We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for snowmobilers”
Review of Hiawatha Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not just for snowmobilers”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent one night here in the huge rooms. This isn't a Marriott, but everything works, the setting is beautiful, the owners are wonderfully friendly, and the price can't be beat.

The owner found us a place to eat that would meet our picky diet needs, gave us the lay of the land, and made us feel completely at home.

Would definitely visit again!

Room Tip: You want a lake-side room; quieter, and the lake is charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dewitthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
We had a great time too! It is just fantastic when we host guests that add to the friendly atmosphere we have here at the Hiawatha. You were a wonderful group and we can't wait to see you again. Thank you for taking the time too review us. It is greatly appreciated.

V/R Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    12
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
23
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was our second stay at the Hiawatha, the first being 4 years ago with different owners. Can't beat the clean rooms with both indoor and outdoor entrances( great for snowmobling-park your sled right outside your door!) and the wonderful hospitality, not to mention the reasonable price. We had a group of 8 and all enjoyed socializing in the rec room, playing pool and ping pong and sitting by the fireplace. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkelly270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time too review us. We can't wait too see you all again.

V/R Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the Hiawatha Lodge the weekend after Christmas and had a wonderful experience. The room was large, warm, and very comfortable. There was space to throw all of our gear in the room and still be able to move around. Tea and coffee helped warm us up after time on the trails. The town of Eagle River is about ten minutes away by snowmobile and was really charming. I recommend Leif's for breakfast/lunch :-) The owners/staff were super accommodating and set up a movie for us in the theater downstairs; its worth a stay at the lodge just for this! They also have pool and ping pong onsite and our group had a lot of fun playing those. Overall it is a good home base for exploring Eagle River and is comfortable for a couple or a large group.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHenry, IL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Hiawatha is ok, the owner is amazing. The view of the lake was amazing. The room was very clean, loved that we could open the window. And the rooms don't have the usual heating and cooling unit, so much quieter. The mattress are way to soft. We were alittle surprised to wake up to dogs barking... And we were told there was breakfast serviced in the morning which the first day there were homemade cinnamon rolls, but nothing the next. Both doors inside and out had terrible door knobs, had to fight with them every time we went out. We didn't leave our room till 9 am, the cleaning crew didnt come in with clean towels or make our bed. I believe instead of spending so much fixing up the basement, they should focus on the small things. The tvs are old and cut in and out. Amazing huge fish tank in the lobby....how about turning the lights on the sign so at night you can see where the Hiawatha is located.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are continuously upgrading our hotel. Several rooms do have 32 LED TV's and we hope to have all of the older TV's replaced in the coming year. We are pet friendly and we address all noise complaints immediately when informed. We agree it is the simple things that matter and we will continue to improve our service and the amenities of our hotel to provide the best experience possible here in the North woods.

V/R Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was my husband and I's first time visiting Eagle River for Cranberry Fest. We went with 3 other couples who have stayed at the Hiawatha before. It was a great place. The rooms were clean and large. The shampoos and the soap in the room was organic and natural which is important to me. The lobby was a great place to hang out. The owners came out and chatted with us. There was a nice continental breakfast. There is a large theater downstairs that we hung out in with the owner and sang songs and played guitar. We booked our rooms again for next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a wonderful time with all of you your group certainly added to the festive weekend and your cheesecake was amazing! I will make sure I learn more Eagle songs to play next year and tell Tye to keep singing. Thank you again for staying with us and adding to the Hiawatha experience.

V/R Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARQUETTE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

love the place, it is different than the brands, the brands are ok, but all the same, this place has personality, and it is more of a local up north atmosphere. love their shirts, I have one it says we ride, and they do, ride sno mobile, etc. relaxed atmosphere. I just like it,. the rooms are big, and there is a movie show in the basement, nice, family type place. joel hall in Marquette. the rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOEL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skokie, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in mid-July after bringing our son up to summer camp. This roadside motor inn is situated on a lake and offers clean, spacious rooms with comfortable beds that provide good support. The bathroom was clean, but the the sink drained very slowly. The shower strength was good, but not spectacular. The room door locks are very old style: the interior knob twists in order to lock the door. The lighting in the room was low, even for hotel standards. In this era of low wattage fluorescents providing luminescence that equals 100-watt incandescent bulbs, it should not be such an economic challenge to provide better lighting. My wife was surprised to find that there was no hair dryer in the bathroom. The lobby was not air conditioned, and we had to run a gauntlet of smokers sitting in the covered area in front of the main entrance. Enforcing a no-smoking policy in this area would be helpful. The owners are friendly and can often be found running the front desk. A small refrigerator in the room kept perishables from spoiling, but the freezer was unable to prevent ice cream from melting. The hotel provides a continental breakfast, which was skimpy. There was no cereal and they were out of milk because the delivery person did not come. The owner went out to buy some, but that could be problematic for people on a schedule. Overall, the ambience of the lodge had a dated feel. Depending upon one's perspective, this could be seen as "quaint" or "cheesy." Because my wife and I have a special diet, the presence of a microwave in the room (there was one in the lobby area) would have been nice, but we knew going in that this was not available in the rooms and so, it does not enter into our rating, here

Room Tip: Rooms face the parking lot or the lake/grassyarea. As for a lake-facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eagle River hotels
2.8 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
167 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#10 of 12 in Eagle River
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
284 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiawatha Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiawatha Lodge Inn

Property: Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Address: 1982 Highway 45 North, Eagle River, WI 54521
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hiawatha Lodge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Highway 45 2.5 Miles north of the center of Eagle River, our hotel is on Duck Lake. On the grounds, we have a three pier dock that includes electricity for guest use; also, there are bonfire pits, a playground, picnic tables, and a main deck with bbq. Guest rooms have private exterior doors and interior doors for ease of access. They include a seating area, satellite TV, a work desk, full bathroom, and a small fridge. Guests can relax in the lobby with a fireplace, watch a movie in the theater, play billiards or ping-pong in the game room or use wi-fi to work online. A continental breakfast is served by the hotel each morning. Our parking lot has plenty of space for your boat or snowmobile trailers and includes over 30 electrical outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hiawatha Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing