We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Delavan Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This resort served our purpose, a family weekend getaway. With two bedrooms and two baths, we had ample space. The kids loved the pool. However, the place could use some maintenance. Stairway and elevator carpets were dirty and the carpeting in the pool area was stained. The fence and railings could use a coat of paint. Most disappointing was the "fitness center" which had antiquated equipment, a broken treadmill and an out-of-order TV. It is a shame, really, because the place definitely has potential. Certainly not for $278/night though!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    18
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Rooms are spacious, clean, and beautiful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with kitchen (no stove but a multifunctioning convection/micro unit). The view was awesome as we watched sail boats on the lake into the sunset.

The staff is helpful and fun and cared about the guests. They are doing some minor repairs on the building, but nothing that was bothersome.

Room Tip: Odd numbers seem to be lakeside. Suite 323 was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The resort has great potential. It needs some Tender Loving Care, though. The carpets near the pool are stained, and our room had several minor maintenance issues (dresser drawers that didn't fit properly, a loose seal on the refrigerator, a missing curtain in a bedroom.) Most upsetting were the silverfish that we saw in the kitchenette. The staff did seem to be constantly cleaning the common areas and pools, but more work is needed. We also felt rushed at check-out time, as the front desk asked if we were "out of room" yet each time that we passed the desk with load of luggage.

Room Tip: The lake view is very nice. Corner suites have a better common area for gathering/entertaining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is my second stay at DLR. There seemed to be very few people staying here. We rented a one bedroom on the north side of the property, closest to the public beach launch. We had a sliver of a view of the lake because we were pretty far away from the back section of the resort. The room was comfortable enough. They leave plates, cups, etc. for a service of four. The micro also serves as a convection oven...no stove in the unit. This works fine, but it is older so you need to be prepared with your selection of meals. In our unit, the air conditioner really blew in the bedroom, but left the living area warm. Our daughter slept there, so it was a bit uncomfortable for her. The unit itself was very loud, and woke us up continually. The bathroom was large enough and has a tub/shower. The pools were clean and warm, and the hot tub not too hot. The indoor pool floor is very slippery, as we witnessed several adults falling just from walking. Little ones beware. There are more than enough towels and lawn chairs available both in and out. There is also an area to watch the sunset right in font of the pool. Laundry in is the basement at the far end of the property, but it served its purpose. Great views. Very close to Lakes Geneva and Como. Clean, quiet resort with helpful front desk staff.

Room Tip: You will pay more, but room with infect lake views are available. Not really necessary as you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbcaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago,IL
Level Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Cob webs with tons of old dead mosquitoes all over the patio furniture (got some spider's bites in my leg), pool's filter running slow, - pool was closed 3 mornings out of our stay of 5 days. The balcony at the room it was impossible to enjoy once the air conditioning exhaust fan was right there blowing the hot air at you, beside the noise, so forget about to sip a glass of wine at your balcony to watch the beautiful sun settings.
Clean room, nice people at the front desk and crew. Not sure if I would go back.

Room Tip: lake front view, but you can't use the balcony (due to air conditioning blowing hot air at you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciganinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

On a friends tip we tried this resort. We always went to Lake Geneva which is a resort town about 6 miles from Delavan. This place is great. We found out it is about 10 years old but it looks sparkling new. We opted for a cheaper parking lot view because I do not really need to see a frozen lake but the lady did show us lake view rooms and they were awesome. That is another thing this place is on the lake where places in Geneva are a couple blocks away. They have 2 real nice pools with a hot tub that my kids never left. When all the weekend people left we had the place to ourselves. It is offseason. The room had a kitchen, bedroom, and a fireplace. We are looking forward to coming in summertime you could bring your boat they have a pier.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Soxfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

This is a condo hotel, and it has large two bedroom condos available that our large family feels comfortable in. We visit probably 3x yearly, and try to stay in a two bedroom on the bottom floor, which is close to the very clean indoor pool, outdoor pool, and arcade room. The other two bedrooms are very nice but the ones on the bottom floor tend to be larger. There really isn't anything to do in Delavan, although there are a couple of decent restaurants. Our main purpose for staying here is for visiting nearby Lake Geneva. The staff at the condo hotel is fantastic, very kind and helpful, and I believe has it not changed in the maybe 5 years we have been visiting. We love the water and hot coffee in the lobby. The lobby is beautiful, with beautiful views of the lake. One con: no ovens in the units, just microwave, dishwasher, and refrigerator. The kitchens are well-stocked, however. One other note: the carpets are worn on the bottom floor near the pool, and some ceilings have signs of water damage. Just disclosing this in the interest of being completely honest, but this place really is clean and well maintained, otherwise.

Room Tip: We prefer the premium two bedrooms on the bottom floor due to their large size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1travelerof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delavan
1.0 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
8.1 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
8.2 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delavan Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delavan Lake Resort

Property: Delavan Lake Resort
Address: 1550 S Shore Dr, Delavan, WI 53115-3625
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delavan Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Delavan Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delavan Lake Hotel Delavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing