We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, fun experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Q Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Q Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dodgeville
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quirky, fun experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We are used to the chain hotels and this stay was definitely an experience. We actually sought an odd place out for a recent family vacation and this place did not disappoint.
The ambience of the hotel, from the pool that goes from inside to outside to the "underground tunnel" that connects the hotel to the neighboring restaurant to the crazy themed rooms and finally to the collection of barbershop chairs that surround the jumbo fireplace in the lobby, not to mention the plane sitting in front of the hotel is amazing. We rented the cave room and a teepee room. While they had not been updated in years, they were decently clean and there were lots of pictures taken to share with others when we returned as I am sure they would not have believed us without them.
I found the beds to be uncomfortable and the room did not have enough pillows, but it wasn't a deal breaker.
If you stay here, you have to do a themed room, it is an experience. It is a gem of a place, but could really use some modern updates in the bathrooms and a deep clean in the public areas. Sidenote, the cave room does not have a bathroom door, just a curtain, I love my husband but that was a little too much sharing.

Room Tip: Theme rooms, it is the only way to go, and make sure to save time to wander the hotel to really get...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bluefpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    42
    18
    10
    9
See reviews for
29
69
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

If you're a 5 star type, stop reading, this place isn't for you. This place has not been updated in years and years, but you won't hear me complaining. This place is so different from anywhere else you can stay for hundreds of miles. We stayed in the space ship room ("Tranquility Base") this time and year ago we stayed in the hot air balloon suite ("Up, Up and Away"). Both of these rooms were the coolest hotel rooms we've ever seen. The hot air balloon suite is two floors, so you feel like the room is huge and it feels like you get a lot of bang for your buck. We loved the hot tub in that room, super romantic. In the space ship room there is a really nice hot tub, but it is so big you could practically swim laps in it (well, not really, but the thing is huge) and there wasn't a really comfortable way to cuddle up with your sweetie. In the space ship room you walk up these stairs to get to your space ship bed and the decor is just so unique, if you look up the pictures online they don't do it justice even a little bit. The rooms are so fun. There are things in every room that need updating, the TVs are from the 80s or something and if you're lucky, your 8 inch TV may have a VHS player and they have an array of 90s movies you can borrow for free. This just adds to the charm, really. The hallways are a little creepy, they almost feel haunted. We loved it, it just adds to the charm (my token phrase when describing this best kept secret). If you're looking for something that isn't a Holiday Inn and you're not some judgemental richy that is used to deluxe accommodations, you'll love this place! We've made it an annual weekend away and are excited to sleep in an igloo next time. Well, I do have one gripe. In many of these rooms they have mirrors all over the place. I know some people find this steamily romantic, I know there are probably many people out there that are not eager to watch themselves in a mirror while the hang out in the hot tub. If you're mirror shy, you may want to ask about it because in the descriptions online they may not say anything about this. If you're into mirrors, you will certainly love it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This place was definitely something to write home about! My husband and I were looking for a little weekend getaway after the holidays and came across this little gem! We stayed in the hot air balloon room it was so cool. The staff was more than friendly and accomodating and the place is very clean with very reasonable prices! We got to see some off the standard rooms and they have lots of vintage charm too! They have a underground walk way to the restaurant next door, although it's a little spooky it makes this adventure of a place even more memorable! So much neet stuff to do that makes you relive somthing from your past from swimming, giant checkers, 3ft. cribbage board, movies on VHS, pool table, fuse ball, record player, bumper pool, and even a super nintendo in your room! We can't wait to go back this weekend with some friends to enjoy the hot tub, a gigantic fire, and fun games! Don't hesitate to stay here for a mini vacation, its a couple miles from Cave of the Mounds, House on the Rock, Little Norway, beautiful Governor Dodge State park, and the Trollway in Mt.Horeb! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Bay, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We visit The House on the Rock every year, and every year we stay at the Don Q Inn. We have had nothing but great experiences. The hotel is unique and different from any hotel we've ever experienced. Staff is always willing to help in any way. We absolutely love the tunnel. My kids love walking through it. I hope idiots don't ruin this hotel by suing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarika p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, Hawaii
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here while visiting the house on the rock. We reserved the casino royale room and we loved it! The room was huge and clean. It was dated but we were expecting that. The bed was very comfortable and I am super picky when it comes to beds. The woman at the front desk was really nice and helpful. There was even a game room with fooseball table, ping pong table and pool table which were all free. We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raelyn922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha NE
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is a conglomeration of eccentric interests on the part of the original owner.
The hotel has a lodge feel to it. However, it then takes you on a weird, curvy path of “whatever works.”
I was worried about not finding the place as we drove from The Field of Dreams in Iowa. Lisa was sure we’d see it. It was a few miles outside of Dodgeville. I was certain I had missed a turn when…a large airplane sitting in the front yard “welcomed” us to the Don Q Inn.
A Boeing C-97 sits n the middle of the courtyard. The plane was purchased years ago. It was used in a commercial that featured the late Farrah Fawcett. The actress even came to the Don Q Inn and autographed the plane. The former “Charlie’s Angel” signature has faded through the years, but you can still make it out if you can find it.
Off to the side of the main building is an old church steeple. It is now a three-level themed suite (no, not a naughty nun theme).
The front doors to the hotel are from an old church. I assumed it was the same one the steeple came from.
When you walk into the lobby, the weirdness jumps out at you. To your right are two dentist chairs that sub as recliners.
In the middle of the lobby are barbershop chairs, ringing a fireplace made from a train locomotive engine.
The front desk clerk told us the original owner, Don Quinn, would use whatever he found interesting in the hotel.
His son was an “artist” and made a sculpture of old metal wagon wheels. When, the sculpture started rusting and falling apart, the wheels were taken off, cleaned p and place around the property as different artwork. They work as an attraction in front of the nearby restaurant, along the steeple’s balcony, and inside the hotel.
Speaking of the restaurant, Sam and Maddie’s is a converted barn. The food and service were great. The chicken parmesan consisted of moist chicken, blanketed in perfect breading, and sitting atop a nicely prepared pasta bed. The marinara was freshly made. No jar used here. My wife had a nice catfish dinner that she loved, but could not finish.
The restaurant and hotel are connected by an underground tunnel. We decided to check it out on our way back from dinner.
I do not consider myself afraid of the dark, but this walk was creepy. The tunnel is dark, cold and wet in spots. There were mannequin heads and other ‘scary” things scattered about in the tunnel. The chills in my spine were not because of the cold temps. I can see them decorating this tunnel for Halloween.
I couldn’t wait to get back to the hotel. Then, as we approached the door to the hotel, I wondered for a split second if it truly led back to the hotel or was it going to end in a dungeon, where we would disappear and never be heard from again.
After surviving the tunnel walk, we looked around the hotel a little more. The front desk clerk gave us a couple more touristy ideas for the next day.
As we entered our room, it looked dated. But, I think that’s part of the “charm” of the place. The Don Q Inn is not a resort hotel. It’s not intended to be. It’s a place to enjoy a nice weekend stay in a “unique” area of Wisconsin.
The next day, we checked out and went on to visit the House on the Rock a few miles away, and then on to Mt. Horeb, where trolls roam the town (the troll walk was recommended by the desk clerk).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mustangdad1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Very kitchy, very clean, very nice people. We really lucked out because today they closed the airplane they had sitting outside (Boeing Stratocruiser) because some idiot let her kid run around in the plane and he scraped his arm and she is threatening to sue. It was amazing inside, huge and fully equipped. I feel really bad that we were the last ones to enjoy this amazing artifact. Some people are just jerks (especially because this horrible woman wasn't even staying at the Inn, she just stopped by and walked right in). But back to the Inn, very weird and lots of fun. If you want cookie cutter hotels, don't bother stopping here, but if you want something really different, don't miss it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raeflt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodgeville
1.5 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
14.1 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
13.2 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
11.8 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
7.9 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Q Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Q Inn

Property: Don Q Inn
Address: 3658 State Road 23 North, Dodgeville, WI 53533
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Dodgeville
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dodgeville
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Don Q Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don q Hotel Dodgeville
Don q Dodgeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing