We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for Drinks”
Review of Tipsy Turtle - CLOSED

Tipsy Turtle
Cuisines: American
Description: The Tipsy Turtle is a Key West Inspired Bar and Restaurant. It has an open air theme with a bar that can be used from both the inside and the outside deck area. Serving a full menu from 11am-10pm daily Memorial Day though Labor Day. Stop in and try a homemade margarita or the very popular pulled pork with homemade BBQ or vinegar sauce!!
Restaurant details
Description: The Tipsy Turtle is a Key West Inspired Bar and Restaurant. It has an open air theme with a bar that can be used from both the inside and the outside deck area. Serving a full menu from 11am-10pm daily Memorial Day though Labor Day. Stop in and try a homemade margarita or the very popular pulled pork with homemade BBQ or vinegar sauce!!
Three Lakes, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun for Drinks”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stopped in here for a couple drinks with some friends. The bar tender was very friendly and so were the other patrons, Its a nice place to stop for a drink but not anything special.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank don w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise in Eagle River”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We love to stop for the cheeseburgers at Tipsy Turtle- definitely cheeseburgers in paradise good! Today I ordered the shrimp and YUM- seven jumbo shrimp - delicious!! Open air dining and Jimmy Buffet, Zac Brown and Ziggy Marley- fun in downtown Eagle Ruver!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suemay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very comfortable, relaxed, fun atmosphere! Comfortable place to gather with a group of friends. Love the way it is laid out ... very open. Will go back again on our next trip Up North :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryKay812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you make it fun ...”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Not much to say about the restaurant since we only went for drinks and games, but it seems to be an okay place after we spent over two hours there. We were a little perturbed by the bartender’s attitude. There was only one bartender and what seemed to be a couple of locals on a Wednesday night at 8pm in the summer. Since the place turns into a drinking warehouse later at night, the sound echoes without people there. The beer selection is limited (Miller and Bud products, Corona is as different as it gets) and most “special” and mixed drinks are typical syrupy things you can get anywhere. It’s seems to be a fun place if you make it fun with the people you’re with and what you’re doing there, as was the case with us. The “beach theme” is okay but is cold. The bartender was friendly enough early on, but had gone out for smoke a couple of times and had some shots with the locals. And if they serve food until 10, we assumed the person drinking and continuing to go into the back where food prep is was the cook. Later, we started to hear the bartender talking negatively to her local pals about people who come in that she didn’t like because of the way they act or talk, the music they play or the drinks they buy. She probably didn’t notice we were listening, or maybe she did. That put a damper on the place for us.

I’d say give it a try during the major food serving hours and when the place is crowded so you don’t notice the things that make it icky. Otherwise, it seems like a local tavern that happens to have a beach theme that may not care who it hires or what it serves. I’m not against their target audience or theme, but at least try to cater to that style. While it just didn’t seem to work, from the consensus of our group, we had fun playing darts and pool.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Cute, clean, AND friendly!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The "Key West" atmosphere drew us into the Tipsy Turtle and we were not disappointed. From the Southernmost Buoy photo to the Tiki Bar and Mile 0 sign, the place is a little bit of Key West in Eagle River, Wisconsin. I ordered, at the recommendation of the owner/bartender, the Raspberry Daiquiri. I was NOT disappointed! It was excellent! I ordered the fried shrimp. The amount on the plate was perfect and they were cooked perfectly. Husband ordered the pulled pork. The sandwich was quite generous and he ordered the sweet potato fries as a side, which he said were also excellent. We will definitely be going back on all return trips to Eagle River.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voice1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing