We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE IT!”

Chanticleer Inn Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 57 Restaurants in Eagle River
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Chanticleer Inn Lodge Restaurant is wonderful! New menu and chef, love it. Great family dining on the lake - can not beat it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“CLASSY LODGE / OUTSTANDING FOOD”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been going to the Chanticleer Inn for 30+ years, its one of the finest restaurants and Lodges in the Northwoods. If you want to experience a fantastic dining experience with a breathtaking view of the Eagle River Chain, this is your spot. To really start your evening off right, go early and enjoy the lounge or Beer Garden overlooking the lake. Friends always thank me for recommending the Chanticleer Inn. Tell the owner "JAKE" that Dave and Joanne sent you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djaynes966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Mistake.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We just returned from a wonderful week in Eagle River with only one low point, our dinner at the Chanticleer Inn. We wanted to take our boat out to one of the restaurants along one of the many lakes and thought we'd give Chanticleer a try because of it's boat docking and view of the water. The first disappointment was that there was no outdoor dinner service. No big deal though, we thought, we'll just eat inside. Although only two thirds of the dining room was seated, we waited patiently for an hour while a family who arrived before us, gave up and left. Once we finally were seated, we were slightly surprised by the prices on the menu, but that only made us think we were in for a treat. Our server Kendra was nice enough but not particularly helpful. We settled on the Jambalaya Pasta, Chicken and Artichoke Piccata, Shrimp dinner, and a plain cheeseburger for our youngest. The salads were straight from a bag mix, dressed up with one slice of cucumber, one cherry tomato, and sesame crumbles. Our meals were average in flavor, not large portions and mine wasn't even hot. The biggest rip off in my opinion was the shrimp plate which was six pieces of shrimp and some Oreida seasoned fries for $18.95! When I asked Kendra for drink refills she replied "Not for free." but we ordered them anyway and they never came. She did remove them from our bill in the end though. Our dinner totaled just over $75.00 (before tip)for two adults and two children. This place wants to be fine dining, but serves lackluster food. Our night wasn't a total bust however because of our sunset cruise back to the Wild Eagle Lodge which was a fantastic place to stay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ntoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Lakes, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not the same anymore”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Chanticleer is not the same anymore. While the atmosphere and view are excellent the menu choices have diminished significantly over the past couple years. The food preparation seems to also have gone downhill a bit on what you do order. Also gone is the nice little salad bar they had with the excellent smoked muscles. Its a nice place to go but the food and choices are just average with an above average price for the area. A much better choice close by is Michaels (food is excellent and prices the same or lower). Also a lot better food is the Old Stag by Three Lakes( best food in the area and low prices) or the Riverstone (good food but higher prices). Maybe the Chanticleer will get it right next year and revert to the way itr was 4 or 5 years ago. You can now get a table anytime as the crowds have all gone elsewhere as the food went down.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank don w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Northwoods Gem”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We were greeted with a smile and seated immediately. The atmosphere was very pleasant and though we couldn't get a window table, we were only one row back. The view was wonderful. The food was very good (though didn't really like the potato pancakes). The service was excellent - Jordan was delightful and made the experience all the better. I highly recommend Chanticleer!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarlZIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chanticleer Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chanticleer Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing