We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

The owner was so friendly and accomodating. I felt like I was staying at my grandparent's cottage; the look and feel and even the north woods smell brought back memories. The grounds are very pretty. The room was a little small, but very cozy, clean, and comfortable. Service is the best.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    10
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
21
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

I have stayed at the cottages for 4 summer vacations, a week at a time. We have stayed with just 2 couples up to the past 2 years of having 18 family members. The owner Fritz is the most friendly person I have ever met and is updating the cottages since purchasing the business. It is a perfect place to stay if you want the older 'cabining' feel with newer amenities. Our family goes from 8 month old to 88 years old, and 3 dogs and it is the perfect place for a relaxing outdoor vacation. We plan on vacationing there years to come.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nowaczjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

We stayed in the 3 bedroom Cottage 7 and it was perfect for 3 couples! The cottages were cozy and perfect if you're looking for an alternative to camping. We enjoyed a relaxing, quiet and fun week at the Edgewater. The owner, Fritz is so accommodating and knowledgeable--the nicest guy you'll ever meet! We enjoyed fishing on the docks, lawn games, and campfires. I would definitely recommend the Edgewater. Seems to be a good fit for all ages--we are in our 20s and 30s, but is family-friendly as well.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, beautiful views, waterfront
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kapp0059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2006

The proprietor, Fritz (can't remember his last name), is most knowledgeable of the area and all of it's amenities. The room was very comfortable and clean. The wife and I had a great time and are looking forward to returning.
My personal thanks to Fritz for being a friendly, gracious, and courteous host.

  • Liked — neat, clean and friendly with a true taste of the North Woods experience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book your reservation early
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank somphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2005

Stayed at the Edgewater Resort about 6 years ago. The cabin we stayed in was a pig pen with filth swept under the rug, no silver wear {had to go to managers office to get some} shower pressure was terrible and a leak on the stove with a constant propane smell. We were told prior to trip that there was a sandy beach area which did not exsist. Owner should of paid us to stay there.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, President at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 1 June 2005
Was the posting of 23 Feb 2005 for six years ago (1999) or for a time nearer to 23 Feb 2005. Cottages were closed down for the season at the end of January 2005. New Owners as of 01 September 2004. New Name, Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2003

I have been going to Eagle River for over 30 years but this iwas the first time I stayed at Edgewater Inn. We rented one of the cabins there and the staff was extremely accomadating and friendly. Check in is usually in the afternoon but we arrived late morning after a 4.5 hr drive and they checked us in and made sure we were happy with everything and gave us an up to date fishing report for the area. the cabin was very nice and well furnished and the friendly staff deserves a 5 star rating, I will be going there again.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eagle River hotels
3.1 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#10 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#6 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
#3 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn & Cottages

Property: Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Address: 5054 WI-70 West, Eagle River, WI 54521-9338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront of the Eagle River chain of 28 lakes between Watersmeet and Yellow Birch lakes. The Inn has 14 cozy knotty pine paneled rooms. The 6 waterfront cottages have kitchens with enclosed porches. Enjoy the private grounds sunbathing, volleyball, a few shots at hoops, fishing off the dock, wading in the water and finish the day by roasting marshmallows on the fire pits. We are encompassed by Chequamegon - Nicolet National Forest, Northern Highland American Legion Sate Forest and Vilas County Forest that have XC ski, bike and hiking trails. Enjoy a day of fishing for Muskies, Walleye, Bass or pan fish in one of the over 1300 lakes or Trout in one of the many clear streams. Look for a Bald Eagle, Ruff Grouse, Deer, Bear or any of the other wildlife. We have access to over 600 miles of groomed Snowmobile Trails just across the street. Being only one mile west of downtown Eagle River, other activities and dining are a quick walk or drive. For those of you that need the outside connections we have cable TV and Wireless Internet Connections or just sit near the water’s edge and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Edgewater Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing