We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookbook needed”
Review of Old Stag Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old Stag Restaurant
Cuisines: American, German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cookbook needed”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I loved this restaurant. I wish someone would publish a cookbook of all the german dishes from the old stag. I have many german cookbooks but never one matched the home flavors of the german favorites offered at the old Stag. The recipes have to be preserved and shared in a printed cookbook so people can replicate these wonderful recipes for generations to come. To lock them behind closed doors is such a loss.
Share the memory of good food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Gone”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Old Stag is closed, but the Oneida Village in town is cooking with some of their recipes, (and attribute them).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“All Gone”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was one of the greatest restaurants in Northern WI. Their German entrees were exceptional. Their traditional American entrees just as good. It's sad that they could not sell and had to close but for a young family it's understandable with the hours the restaurant required. Plus the owner has a large Sysco route in northern WI. Just wish someone would have bought the establishment and recipes and kept it open.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SL262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This restaurant has closed”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Old Stag has closed and did not reopen this summer. I believe that owners moved away with no plans to return. The closing has left a gap in restaurants between Eagle River and Three Lakes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank coppertop1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Wisconsin, United States
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but a little noisy”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband & I took our preteen grandchildren to dinner at Old Stag on a Saturday night. Very busy when we arrived but were seated immediately and service was fast and efficient. We all ordered different types of food (pasta, steak & german dishes). The food was good but nothing totally memorable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Stag Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing