We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come Home to the Hiawatha”
Review of Hiawatha Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The young couple that owns the Hiawatha (as of a couple of years ago) was determined to make us feel at home, and they succeeded beyond our wildest dreams! When we checked in they asked us our names and then called us by name during the 4 nights and 5 days we were there. Very hospitable. The next day we told them about a minor issue in our room and we were told that "you are our guests, so it is our responsibility to make sure you are comfortable." Music to my ears. How many hotel owners have attitudes like this one?
Our room was HUGE with a king bed, a full sized futon for our teen-age son, and plenty of room for our suitcases. We had a mini-fridge and a tv (although not flat-screen) in our room as well. The air conditioner was adequate for cooling us as the temps were in the mid to upper 80's. Oh! And when we went to hang our clothes in the closet area, there were about 15 hangers already there. We love to hang our things on vacation, so we were delighted to find these!
Every morning there was a continental breakfast with great coffee, instant oatmeal, donuts, yogurt, cereal, etc. The best part about it was that the owners were around chatting with people as they started their day. It really felt like a place to call home because of the family feeling the owners went out of their way to create.
There was a pool table in a room upstairs, an outdoor patio to hang out on, and a big screen TV downstairs where people would watch movies, or kids would play video games. We didn't check that out, but some people were very excited about it! The lobby was also spacious with a beautiful fish tank, so some people just hung out there.
There is WiFi throughout the property, but sometimes you have to ask the owners to reset the router because all the IP addresses get used up and you can't get on the internet. Again, the owners are more than happy to accommodate.
The price and the incredible service are the two reasons we will return to the Hiawatha the next time we are in town. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you Denise for your wonderful review. We very much enjoyed hosting you. We are continuing to upgrade our amenities some rooms do have new LED flat screens, I am sorry yours did not. Thank you for recognizing what is most important for us here, attitude and customer service. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we look forward to hosting you and your family in the future.

V/R Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Hiawatha Lodge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

We returned to Eagle River for our fifth Summer visit and wanted to try a new place. We booked the Hiawatha based on the good reviews we saw on-line. I am happy to report that it was all that and even more than we expected. Dog friendly - our dogs had the time of their lives diving off the docks into Duck lake. Our boys really enjoyed the movie theater, ping pong and pool tables and fishing off the dock. The owners and staff are so nice and friendly - they made us all feel like it was 'home away from home'. They all work very hard and it shows. Our room was refreshingly clean and kept that way each day the staff came in. Very accommodating, professional and pleasant to work with. We stayed nine days this year and have already booked next year for 15 days. Breakfasts were nice and the lobby area and back patio are great for hanging out and making new friends. Great trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank W-K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We had a great time hosting you and your family. We are excited to see you next summer. Safe travels.


V/R Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just returned from yet another memorable trip to eagle river. I wouldnt dream of staying anywhere else. The rooms are always clean, staff is always friendly and accomadating. Biker friendly establishment and Scott and his wife are the nicest people. I can't wait for the next trip north.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stubby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you MR. Stubby for your kind review. It is our pleasure to host you and your family. You always bring a smile and a wonderful sense of humor to the Hiawatha. We can't wait to see you and your family again.
V/R Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had the pleasure of stumbling across this quirky little establishment for a 2 night stay in June of 2013. Loaded with charm and north woods ambiance, this unique inn provides large guest rooms with comfortable, clean beds and the friendliest staff and owners you'll ever hope to meet. Scott and his wife made us feel completely welcome and at home, and I give Hiawatha Lodge Inn my highest recommendation. Rent their pontoon boat if you get a chance. We had one of the best days EVER enjoying that boat and the beautiful lakes. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed hosting you! V/R Scott and Keilah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

It's clean, inexpensive, right on Duck Lake, right on the snowmobile trails and best of all the owners make you feel like they're happy to have you as guests in their house. When they say they "go above and beyond" they really do! If you need anything just ask and they'll do their best to help to you. I have been up there for the past 3 years to snowmobile and each time the owners have made improvements.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed here for two nights in December 2012 while taking a mini skiing vacation. We chose Hiawatha after seeing the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed. First of all, our winter rate was extremely reasonable - significantly lower than several of the other places in the area. On the phone, Scott, one of the two owners, was very personable and told me a bit about the motel and the area. When we arrived, Scott's wife and co-owner, Keilah, checked us in, welcomed us to the area, and gave us recommendations for good local dining. She also told me that a few of the other guests would be watching football that evening in the downstairs theater, and I was welcome to join them. I did later that evening and almost fell asleep in the comfortable couches next to the fireplace while watching the game on a screen big enough to rival the screen at the local movie theater. Also, while I was down there, Scott came down to make sure nobody needed anything. The rooms themselves were very clean and spacious - ours had a king bed, a desk, a table, and a couch, as well as a small refrigerator and vaulted ceilings. The next morning there was a small continental breakfast - it wasn't big, but it was good and enough to get us through to lunch. The entire motel has a very friendly atmosphere, and while we were chatting with some of the other guests, Keilah came out to talk with us all. When I asked about good places for cross country skiing, she gave me a map, pulled up a few websites, and told me what others had said about the various locations.
One last thing that impressed me - it seemed the owners truly are concerned about taking care of the environment. Other than the signs that say leave your towels on the rack if you don't want them to be washed, the cups were compostable, the unused rooms were kept at a lower temperature, and there was a note on the door asking guests to please shut the lights off when leaving for the day.
All good reviews have pros and cons, so here's my only con. Prior to 10 PM, I could hear a couple of kids shouting in the game room a little bit down the hallway, so the doors and walls might be just a little thin, but after the game room closed at 10:30, the kids were quiet, so it wasn't a problem.
I'd recommend Hiawatha for anybody looking for a great "home base" to explore the area. It was extremely comfortable, convenient, the prices were reasonable, and the people were so friendly. This was an absolutely fantastic place to spend our little vacation, and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Parking lot rooms have doors on the inside of the hotel as well as a door leading directly to the pa...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BentheBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We decided to escape up north for Thanksgiving. It was to be my time to say good-bye to the area and a dear friend as I am moving away such that time up north will no longer be possible. The hotel is a wonderfully updated motel from the "Golden" era of up north resorts. They have made it homey and special with a soft green paint job in the lobby and a great forest murals down the hallways. We had called ahead to see if we could hook up our DVD player to their TVs and we could because they have flat screen TVs. The bathrooms were clean and well appointed, having the vanity outside the shower area was great. Our room faced the lake and with two dogs in tow it was wonderful having a second door that went right out to the backside of the hotel. Every morning there was coffee, water for tea or coco, bagels and english muffin available. During the day the coffee and tea/coco was always out. There was a great ice machine that produced the type of cubes the dogs liked. It was a great place!

Room Tip: As for a room with an even number between 8 and 18 as that puts you with a view of the lake.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzietig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eagle River hotels
0.5 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
173 reviews
63.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
299 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#10 of 12 in Eagle River
55 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiawatha Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiawatha Lodge Inn

Address: 1982 Highway 45 North, Eagle River, WI 54521
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range: £64 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hiawatha Lodge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Highway 45 2.5 Miles north of the center of Eagle River, our hotel is on Duck Lake. On the grounds, we have a three pier dock that includes electricity for guest use; also, there are bonfire pits, a playground, picnic tables, and a main deck with bbq. Guest rooms have private exterior doors and interior doors for ease of access. They include a seating area, satellite TV, a work desk, full bathroom, and a small fridge. Guests can relax in the lobby with a fireplace, watch a movie in the theater, play billiards or ping-pong in the game room or use wi-fi to work online. A continental breakfast is served by the hotel each morning. Our parking lot has plenty of space for your boat or snowmobile trailers and includes over 30 electrical outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hiawatha Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing