We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Clean, Picturesque”
Review of Chanticleer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chanticleer Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean, Picturesque”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Headed to Eagle River, Wisconsin in late September to revisit this town which had been the childhood vacation spot of my boyfriend. The Chanticleer Inn is located right on Voyageur Lake. Although there are villas available, we stayed in the motel which was adjacent to the lakeshore and tennis court. After coming from Chicago, sounds of the leaves rustling in the wind provided a calm respite.

The motel room with a king-sized bed was quiet and very clean. The room featured a small fridge (not stocked, thankfully) which gave us room to store our beverages and fruit, as well as a small coffeemaker with tasty coffee and tea. Although towels were plentiful, there was a curious lack of towel racks. At least one more towel rack would have been helpful or even a hook behind the bathroom door. This particular room had no tub and one of the smallest shower stalls I've ever seen, so anyone bigger than "average" be warned -- you won't possibly fit your entire body in the stall!

Chanticleer has a pub serving lunch and a fine dining restaurant serving dinner. A variety of entrees were available with steaks being the main emphasis. Service was cheerful and leisurely. There was no breakfast service but there are a number of cafes in Eagle River serving hearty breakfasts.

Overall, Chanticleer provided a pleasant rustic retreat among the late September glorious fall colors and soaring eagles of the North Woods.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northsider1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanticleerinn, Owner at Chanticleer Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
THANK YOU for your kind words!!! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    9
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I spent three days there and I could have easily spent the rest of my life there. I absolutely love nature and the Chanticleer Inn is the single most amazing place I have ever stayed in. The incredible beauty that surrounds the place during the Fall is breathtaking. I stayed in one of the condos with ,my girlfriend and I have nothing but great things to say about it. The place we got was amazing. Incredibly clean and the decor was fantastic. Loved having a full kitchen with all the kitchen supplies you need to cook anything. Really loved that feature. The rooms were amazing and the beds were absolutely perfect, slept great the whole time I was there. The deck that overlooked Dollar Lake was incredibly gorgeous. Got to see loons one beautiful early morning. Loved the living room with a cozy fireplace and a 36" plasma TV. The restaurant and bar on the property were very inviting and had great food and drinks. There was so much beauty to that place that it made walks with my girlfriend so romantic. I could go on and on and on about how incredible this place is. For what you pay a day there it is totally worth it and I am eager to get back up there and spend more time there. Just book your time there, you will be incredibly happy you did.

Room Tip: Definitely splurge and get one of the condos. Totally makes the whole stay worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

You can't beat the view, it's right on the lake. A private little section of beach too. The rooms we stayed in were the "hotel/motel" rooms. Nothing fancy, very small. We had two adults and two little kids. It was OK. The restaurant waiting time was way too long for our kids, more than an hour. Overall for the price, you get what you pay for. We might go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

When we were shown our room the stench of mold overwhelmed us. The mattress on the bed sagged. The couch had an odor. The ceramic in the tub was worn down to metal and a tiny dorm refrigerator was on a rickety tabble in the closet. The carpet was worn and looked dirty.

Of course, you had to pay in full before checking in....

NOTHING remotely similar to the website!

Donyourself a favornand avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SouthsideChicago43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanticleerinn, Owner at Chanticleer Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
We appologize for the condition of this room...it was a privately owned condo that we managed at that time...we no longer rent this owner unit. We hope we get the opportunity to serve you again in one of our newly remodeled (3/13) motel rooms or suites overlooking the water. Or in one of our lakeside villas. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eagle River hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2010

My husband and I and our one-year old had planned a nice fall week in Eagle River (our first family vacation with our son). We arrived to a beautiful hotel and great weather. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage with a nice deck overlooking a waterway linking two of the chain of lakes. The restaurant had great food for dinner and let us take it back to our cottage when our one year old got a little fiesty. There is a serene lake and beach just a block or two walk through a scenic path from the main hotel. We know we would have loved our entire week there. Unfortunately, on the second morning after our arrival, we learned that my husband's mother in Nebraska (who had been battling cancer) had taken a turn for the worse and was not expected to make it through the day. (She in fact died that evening.) We immediately packed up and informed the front desk we had to break our reservation. The staff was very understanding and only charged us for the night(s) we were there. We have not been able to get back there yet (now we have 2 little ones) but we hope to soon, especially after how wonderfully we were treated in such an emergency situation.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mketraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2006

We have been going to the Chantcleer for the past 8 years and love it! It's always difficult to leave the lake view behind us as we head back to our flatland home, and this year was no exception. Their new rental, Hudson House, was terrific!
Along with putting together a fine staff (including friendly Herb, Minnow, Carol and Nancy), a very difficult task in northern Wisconsin, Jake makes sure the grounds and accomodations are immaculate and the guests feel welcome. We'll be requesting the Hudson House when we return next year for our vacation at the Chanticleer.

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Tips/Secrets — request hudson house
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank inv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2006

I had fond memories of this place while working at a camp in Conover, Wisconsin in the early 80's so, as a parent of campers attending the same camp this summer, I thought it would be great to stay here while visiting our daughter at camp. The property is beautiful...especially the chain of lakes! We stayed during camp visiting weekend (a very busy time of the summer) when you must make reservations in advance, pay for your stay up front (way over priced) and other than the lake get nothing more than a hotel room. Service with a smile is NOT the slogan of this Inn.

We made our reservations with the wife and she was delightful. We needed a room for Saturday night and Sunday night but were informed that there was a 3 night minimum stay required. We were making plans with another family of the same size. We were told that nothing was available for Saturday night but a 2 bedroom condo in which there was more than enough room for us to split for Saturday night and then they would move us to separate suites for Sunday and Monday evening. We agreed and swallowed the $538.00 each family would spend for the 3 nights. A few days after making the reservation I contacted the woman again and asked for 3 cots (@ an additional $12 each) to insure we would have comfortable sleeping arrangements. I was assured they were on reserve for me and that we could pay for them when we check in.

The morning of check in day my friend who was traveling with us called to assure there were no problems with our reservations only to speak with the owner, Jake, who informed her that there were no cots available and that the condo they talked us into spliting was not big enough and that he did have an additional room for $140.00 for the night that we could rent so we would not be so tight. To make a long story short, Jake's owner and management practices can be catigorized as highway robbery! They were not able to deliver what they said, knew they had us over a barrel (this time of year nothing is available) and were able to take another $140.00 from us.

We will never stay at this place again and will never have a nice thing to say about the owners...which is a shame because the property is beautiful.

  • Liked — The Lake
  • Disliked — Service, owner
  • Tips/Secrets — plenty of other places to stay...rent a home...some beautiful ones on lakes
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank travelmomcmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eagle River hotels
2.4 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
170 reviews
3.8 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
63 reviews
4.6 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#11 of 12 in Eagle River
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
285 reviews
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
215 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanticleer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Inn

Property: Chanticleer Inn
Address: 1458 E Dollar Lake Rd, Eagle River, WI 54521
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chanticleer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chanticleer Inn is a year 'round resort, motel & condo complex in Eagle River, WI. Owned & operated by the Alward Family, since 1951. Located along the shores of Voyageur Lake, part of the famous Eagle River/Three Lakes Chain of 28 lakes. Also on the snowmobile trail. We offer 1-3 bedroom villas, motel rooms, suites, condos & a private home for rent. We also have 2 beaches, restaurant, lounge, & 3 Pontoon Boats for rent. Call 800/752-9193 for reservations/more information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chanticleer Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing