We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lake Lawn will exceed your expectations.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Lawn Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grafton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lake Lawn will exceed your expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

From the initial check-in to check out, our stay was just tremendous. Great food- they have a tremendous chef, nice shops, and a somewhat challenging mature golf course. Those huge Oaks tell you this course has been around for quite some time. Combine all this with the quiet charm of rural Wisconsin, and you have a wonderful resort experience. We need to come back more often.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view. Most rooms (85%+) have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    264
    47
    21
    12
See reviews for
346
352
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Awesome front desk staff. Great smiles and warm greetings. Fun group.
Clean rooms with a housekeeping staff that is responsible for paying attention to details.
No need to walk outside if weather is inclement because walkways are enclosed. Good place for a conference.
Two drawbacks: 1. May flies are swarming so heavily I wasn't able to sit in comfortable looking rockers outside my room door. Have to wait til they die off to really enjoy the surrounding beauty.
2. It's obvious newly hired student workers are now on the job for summer. The I asked for directions couldn't help me. Management needs to help them learn the layout of the facility so they can be better ambassadors for guests.
I would stay here again and recommend it for both business meetings and old fashioned family fun with a lake and activities.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ProfLescota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Let me start by saying it had been 33 years since I had been to this resort. I was there when it was called Lake Lawn Lodge and totem poles were actually considered a decoration!! We often frequent the Grand Geneva so when my husband was given a weekend away as a "thank you" we decided to wrap the kiddos up and jut on out there for something different. He works in the heart of Chi-town and commutes via the Metra so we had him come into the Harvard station (end of the line) and we picked him up on a Thursday late afternoon. From there the trip was only 16 miles into Lake Delavan where the resort is located SO convenient! At first glance, I thought I took a trip back in time as the exterior hadn't changed much BUT those totem poles were now gone. Phew!! Check-in was a breeze and we were given a lakefront loft room which had a balcony with two twins (great for kids) and a king for us down below. The entire resort is very "rustic" and has a "lodgy" feel and look. I am not much into that but I must say I settled in real fast! The resort is updated and extremely clean but the best part is how quiet everything is. Things are spread out and the walls super thick so you honestly you don't even know you even have any neighbors. The view was outstanding and most of the service right on par! Dick, the Concierge, is the BEST!!! What a gem of a person and employee they have there!! Rick and Brenda in the Frontier Grill are also total assets to the resort. The front desk, however, needed a little help with service as when we asked as to why the Isle of Capri wasn't open on a Friday morning, as their sign clearly indicated it would be, they were less than helpful or friendly for that matter. Regardless, we enjoyed the restaurants, the indoor pool, the bonfires, game room and miniature golf. So much for families to do even if you aren't really "doing" anything. It is a place to relax, regroup and focus on what is important and for us at that time was family but it is one of those places that whether your focus is family, love, friends, business or just to be alone, it will provide you with what you need. There are 5 or 6 private families that own it (so it is NOT a corporate driven facility with mounds of capital behind them) but they are constantly putting money into upgrades and presentation and you can see it everywhere. Summer will be a great time to go back with a fleet of new boats and rehabbed pool!! I highly recommend giving it a try!

Room Tip: Lakefront room is a must!!!! If traveling with kids a loft room is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxeMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here May 5-8, 2014. We booked through Groupon at the 109 per night rate. Upon check-in, I informed the front desk that if was our wedding anniversary and asked if they had anything special available. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite with a balcony directly on the lake. It was a beautiful room, but unfortunately, we had to be relocated due to hot water issues in this particular wing. The relocation was handled well and the replacement room was a very nice upgrade, but not as nice as the original. My wife used the spa one day for a facial and a manicure and reports an excellent experience. The resort was only at 20% occupancy, so understandably, some of the resort facilities were closed. but this did not detract from our stay or enjoyment. This resort has undergone extensive renovations in the last few years and is now an excellent value in the Lake Geneva area. It is actually on Lake Delavan, but only a 15 minute drive from Lake Geneva.

Room Tip: The resort has alot of lake view rooms, ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davgram59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I am going to skip how nice the resort is and just comment on the restaurant. We had not visisted Lake Lawn resort in several years becuase we felt that the restaurant was just OK. I was pleasantly surprised this trip when we ate at the Frontier and had an excellent menu. I will be back more often now that I feel no need to leave to go out for dinner. We also had breakfast room service and were very delighted with service and quality of food.

Room Tip: We love the rooms on ground level with outdoor patio area. One with lakeview would just be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeC1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I'm very prejudiced about this hotel, as my husband and I got married here. And now we return for an anniversary weekend every year in December. I know there are a ton of activities in the spring and summer - golf, swimming, etc.; but going there in the winter is a little slice of of Bing Crosby and the lodge in "White Christmas."

Lake Lawn has beautiful "rustic" suites with all the amenities including their great Kohler bathrooms with super showers; your choice of using the kitchen or room service and cozy fireplaces in the living rooms.

There's swimming or the spa -- which is beautiful with great service. Think about a winter getaway there with fine food in the restaurants or the fun of exploring Delavan or Lake Geneva, as well.

The service is great. Last year they even had a "Happy Anniversary" sign up in our room. Now that's personal service. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lake Delavan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjhahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The spa is fantastic. The rooms and the entire resort are very clean and well kept. They pay a lot of attention to detail. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view. You can sit on the balcony and watch the boats, ducks and people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delavan
5.4 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.2 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
9.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
10.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Property: Lake Lawn Resort
Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing