breakfast in the morning was the typical card filled kind. I always search out the hard-boiled eggs. If in the area again we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Lots of extra room in the king suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flame6883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales5025, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Madison North, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for a great review! We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeForest
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area)
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Windsor/Madison North
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
8.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#18 of 63 in Madison
406 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Madison North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Madison North

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Madison North
Address: 5025 County Road V, DeForest, WI 53532-1921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > DeForest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in DeForest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Madison North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites is your home away from home! All our rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, and free wireless internet. We serve a great breakfast in the morning, which is included with your stay. Our property has an indoor pool, whirlpool and children's pool - along with a fitness center and game room. After a long day, come relax in our lounge with our nightly specials while enjoying a made from scratch delicious pizza! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Madison North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel De Forest
Comfort Inn De Forest
De Forest Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing