We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Gone”
Review of Old Stag Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old Stag Restaurant
Cuisines: American, German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“All Gone”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was one of the greatest restaurants in Northern WI. Their German entrees were exceptional. Their traditional American entrees just as good. It's sad that they could not sell and had to close but for a young family it's understandable with the hours the restaurant required. Plus the owner has a large Sysco route in northern WI. Just wish someone would have bought the establishment and recipes and kept it open.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SL262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This restaurant has closed”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Old Stag has closed and did not reopen this summer. I believe that owners moved away with no plans to return. The closing has left a gap in restaurants between Eagle River and Three Lakes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank coppertop1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Wisconsin, United States
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but a little noisy”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband & I took our preteen grandchildren to dinner at Old Stag on a Saturday night. Very busy when we arrived but were seated immediately and service was fast and efficient. We all ordered different types of food (pasta, steak & german dishes). The food was good but nothing totally memorable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great fish fry”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had read the reviews on the Old Stag, and thought we should try it. We went on a Friday night after Labor Day - I made a reservation, but really did not need one. My husband and I both ordered the Northwoods fish fry. It was very good; one of the best that we have had. We will go back to try other menu selections.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_R_TravelingTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classy atmosphere and outstanding food”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I had a kid-free night, and decided to go out to dinner at the Old Stag. When we walked in, I was immediately impressed by the upscale classic atmosphere and welcoming staff. Our meals were promptly prepared and served. The food was excellent, and we left wanting to return again. I highly recommend visiting the Old Stag.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WishIWasOnABoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing