We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This was a great place to relax and get away. The accommodations are clean and comfortable and close to the backyard riverfront. Kids can fish off of the river front dock, they are always biting. Kingfishers were diving and deer were walking along the river bank on the other side. We built a fire and stayed up late getting lost in the stars. It's just on the outskirts of town so it was quiet at night. The owner is very friendly and knowledgeable, he helped us out set up our day trip exploring the Ottawa national forest just north of Eagle River. Far enough out of town to be quiet but close enough to grab a bite to eat and shop. Highly recommend place to relax in a peaceful setting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Glad we had a clear night for star gazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

Edgewater Inn and Cottages is the best place to be when you vacation in Eagle River, WI. The price is right and the family atmosphere is Awesome! Fritz the owner is very knowledgeable so if you need to know where something is or just want to check out a new scene, he's your guy! He is very friendly and always happy to help. The rooms and cottages remind me of what is was like a couple of decades ago but modernized! If you are a true outdoors person, you will love it! If you are going up north give Fritz a call at the Edgewater Inn and Cottages!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Country3Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you. Glad you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stopped here for our second visit in the past six months. Once again, we like the fact that the property is off the beaten path, and not in the main "core downtown area" of the city. Very wispy, winding river setting, with extremely tall pines all around - reminscent of a european villa. Many renovations had been taking place we noticed to keep in with the original design and motif of a days-gone-by nostalgic lodge-type inn.

Happy to see that the prices for rooms there, right out of the chute, are already discounted, and also are not laden with those "hidden junk fees" you get at the "shoe-box inn chain properties". These days its hard to find a good 'Mom and Pop' style of hotel or inn that shows true pride and character of ownership as this riverside gem portrays. Quiet and peaceful place to spend the night.

Room Tip: All rooms open up to a common deck with nice views of the nature and outdoors scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Sorry that the cold and rain came in that you could not use the waterfront for relaxing. Thank you for stopping by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Room was clean and comfortable and a good value. Owner was extremely helpful with local information such as dining recommendations and there is a snowmobile rental shop across the street (very convenient).

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms available with easy access to the parking lot and a nice view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krf1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you for choosing us. The weather was great for your snowmobiling this late in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Recently a friend and I stayed for a weekend at this property and were greet warmly with the owner Fritz upon our arrival. Never having been in Eagle River before Fritz was full of information, maps, and suggestions on how to maximize our visit to the area. We stayed in a cottage right along the river looking out onto the ice skating rink on the property, The location was set back far enough from the main road that noise was never an issue and there was plenty of privacy. The beds were soft and comfortable and the rooms were clean and spacious. There is plenty of parking and the location is near the center of town. Looking forward to my next stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornerstonePhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Mark glad you guys had a good time cross country skiing and snowmobiling. Hope to see you and the family up here this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Located directly on the famed Eagle River, which we're told is the access point of the areas great 28-chain of marquis lakes (which is why this is one of our most favorite resort areas of Northern Wisconsin) we always look forward to stopping at this oasis of the North when we travel the area. Very quiet, peaceful setting, with an ice skating rink right on the river directly behind the inn, looked like something right out of a Norman Rockwell painting! The staff was very friendly, helpful with needed directions and dinner recommendations, and accomodating. Good night's rest before heading back to St. Paul. We enjoyed our stay at this place where time seems to stand still, and we long for our return trip back there again. Great old world charm, scenery, and quality. Great stay as we had had expected it would be.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Eagle River to the back are always a plus! Most of the rooms, if not all, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you for stopping by. Glad you enjoyed your brief stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This is a reasonably-priced typical northern WI spot hosted by a friendly man named Fritz.

The #1 room was small but clean, and the TV and shower worked well.

Fritz is a font of knowledge regarding the area, and his sightseeing tips were spot on.He was also very helpful in providing a couple of small extras that had been left behind.

Two major issues:

1) The bed has only the very LARGE pillows which made for very uncomfortable sleeping.

2) A moderately light sleeper in a downstairs room would have trouble here if the room(s) above are occupied. The older construction of the building is reflected in that every step taken by someone in an upstairs room sounds like they are coming through the floor into the lower room. Our upstairs neighbors arrived at 1:30 am and left at 7:30 am, with much clanking and knocking each time, impossible to sleep through. With the hotel almost empty on an autumn night, we would have appreciated more assistance in regard to room placement from our host.

Unless you are a VERY sound sleeper, do not even consider a downstairs room in this hotel.

Room Tip: Cottages look nice, don't stay downstairs, way too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you for bring to our attention the king size pillows for the king bed are to large. We will be replacing them with Queens size pillow. We do have available other styles of pillows for our quests from firm to soft. We have placed new cards in the rooms to advise guest of the selection.

Sorry for other guest coming in late at night.

RGDS Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle River
3.1 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#6 of 12 in Eagle River
62 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
311 reviews
21 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
1 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn & Cottages

Address: 5054 WI-70 West, Eagle River, WI 54521-9338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront of the Eagle River chain of 28 lakes between Watersmeet and Yellow Birch lakes. The Inn has 14 cozy knotty pine paneled rooms. The 6 waterfront cottages have kitchens with enclosed porches. Enjoy the private grounds sunbathing, volleyball, a few shots at hoops, fishing off the dock, wading in the water and finish the day by roasting marshmallows on the fire pits. We are encompassed by Chequamegon - Nicolet National Forest, Northern Highland American Legion Sate Forest and Vilas County Forest that have XC ski, bike and hiking trails. Enjoy a day of fishing for Muskies, Walleye, Bass or pan fish in one of the over 1300 lakes or Trout in one of the many clear streams. Look for a Bald Eagle, Ruff Grouse, Deer, Bear or any of the other wildlife. We have access to over 600 miles of groomed Snowmobile Trails just across the street. Being only one mile west of downtown Eagle River, other activities and dining are a quick walk or drive. For those of you that need the outside connections we have cable TV and Wireless Internet Connections or just sit near the water’s edge and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing