We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hiawatha Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Certificate of Excellence
McHenry, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Hiawatha is ok, the owner is amazing. The view of the lake was amazing. The room was very clean, loved that we could open the window. And the rooms don't have the usual heating and cooling unit, so much quieter. The mattress are way to soft. We were alittle surprised to wake up to dogs barking... And we were told there was breakfast serviced in the morning which the first day there were homemade cinnamon rolls, but nothing the next. Both doors inside and out had terrible door knobs, had to fight with them every time we went out. We didn't leave our room till 9 am, the cleaning crew didnt come in with clean towels or make our bed. I believe instead of spending so much fixing up the basement, they should focus on the small things. The tvs are old and cut in and out. Amazing huge fish tank in the lobby....how about turning the lights on the sign so at night you can see where the Hiawatha is located.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are continuously upgrading our hotel. Several rooms do have 32 LED TV's and we hope to have all of the older TV's replaced in the coming year. We are pet friendly and we address all noise complaints immediately when informed. We agree it is the simple things that matter and we will continue to improve our service and the amenities of our hotel to provide the best experience possible here in the North woods.

V/R Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    10
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
20
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kiel, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was my husband and I's first time visiting Eagle River for Cranberry Fest. We went with 3 other couples who have stayed at the Hiawatha before. It was a great place. The rooms were clean and large. The shampoos and the soap in the room was organic and natural which is important to me. The lobby was a great place to hang out. The owners came out and chatted with us. There was a nice continental breakfast. There is a large theater downstairs that we hung out in with the owner and sang songs and played guitar. We booked our rooms again for next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a wonderful time with all of you your group certainly added to the festive weekend and your cheesecake was amazing! I will make sure I learn more Eagle songs to play next year and tell Tye to keep singing. Thank you again for staying with us and adding to the Hiawatha experience.

V/R Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARQUETTE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

love the place, it is different than the brands, the brands are ok, but all the same, this place has personality, and it is more of a local up north atmosphere. love their shirts, I have one it says we ride, and they do, ride sno mobile, etc. relaxed atmosphere. I just like it,. the rooms are big, and there is a movie show in the basement, nice, family type place. joel hall in Marquette. the rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOEL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in mid-July after bringing our son up to summer camp. This roadside motor inn is situated on a lake and offers clean, spacious rooms with comfortable beds that provide good support. The bathroom was clean, but the the sink drained very slowly. The shower strength was good, but not spectacular. The room door locks are very old style: the interior knob twists in order to lock the door. The lighting in the room was low, even for hotel standards. In this era of low wattage fluorescents providing luminescence that equals 100-watt incandescent bulbs, it should not be such an economic challenge to provide better lighting. My wife was surprised to find that there was no hair dryer in the bathroom. The lobby was not air conditioned, and we had to run a gauntlet of smokers sitting in the covered area in front of the main entrance. Enforcing a no-smoking policy in this area would be helpful. The owners are friendly and can often be found running the front desk. A small refrigerator in the room kept perishables from spoiling, but the freezer was unable to prevent ice cream from melting. The hotel provides a continental breakfast, which was skimpy. There was no cereal and they were out of milk because the delivery person did not come. The owner went out to buy some, but that could be problematic for people on a schedule. Overall, the ambience of the lodge had a dated feel. Depending upon one's perspective, this could be seen as "quaint" or "cheesy." Because my wife and I have a special diet, the presence of a microwave in the room (there was one in the lobby area) would have been nice, but we knew going in that this was not available in the rooms and so, it does not enter into our rating, here

Room Tip: Rooms face the parking lot or the lake/grassyarea. As for a lake-facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

The young couple that owns the Hiawatha (as of a couple of years ago) was determined to make us feel at home, and they succeeded beyond our wildest dreams! When we checked in they asked us our names and then called us by name during the 4 nights and 5 days we were there. Very hospitable. The next day we told them about a minor issue in our room and we were told that "you are our guests, so it is our responsibility to make sure you are comfortable." Music to my ears. How many hotel owners have attitudes like this one?
Our room was HUGE with a king bed, a full sized futon for our teen-age son, and plenty of room for our suitcases. We had a mini-fridge and a tv (although not flat-screen) in our room as well. The air conditioner was adequate for cooling us as the temps were in the mid to upper 80's. Oh! And when we went to hang our clothes in the closet area, there were about 15 hangers already there. We love to hang our things on vacation, so we were delighted to find these!
Every morning there was a continental breakfast with great coffee, instant oatmeal, donuts, yogurt, cereal, etc. The best part about it was that the owners were around chatting with people as they started their day. It really felt like a place to call home because of the family feeling the owners went out of their way to create.
There was a pool table in a room upstairs, an outdoor patio to hang out on, and a big screen TV downstairs where people would watch movies, or kids would play video games. We didn't check that out, but some people were very excited about it! The lobby was also spacious with a beautiful fish tank, so some people just hung out there.
There is WiFi throughout the property, but sometimes you have to ask the owners to reset the router because all the IP addresses get used up and you can't get on the internet. Again, the owners are more than happy to accommodate.
The price and the incredible service are the two reasons we will return to the Hiawatha the next time we are in town. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you Denise for your wonderful review. We very much enjoyed hosting you. We are continuing to upgrade our amenities some rooms do have new LED flat screens, I am sorry yours did not. Thank you for recognizing what is most important for us here, attitude and customer service. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we look forward to hosting you and your family in the future.

V/R Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We returned to Eagle River for our fifth Summer visit and wanted to try a new place. We booked the Hiawatha based on the good reviews we saw on-line. I am happy to report that it was all that and even more than we expected. Dog friendly - our dogs had the time of their lives diving off the docks into Duck lake. Our boys really enjoyed the movie theater, ping pong and pool tables and fishing off the dock. The owners and staff are so nice and friendly - they made us all feel like it was 'home away from home'. They all work very hard and it shows. Our room was refreshingly clean and kept that way each day the staff came in. Very accommodating, professional and pleasant to work with. We stayed nine days this year and have already booked next year for 15 days. Breakfasts were nice and the lobby area and back patio are great for hanging out and making new friends. Great trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank W-K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We had a great time hosting you and your family. We are excited to see you next summer. Safe travels.


V/R Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just returned from yet another memorable trip to eagle river. I wouldnt dream of staying anywhere else. The rooms are always clean, staff is always friendly and accomadating. Biker friendly establishment and Scott and his wife are the nicest people. I can't wait for the next trip north.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stubby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you MR. Stubby for your kind review. It is our pleasure to host you and your family. You always bring a smile and a wonderful sense of humor to the Hiawatha. We can't wait to see you and your family again.
V/R Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eagle River hotels
0.5 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.8 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#9 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#6 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiawatha Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiawatha Lodge Inn

Property: Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Address: 1982 Highway 45 North, Eagle River, WI 54521
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hiawatha Lodge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Highway 45 2.5 Miles north of the center of Eagle River, our hotel is on Duck Lake. On the grounds, we have a three pier dock that includes electricity for guest use; also, there are bonfire pits, a playground, picnic tables, and a main deck with bbq. Guest rooms have private exterior doors and interior doors for ease of access. They include a seating area, satellite TV, a work desk, full bathroom, and a small fridge. Guests can relax in the lobby with a fireplace, watch a movie in the theater, play billiards or ping-pong in the game room or use wi-fi to work online. A continental breakfast is served by the hotel each morning. Our parking lot has plenty of space for your boat or snowmobile trailers and includes over 30 electrical outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hiawatha Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing