We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable but need to know what to expect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The House on the Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dodgeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The House on the Rock Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dodgeville
chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“comfortable but need to know what to expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Visiting HOTR and appreciate the access to both Dodgeville for dining and the HOTR including Talesin.

Recommend upper floor rooms facing the back of the property, and choose rooms with balconies that give you a great sweeping view of the SW WI countryside. Avoid the rooms with hot tubs or lower levels where the traffic is higher.

Rooms are very good with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and in-room refrigerator. Dont expect good mobile phone coverage in this area and hotel wifi is spotty. Let the connection to the rest of the world go when here. You deserve it.

Front desk was very gracious and accommodating. Bartender Dave was entertaining and worth a stop at the bar.

All around very pleased with this place despite the weary reviews from others.

Room Tip: Upper floors, facing back, and with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoSped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    56
    61
    37
    25
See reviews for
106
69
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Reception area/lobby were beautiful and the staff was very nice, but...the room was very outdated and literally smelled of excrement. Carpet was filthy! Whirlpool (no way was going to use it, which is why we booked the room in the first place) and toilet were stained. The bed was like sleeping on a rock and there where pubic hairs on the inside of the bedspread and blanket. This room was no way worth the price!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dodgeville hotels

Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The room was great. We like having one sink in the bathroom and one in the room. The beds were comfy, but the pillows were pretty lumpy. It was quiet and peaceful. The indoor pool was awesome! The temperature was perfect. The continental breakfast was good. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

This place looks great from the outside, the lobby, the swimming area....everything but the room itself! Very outdated. Beds were like sleeping on an actual rock from The House On The Rock attraction. Carpet in room was very old and nasty looking! NO WI-FI in the rooms! Really? I mean come on! It's 2014, what hotel doesn't have WORKING WI-FI available in their rooms? Don't let them lie to you when they say it's spotty kind of on and off. Just plan on sitting in the lobby if you must use the internet. I was really let down by the rooms! Oh, a very nice looking bar/grill was on the other side of a large neat looking fireplace in the lobby. However, it appears it is only there for looks. Was never open. Either call for a pizza delivery or plan on hitting the road to head North or South a few miles for a place to eat. After reading other reviews here, I didn't bother to check out the breakfast thing they offered. No way!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pistol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I almost changed my reservation to another place after reading some of the reviews, but I'm so glad I didn't!
I brought 3 teens and a friend to stay overnight then visit The House on the Rock. They offered a good deal online (including tickets) for a Deluxe Double Queen (2 queens, pull-out sofa bed plus fridge, microwave & balcony).
The place was not a cookie cutter hotel, it has wonderfully decorated public areas, including a grand piano, which all the girls enjoyed playing. The submarine water feature was a blast for ALL of us - and the regular pool & large hot tub were nice and warm. It had large bathrooms plus shower/changing room also.
The beds were not pillow top, a bit firm, but the sofa bed was comfy. There was a little noise from the unit directly above, but we all slept well anyway. The rooms were fully stocked with extra towels and double soap/lotion sets. (it had a extra vanity outside the bathroom)

The Inn was very clean and the staff were ALL pleasant & helpful, providing us everything we asked for. The continental breakfast had hot & cold cereals, muffins, bagels, English muffins, toast, yogurt, fruit, cocoa, coffee, juice etc.

We would certainly come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tln3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, CT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here as part of the package with the House on the Rock tour. Online, it looks like this is a busy resort, but the hotel is not anywhere near the actual House on the Rock, and it was pretty empty when we visited (late June). The restaurant/lounge wasn't open, which was disappointing since we had been looking forward to eating dinner there.

The pool area was interesting but was extremely hot, as was the workout room- apparently the A/C was off or not working properly (though it was fine in our room). Next time we'll look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

If this hotel gave the rooms the attention they give the lobby it would be fantastic. It has its pluses and is really designed to be family friendly not geared towards couples/romance.

It does have a great little gift shop and check in was easy for us. The hotel was fairly empty when we came. Easy parking and lots to look at in lobby/pool area. The outside was clean and well landscaped.

Pros:
Three pools, (outdoor pool closed for season, kids pool was off) a large hot tub that could fit several couples comfortably. The pool area was clean and did not smell of chlorine when we there. The hot tub was very hot.

We had a balcony room so we could go out and smoke. We were on the back of the hotel and had a decent view. The balcony could fit two chairs easily.

Room was a comfortable size with a loveseat and coffee table and a table w/2 chairs

Good tv reception and decent amount of channels.

Decent size bathroom and enough counter space.

Additional sink outside bathroom

game room

plenty of comfortable sitting/gathering areas in lobby and by pool

room and common areas clean

Cons:

Beds were like tacos -desperately need to be replaced

Room is very outdated including tv (but everything worked)

Not enough outlets

Wi-Fi was slow. At first I couldn't get on - until I went to google then it took me to a place to log in. Once on, it was enough for checking email and web browsing.

slow elevators

washer/dryers were rusty

bad water pressure in shower

no coffee maker/fridge/micro

Breakfast is very basic and is in the basement, but the basement halls look just like the rest of the hotel - not really a basement as others describe. It is like a conference room and on a busy morning you may be sitting with strangers. Did not smell any mildew or mold.

Overall I agree its overpriced for the room, but you are paying for convenience to the attraction. If I had kids I would come back for the pool areas. As a smoker I would come back for the balcony room, otherwise I think I would opt for something a little more comfortable in the same price range and drive a little further.

Right down the street is another hotel that has fantasy suites and a jet in front of it. The plane was open when we went by and you could go inside (no charge). Its like a military transport plane. Could be fun for some ,especially kids.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back and had an ok view. If your room is in the front you look at parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iwanttoseeamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodgeville
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites - Dodgeville
14.3 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
13.3 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
21.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
7.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House on the Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on the Rock Inn

Property: The House on the Rock Inn
Address: 3591 State Road 23, Dodgeville, WI 53533-8901
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Dodgeville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dodgeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House on the Rock Inn has something for everyone. There is virtually any room style available from family suites to a standard room. A submarine-themed play pool for the kids stands next to a swimming pool for all ages, or relax by the fireplace in the plush lounge. And of course the cozy rooms make for the ideal conclusion to a fun filled day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The House On The Rock Hotel Dodgeville
Hotel On The Rock
House Of The Rock Wi
The House On Rock Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing