We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I win the lottery I wouldn't stay anywhere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Barrington, IL
1 review
“If I win the lottery I wouldn't stay anywhere else.”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This is my fourth year staying at the Edgewater Inn & Cottages. The first time, I arrived in the area at about 5 AM and called around for a place that would let me check in early. Fritz (owner) was the first to actually answer the phone at that hour. He said, "Come on over, we're happy to accommodate (and you Know I awakened him).

Edgewater has the same kind of rustic lodge/cabins feel as my family used to find in New England when we were on the road. Fritz takes a lot of personal pride in his hotel, the way he takes care of it, and in his dealings with guests. You can't do better.

Thanks for everything Fritz!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bison_lvca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    10
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
21
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My friend and I stayed 4 nights and absolutely loved it. The view from our room #9 was fantastic. The location was also terrific. Our host Fritz was very helpful in finding restaurants and things to do and directions, etc. He had wonderful towels too. There are lots of nice places to sit outside and enjoy the scenery and the river. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonniesandford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Edgewater Inn & Cottages had an opening for our last minute Memorial Day Trip. "Fritz," accommodated our every need and literally made us feel at home. He even brought down homemade chocolate chip cookies to our campfire. Our row boat was included in the very reasonable price. There was firewood available for purchase. Our cottage was pet friendly. Fritz told us where we could buy the best bait. I even observed Fritz take a set up fishing pole to a couple and showed them out to use it! WI FI was included. At the end our our stay, I asked him if there was any interesting places to go see and he pointed us to Bond Falls which turned out to be spectacular!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tln911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2011

The Edgewater Inn & Cottages is a great place to stay and experience Northern Wisconsin. The proprietor was very helpful and guided us to some great restaurants and activities in the area. Furthermore, he was incredibly friendly and accommodating; this helped make our road trip from the east coast to Wisconsin a relaxing and pleasant experience. The inn is located right next to town, but is still has a very woodsy feel. On a side note, my group enjoyed the opportunity to play some pond hockey right in our backyard in the rink shoveled into the lake right behind our cottage.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelman079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2010

sat on the beach by the camp fire with freinds that i used to work with. Our host was great he was allways quick with an answer about things to do in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billncarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2010

great place to stay we could go fishing all day and then sit by the camp fire at night. Fritz the owner is very informative about the Northern Woods area and is a great source of information. We have been going up to this cottage for about 6 years and always stay in the cottages but our friends stay in the hotel and we all enjoy the weekend plus we like to have a cook out one of the nights and the owner lets us use his BBQ and always helps if needed .great place wish we could get up there more often .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank happ35945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The owner was so friendly and accomodating. I felt like I was staying at my grandparent's cottage; the look and feel and even the north woods smell brought back memories. The grounds are very pretty. The room was a little small, but very cozy, clean, and comfortable. Service is the best.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eagle River hotels
3.1 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#9 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
#3 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn & Cottages

Property: Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Address: 5054 WI-70 West, Eagle River, WI 54521-9338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront of the Eagle River chain of 28 lakes between Watersmeet and Yellow Birch lakes. The Inn has 14 cozy knotty pine paneled rooms. The 6 waterfront cottages have kitchens with enclosed porches. Enjoy the private grounds sunbathing, volleyball, a few shots at hoops, fishing off the dock, wading in the water and finish the day by roasting marshmallows on the fire pits. We are encompassed by Chequamegon - Nicolet National Forest, Northern Highland American Legion Sate Forest and Vilas County Forest that have XC ski, bike and hiking trails. Enjoy a day of fishing for Muskies, Walleye, Bass or pan fish in one of the over 1300 lakes or Trout in one of the many clear streams. Look for a Bald Eagle, Ruff Grouse, Deer, Bear or any of the other wildlife. We have access to over 600 miles of groomed Snowmobile Trails just across the street. Being only one mile west of downtown Eagle River, other activities and dining are a quick walk or drive. For those of you that need the outside connections we have cable TV and Wireless Internet Connections or just sit near the water’s edge and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edgewater Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing