We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands down best broasted chicken EVER!”

Richards Motel & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunbar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Richards Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunbar
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hands down best broasted chicken EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Richard's is known in the area for their marinated, broasted chicken. It is always tender, juicy, crispy and downright YUMM. Service is a bit slow at times, even when they are not busy, but the food is always very good. We live in the area, so have never stayed at the motel, but we frequent their restaurant. I have to admit I'm a bit biased as they "saved the day" for our wedding reception. Their menu offers chicken dinners and they do not sell buckets of chicken, but when I called in tears and asked if they would sell me a 30 piece "bucket" of chicken, explaining that I had burned the pot of chili we were serving at the reception, they briefly discussed it and then asked if I could give them an hour to cook that amount of chicken. So in my book, they are fantastic!!
We did have a "bad" experience there once. My husband ordered a well done hamburger, which they offer cooked to order. It arrived medium rare...the waitress had mixed it up with another table. This was annoying as there were only four tables in the place, but an honest mistake and our only negative experience in years of going there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotti b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

As a conessiour of Supper Clubs throughout Wisconsin, I had high hopes for Richards Restaurant, after driving past it for years, but they found many ways to dissapoint.

Richards is the only true restaurant on about a 30 mile strech of Highway 8 in Wisconsin. This might be why they set the bar so low. The bar selection is very limited, and our bartender had an attitude about serving us (maybe because we were not regulars). When we were seated in the dining room, we noticed a kind of "moldy" smell, and it was quite warm - (no real A/C, just a wall mounted unit). In spite of this, the menu had a lot of options, but we noticed everything about 20-30% more expensive than most supper clubs we frequent (about 10-15 different ones per year). I also was surprised that the salad bar was an additional $6.00, as these are typically included with your meal. Our guests with us at the table ordered steaks, and we ordered baked shrimp. Our guests though that the steaks were tough and overdone for medium-rare, and almost got into an argument with the waitress about it. My shrimp was OK, but covered in grease and butter. I had to wipe a lot off with a napkin to eat. I would've classified the experience as the lower end of average, but when we got our bill, I noticed that the drinks that we had ordered from the bar, were added onto the bill, despite the fact that we paid for them at the bar already. The waitress argued with me about this, and in the end took it off. It just seemed the entire time we were here the staff running the restaurant was resentful that we were there. Of all the Supper Clubs that I've been to, this is the first that I wouldn't return for at least a second try. Side note: a very threatining "salad be sharers will be charged" sign graces the salad bar, and was very funny.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunbar hotels

River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

My wife and I took her mother 4-wheeling for the mother's day. Luckily, Rick had 2 rooms cancel last minute and we stayed for 3 nights. The Marinette County trails were awesome. We had exceptional service from Tori both Friday and Saturday night. The steaks on Friday were cooked the way we wanted them and the Prime Rib Special on Saturday was right on as well. Next time we will have to try the deep fried chicken. We saw a lot being served. Rooms were clean and served all our needs. Housekeeping was very good. Free ice to guests that stay at motel. Rick took the time to get us a hose to clean our Razor as we had a little to much fun in the mud. All in all just an awesome weekend thanks to Rick and his staff at Richard's Motel.

Brent & Kristina

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SnapFireworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We were doing a road trip from Illinois, driving the Lake Michigan Circle Tour, (A Great Trip!). We strayed a little from the lake to check out Veteran’s Memorial County Park, McClintock Park (and rapids), and then drove over to Goodman County Park to see Strong Falls. All were great sites to stop and enjoy those areas.

We stopped at Richards Motel & Restaurant in Dunbar to spend a quick night and hit the road again early the next morning. The place is definitely dated, but very clean and kept up. The room was a good value and the place sold every room that night.

After we settled in, we walked back over to the restaurant for the fish fry. Very friendly service and the food was great too.It was a very nice finish to a great day on the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim521r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minooka, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Went here for dinner one night while vacationing in the area. The chicken was very good as was the fish and wrap. If you're in Dunbar, it's worth a stop.

Note: the dinner menu wasn't available during the week; though, they did let me order the chicken from the dinner menu. I forgot to ask, but I'm guessing the dinner menu is reserved for weekends when more customers visit this restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I've stayed there and fished in that area for close to 55 years and the Richards hotel has always been the best! Resonable prices, clean rooms and good food add to the area!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

A cool retro super club and motel. Very clean rooms, excellent food, very reasonable prices and right on the snowmobile trail. What else could you want. If you plan on snowmobiling in this area I recommend staying at this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dwain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
12.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 11 in Iron Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
12.8 mi away
Days Inn Iron Mountain
Days Inn Iron Mountain
#3 of 11 in Iron Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
12.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Iron Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Iron Mountain
12.3 mi away
Mountain Host Motor Inn
Mountain Host Motor Inn
#8 of 11 in Iron Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richards Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richards Motel & Restaurant

Property: Richards Motel & Restaurant
Address: W11466 US Highway 8, Dunbar, WI 54119-9219
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Dunbar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunbar
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing