We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place”
Review of Leif's Cafe

Leif's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Eagle River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Overall very good. Chicken and Dumpling was very good, light and fluffy massive dumpling. . BLT Club on marble rye had lots of thick bacon and turkey. Cranberry chutney and turkey sandwich was served on a soft and warm roll with a bit too much (believe it or not) thick bacon, but was very good. Omelet was big and a little greasy. Staff was VERY friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    83
    30
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mosinee WI
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Cafe”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stopped here because the Supper Club we were hoping to stop at was not open for another 45 min and we were too hungrey to wait. Service was quick and friendly, food was homemade. We went back for breakfast the next day and had the fish fry Friday. Both also very good and all at a great price. Will stop again when back in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bessetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Cafe' Food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Leif's Cafe is quick,clean quality prices. Awesome service.
I live here and still a great place to eat. I LOVE that it is clean!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyM409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“passing on leif's”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We got burnt hash browns on a plate, we asked the waitress to take the plate back and ask the cook if he would eat those. we hd to wait a good while until a very small portion was given to us. Had gastric problems with a supper there a week earlier.
not much to choose from in eagle river for breakfast. We only eat breakfast at dinky diner as the friendship house is just bla food as well.
If you have time, the casino in watersmeet mich (not far away) has some great prices on their buffets. Being a senior we get a breakfast or lunch usually for less than $4.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brujodale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast and always a full coffee cup!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went there on the suggestion of a coworker, who recommended the garbage omelet. We went at lunch time but wanted breakfast, so we were glad to see they serve breakfast all day.

The menu is extensive, and everything on it sounds delicious. I ended up ordering the garbage omelet, which is basically an omelet with the works. The mushrooms and peppers in it were absolutely delicious. It had tomatoes in it, and I was a little worried since I normally don't like hot tomatoes, but these were great and a perfect complement to the rest of the ingredients.

My husband ordered the hunter skillet, and asked for no peppers to be added. The skillet came with peppers, anyway, but he said he'd risk the heartburn because they added so much flavor to his meal.

The waitress was attentive, and offered refills on our coffee regularly. We had a very pleasant experience at Leif's and will definitely return!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank writing_is_breathing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Leif's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing