We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay and play!”
Review of Chanticleer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chanticleer Inn
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and play!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We have stayed at the Chanticleer many times and while some of the poor reviews correctly capture some "personality" opportunities...I tend to place HIGH emphasis on how clean a place is...the Chanticleer motel rooms are the cleanest accomodations I have found and compare equally for cleanlness with some 5 star hotels I have stayed in...IMHO if Jake was friendlier and trined is staff appropriately he would have a top notch establishment that he could charge an extra $10-20 a night for...but the business isn't easy and I realize that...but if cleanliness and comfort is what you are looking for...it doesn't get much better!

Room Tip: Unit 58 is great! Motel room on the end facing the water! Great for early risers as the sun comes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanticleerinn, Owner at Chanticleer Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank You for taking the time to write this review...clean rooms, enjoy the location of room 58, enjoy the sunrises from the waterfront deck of #58, comfort, & hopefully we'll see you again. Jake WILL be friendlier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I had blocked 12 MOTEL rooms for my wedding in October. As soon as I found out we had very unsuccessfully planned our wedding the same weekend as Cranberry Fest I started calling to make blocks at multiple locations. There was absolutely NO problem when making the block at the Chanticleer a couple months ago. However my fiancé and I went up to Eagle River for wedding to do's and decided to check out the Chanticleer, it being one of the motels we had rooms blocked at for our guests to reserve. I

Upon inquiring about the location of the rooms our guests would be able to book, I was told they only had 5 blocked not 12. Then after talking to the front desk yesterday morning finding out they were freely giving away our rooms to people not with our wedding, I was assured there would be 12 rooms. ok. After returning home and checking my notes, I called to make sure this would be the case and that the price we put on our save the dates (that were sent out just over a week ago now) would be honored even if the type of room was not available, due to the Chanticleer error.

I was given a few different stories by the man that answered the phone. He said he was "trying to work with me", when in actuality he was being condescending, rude, and not helpful at all. It went from "did we send you a letter?" for what he never did state, to "We will have 12 rooms, but they won't all be able to be at the price quoted" the prices would actually be 20-30$ more before taxes, to "we don't even do room blocks, you'll have to put a deposit down on each room to save them." WHAT? Your business practices are obviously VERY INCONSISTENT, you do not communicate anything amongst each other at the front desk, OR to your guests!! I was so excited to have our family stay here during our wedding b/c it is so pretty, but due to their very poor and unprofessional manner of dealing with this BIG mistake on THEIR part, I am trying to make sure all other rooms at the other 3 hotels are booked first. I do not want to bring any business to the Chanticleer. It is a busy weekend, and they may get the business anyway, but my family or friends will no longer guarantee it to them. If there was a problem with the price, with the block, with the dates, with the room type, etc it is THEIR responsibility to call me, email me, send me a letter (as was inquired about by them) to verify whatever it was they needed verified to follow through with their commitment to us for our wedding day in the North woods. I made this block over two months ago and have heard nothing in the mean time. This has been the first and hopefully only big hiccup of this wedding planning.

My suggestion to any brides thinking of using the Chanticleer for ANYTHING to do with their wedding, get EVERYTHING in writing...MAYBE that will help, but I'd just avoid the place all together so you know that you will be treated with respect even if you did not realize their was a big ol' festival in the area the same weekend you decided to plan your wedding. Apparently that is far more important to them.

God bless and good luck.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HpyinLiFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eagle River hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Headed to Eagle River, Wisconsin in late September to revisit this town which had been the childhood vacation spot of my boyfriend. The Chanticleer Inn is located right on Voyageur Lake. Although there are villas available, we stayed in the motel which was adjacent to the lakeshore and tennis court. After coming from Chicago, sounds of the leaves rustling in the wind provided a calm respite.

The motel room with a king-sized bed was quiet and very clean. The room featured a small fridge (not stocked, thankfully) which gave us room to store our beverages and fruit, as well as a small coffeemaker with tasty coffee and tea. Although towels were plentiful, there was a curious lack of towel racks. At least one more towel rack would have been helpful or even a hook behind the bathroom door. This particular room had no tub and one of the smallest shower stalls I've ever seen, so anyone bigger than "average" be warned -- you won't possibly fit your entire body in the stall!

Chanticleer has a pub serving lunch and a fine dining restaurant serving dinner. A variety of entrees were available with steaks being the main emphasis. Service was cheerful and leisurely. There was no breakfast service but there are a number of cafes in Eagle River serving hearty breakfasts.

Overall, Chanticleer provided a pleasant rustic retreat among the late September glorious fall colors and soaring eagles of the North Woods.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northsider1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanticleerinn, Owner at Chanticleer Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
THANK YOU for your kind words!!! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I spent three days there and I could have easily spent the rest of my life there. I absolutely love nature and the Chanticleer Inn is the single most amazing place I have ever stayed in. The incredible beauty that surrounds the place during the Fall is breathtaking. I stayed in one of the condos with ,my girlfriend and I have nothing but great things to say about it. The place we got was amazing. Incredibly clean and the decor was fantastic. Loved having a full kitchen with all the kitchen supplies you need to cook anything. Really loved that feature. The rooms were amazing and the beds were absolutely perfect, slept great the whole time I was there. The deck that overlooked Dollar Lake was incredibly gorgeous. Got to see loons one beautiful early morning. Loved the living room with a cozy fireplace and a 36" plasma TV. The restaurant and bar on the property were very inviting and had great food and drinks. There was so much beauty to that place that it made walks with my girlfriend so romantic. I could go on and on and on about how incredible this place is. For what you pay a day there it is totally worth it and I am eager to get back up there and spend more time there. Just book your time there, you will be incredibly happy you did.

Room Tip: Definitely splurge and get one of the condos. Totally makes the whole stay worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

You can't beat the view, it's right on the lake. A private little section of beach too. The rooms we stayed in were the "hotel/motel" rooms. Nothing fancy, very small. We had two adults and two little kids. It was OK. The restaurant waiting time was way too long for our kids, more than an hour. Overall for the price, you get what you pay for. We might go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

When we were shown our room the stench of mold overwhelmed us. The mattress on the bed sagged. The couch had an odor. The ceramic in the tub was worn down to metal and a tiny dorm refrigerator was on a rickety tabble in the closet. The carpet was worn and looked dirty.

Of course, you had to pay in full before checking in....

NOTHING remotely similar to the website!

Donyourself a favornand avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SouthsideChicago43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanticleerinn, Owner at Chanticleer Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
We appologize for the condition of this room...it was a privately owned condo that we managed at that time...we no longer rent this owner unit. We hope we get the opportunity to serve you again in one of our newly remodeled (3/13) motel rooms or suites overlooking the water. Or in one of our lakeside villas. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2010

My husband and I and our one-year old had planned a nice fall week in Eagle River (our first family vacation with our son). We arrived to a beautiful hotel and great weather. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage with a nice deck overlooking a waterway linking two of the chain of lakes. The restaurant had great food for dinner and let us take it back to our cottage when our one year old got a little fiesty. There is a serene lake and beach just a block or two walk through a scenic path from the main hotel. We know we would have loved our entire week there. Unfortunately, on the second morning after our arrival, we learned that my husband's mother in Nebraska (who had been battling cancer) had taken a turn for the worse and was not expected to make it through the day. (She in fact died that evening.) We immediately packed up and informed the front desk we had to break our reservation. The staff was very understanding and only charged us for the night(s) we were there. We have not been able to get back there yet (now we have 2 little ones) but we hope to soon, especially after how wonderfully we were treated in such an emergency situation.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mketraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eagle River hotels
2.4 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.8 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
4.6 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#9 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanticleer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Inn

Property: Chanticleer Inn
Address: 1458 E Dollar Lake Rd, Eagle River, WI 54521
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chanticleer Inn is a year 'round resort, motel & condo complex in Eagle River, WI. Owned & operated by the Alward Family, since 1951. Located along the shores of Voyageur Lake, part of the famous Eagle River/Three Lakes Chain of 28 lakes. Also on the snowmobile trail. We offer 1-3 bedroom villas, motel rooms, suites, condos & a private home for rent. We also have 2 beaches, restaurant, lounge, & 3 Pontoon Boats for rent. Call 800/752-9193 for reservations/more information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chanticleer Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing