We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to lake Geneva, but quieter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Delavan Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is my second stay at DLR. There seemed to be very few people staying here. We rented a one bedroom on the north side of the property, closest to the public beach launch. We had a sliver of a view of the lake because we were pretty far away from the back section of the resort. The room was comfortable enough. They leave plates, cups, etc. for a service of four. The micro also serves as a convection oven...no stove in the unit. This works fine, but it is older so you need to be prepared with your selection of meals. In our unit, the air conditioner really blew in the bedroom, but left the living area warm. Our daughter slept there, so it was a bit uncomfortable for her. The unit itself was very loud, and woke us up continually. The bathroom was large enough and has a tub/shower. The pools were clean and warm, and the hot tub not too hot. The indoor pool floor is very slippery, as we witnessed several adults falling just from walking. Little ones beware. There are more than enough towels and lawn chairs available both in and out. There is also an area to watch the sunset right in font of the pool. Laundry in is the basement at the far end of the property, but it served its purpose. Great views. Very close to Lakes Geneva and Como. Clean, quiet resort with helpful front desk staff.

Room Tip: You will pay more, but room with infect lake views are available. Not really necessary as you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbcaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Cob webs with tons of old dead mosquitoes all over the patio furniture (got some spider's bites in my leg), pool's filter running slow, - pool was closed 3 mornings out of our stay of 5 days. The balcony at the room it was impossible to enjoy once the air conditioning exhaust fan was right there blowing the hot air at you, beside the noise, so forget about to sip a glass of wine at your balcony to watch the beautiful sun settings.
Clean room, nice people at the front desk and crew. Not sure if I would go back.

Room Tip: lake front view, but you can't use the balcony (due to air conditioning blowing hot air at you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciganinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

On a friends tip we tried this resort. We always went to Lake Geneva which is a resort town about 6 miles from Delavan. This place is great. We found out it is about 10 years old but it looks sparkling new. We opted for a cheaper parking lot view because I do not really need to see a frozen lake but the lady did show us lake view rooms and they were awesome. That is another thing this place is on the lake where places in Geneva are a couple blocks away. They have 2 real nice pools with a hot tub that my kids never left. When all the weekend people left we had the place to ourselves. It is offseason. The room had a kitchen, bedroom, and a fireplace. We are looking forward to coming in summertime you could bring your boat they have a pier.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Soxfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This is a condo hotel, and it has large two bedroom condos available that our large family feels comfortable in. We visit probably 3x yearly, and try to stay in a two bedroom on the bottom floor, which is close to the very clean indoor pool, outdoor pool, and arcade room. The other two bedrooms are very nice but the ones on the bottom floor tend to be larger. There really isn't anything to do in Delavan, although there are a couple of decent restaurants. Our main purpose for staying here is for visiting nearby Lake Geneva. The staff at the condo hotel is fantastic, very kind and helpful, and I believe has it not changed in the maybe 5 years we have been visiting. We love the water and hot coffee in the lobby. The lobby is beautiful, with beautiful views of the lake. One con: no ovens in the units, just microwave, dishwasher, and refrigerator. The kitchens are well-stocked, however. One other note: the carpets are worn on the bottom floor near the pool, and some ceilings have signs of water damage. Just disclosing this in the interest of being completely honest, but this place really is clean and well maintained, otherwise.

Room Tip: We prefer the premium two bedrooms on the bottom floor due to their large size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1travelerof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Just got back from a weekend in Delavan, and glad I stayed there instead of Lake Geneva. Why?
1- location was much more peaceful. It was fun to go into Lake Geneva to shop, and do touristy things by day, but returning to the hotel to swim, hot tub, and relax, was great.
2- We arrived on a rainy day, so a quick walk over to the Village Supper club yielded cold beer, friendly staff, and excellent Italian food as well as steaks, walleye, etc.
3- significantly less traffic hassle in Delavan.

Explore the area, then have dinner at the Village, or drive into the downtown for breakfast. The condo we were in had a small patio, gas fireplace and was really clean. Only thing was there was no stove/oven, but there was a large refrigerator and microwave. Not sure how you cook your fish with no stove, but since we weren't there for the fishing, it wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quilmesgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We were unfortunate enough to have a room by one of the external air conditioners. Every single hour, all night long, they would turn on and make such a racket that everyone in the suite would wake up! We called the front desk to see what was going on, but nothing could be done.

The hotel, pool, and community rooms make this a perfect place for family gatherings, but BE SPECIFIC when booking a room! All walls are paper thin, so get one far away from any noise makers!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveler061811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Tucked away on the Southeast end of Lake Delavan, this very well kept up Resort provides you with an excellent view of the entire Lake as well as excellent room choices. There are plenty of things for the kids to do - an indoor and outdoor pool as well as a game room.

The Staff was very Customer friendly and worked with me to move us when our two kids left after spending the weekend with us. Plenty of parking and we also felt very safe and secure at this Resort. The daily cleanings were also helpful.

Very close to a number of quality restaurants (Millie's for example) and also close to the highway.

Room Tip: If you are looking for the best view, ask for 2nd or 3rd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank strongmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delavan
1.0 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
1,007 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
449 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Delavan - Lake Geneva Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
626 reviews
7.9 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
533 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delavan Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delavan Lake Resort

Address: 1550 S Shore Dr, Delavan, WI 53115-3625
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range: £97 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Delavan Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Delavan Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delavan Lake Hotel Delavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing