We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish fry”
Review of Honey Bear

Honey Bear
Ranked #4 of 57 Restaurants in Eagle River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fish fry”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have been coming here for years. Favorite fish fry in the Eagle River area. They have their fish fry daily, so no need to only come in on a Friday only. They give you 2-3 peices of fish to start with. If you ask they will give you two additional peices. This is a small place, so the waits can be crazy to get a table. Friday's they limit their menu, as this overhelms their fryers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank harborgal_chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    32
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place and we will be back!!!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had to start with the Bloody Mary which is better then I ever thought it could be a meal in itself! The soups were outstanding and definitely home made. It was Friday and the Walleye plate was the largest portion of fish I have ever gotten on a fish fry and good. The burger was huge and juicy and done with perfection. We will return soon to try more food at this Gem in Eagle River!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Friday night out!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went there hoping for a good cocktail and a good meal and we were not disappointed! The brandy old fashioned was one of the best I've ever had, and the fish fry was excellent...nice and light with great fries, coleslaw and fresh bread on the side. Great food, friendly service and a fun and cozy "up north" atmosphere. Couldn't ask for more!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor Ridge, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Bloody Mary ever!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Bloody Mary was a meal in itself. Great ham and cheddar sandwich. Large portions. Reasonable cost

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cptsafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeKalb, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor choice”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Food decent, service poor, bathroom dirty and hideous.......Fish fry ok but there are so many better places to eat up North. If the bathrooms are any reflection of the overall cleanliness of the place I wonder why they are still open.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jack c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Honey Bear also viewed

 

Been to Honey Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing