We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful show!!!!!”

The Dancing Horses Theatre
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Delavan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy a day full of experience at Wisconsin’s own Dancing Horses, Animal Gardens. You day begins with The Dancing Horses Theatre presentation of an enchanting NEW performance that is unparalleled anywhere else. From the moment the show opens until the finale, the audiences of all ages sit spellbound, applauding each equine performer and trainer, exclaiming in wonder, chuckling at the humor and even wiping the occasional tear when a moment of connection touches a heartstring. Get up close with the trainers with our newest park feature: the Backstage Tour. During the tour, you are given a demonstration about liberty-style horse training and then you will be invited into the stables to meet the equine performers. Next, as you exit The Dancing Horses Theatre, you enter the 30-minute Exotic Bird Show which follows. Meeting our Exotic Birds is a delightful treat. This performance features several different species of exotic birds that will amaze you with their incredible abilities and antics. Your experience continues with more, a visit to the Baby Animal Barn. The Baby Animal Barn is filled with both domestic and exotic baby animals that children can hold and feed. Our staff is there to answer any questions you may have about our baby animals. In close proximity is an outside petting zoo and several charming rides children will enjoy.You can then take a walk or ride through our Wildlife Exhibit, a natural-setting zoo where you can see animals, many of which are indigenous to Wisconsin. The exhibit culminates in the Deer Park where you can pet and feed white tail deer. You can experience a tractor-pulled wagon ride though the park, where larger animals are available for viewing. You won’t want to miss the train ride though our Indian Village; complete with teepees, Native American art, and oral history lesson about the area’s indigenous people.With the two stunning performances, The Dancing Horses and the Exotic Bird Show, and our animal attractions, this will be a day you will not soon forget and will want to share with everyone.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Rockford, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful show!!!!!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The show was breathtaking!!! We saw a Saturday afternoon performance and had a wonderful time. We roamed the grounds before the show and saw the animals and the exotic bird show and had a relaxing afternoon. The quality of the performance was more than we expected--it was simply wonderful. The back stage tour was also very informative-- but the crowd was way too big so we did not get to pet as many of the horses as we would have liked to-- but still worth the time and money. Five Gold Stars for this attraction.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJLIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    53
    13
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enchanting show!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I was excited to take my grandson to the show, I did not expect the show we experienced. The choreography was beautiful, horses are breathtaking! I was super impressed with the trainer & performers. The costumes are Vegas quality. Very entertaining afternoon. Petting zoo was fun. The goats charmed my grandson, the animals are clean and well cared for. I was not as excited about the bird show, just ok. At full price, this is a bit steep for a family outing with kids. A Groupon made it a fair deal. The owner understands what entertainment is all about, the crowd was fully engaged and all seemed to enjoy the show.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank indy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Horses were pretty....show was just "eh"”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I took my mom here for her birthday and she loves horses. We both thought the horses were pretty, but the show was a bit "cheesy". A lot of the horse acts were them running around the ring while wearing costumes. There were other times where there were no horses in the ring and we had to watch water spray around or girls dangling from hoops. We went to see the horses....not girls doing acrobatics. I would say this show is best for kids aged 4-10. The staff was very nice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Missed the Dancing Horses, but the kids loved the feeding the deer”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We took the three grandkids, ages 8, 4 and 3 to this attraction on a Monday. At first, we were the only ones there. Best deal was the family package, but there were extra charges for the rides, food to feed tha aminals and boat and pony rides. We took the train to the "zoo"...Rip off. Over half of the "cages" were empty. The intern was very knowlegable and the grandkids loved feeding the deer.But the grounds and buildings need updating, paint etc. Exotic bird show consisted of four birds, but again the kids loved it and were able to pet one of the birds after the short show. At the end of our stay, the four year old proclaimed he was bored....Out of the mouths of babes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“To be fare, we did not stay....”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stopped by intending to visit the gardens, buit ended up not stayiong. The place seemed to need a major clean-up, it was VERY expensize to get in considering admission did not include any activities from rides to fed cups (those I can understand, but EVERY ride is an extra $3.00-$6.00) except for the bird show which was starting in several hours.
Staff seemed nice, except girl at check-in once we discussed how expensive it was.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank EarthBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dancing Horses Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Dancing Horses Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing