We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Northwoods retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in a beautiful Northwoods setting Full size fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Relax in a beautiful Northwoods setting
Full size fully equipped kitchen
An abundance of wildlife right out your door
Your Check-In point
Sporty nine hole golf course on-site
Fish cleaning hut
Indoor pool
Large Hot Tub
On-Site Tennis
Seems like a good way to spend the day!
28 Lakes just waiting to be explored
Campfire Circle on Nature Point
Watch as the Northwoods explodes with color
A Winter Wonderland
Winter Silent Sports
On-Site Ice Skating Pond
Ice Fishing on Voyageur Lake
Over 500 miles of pristine snowmobile trails
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Eagle River, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kevin S
1 review
“Was expecting a little nicer place”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Hi, I was disappointed in the fact that we came with eight people. of which 3 of them were 5 years of age and under. And on top of trading our place in Door County which has a Garage, hot tub, and washer and dryer in each unit. This has on site washer and dryer no hot tubs in units, we were charged an additional $100.00 for the 2 extra people. That was very disappointing. The people were all friendly, and place was clean. and yes as others have stated internet was hard to connect to most times. we had fun as a family, But as the owner who traded for this I was very disappointed with the extra charge for the 2 extra people which were small children.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
We're sorry about your disappointment with the extra fee and would encourage you to contact the exchange company you used. Our resort listing on their website is current and does state what those fees are. Having said that... we're very glad to hear you found our staff friendly and the condo very clean - happy your family had fun and thanks for sharing that!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jrome61
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Northwoods retreat ”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Nice vacation retreat in the woods of Eagle River, WI. Resort unit is two levels with lake views and northwoods decor. Bedrooms are upstairs, large and spacious. The lower level is the living, dining and kitchen. There is also a wood burning fireplace. Location on the lake is on a quiet bay. There is a small private beach area, walking trails and canoes/row boats. About a 20 minute drive to downtown Eagle River. Plenty of dining establishments within driving distance of the resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Hello Jerome -
So glad to hear you enjoyed your 'vacation retreat' with us and thank you for sharing your experience with the greater Trip Advisor community. Please come back and see us again!
The Team at Lake Forest Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie413...
New Berlin, Wisconsin
1 review
“Thank you for a great get away.”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a wonderful get away in Eagle River. Internet was workable when needed. It's better that it's not perfect or we'd have been tempted to spend too much time using it. We enjoyed the fitness center each day and since we were looking for fitness, we didn't mind the short walk to get there. Pool was warm and welcoming as always. The weather limited activities, but the new Dish TV system offered many choices for movies by the fireplace. We enjoyed hiking and birds and calming beautiful scenes of the lake from our room as we watched literally all the seasons, rain, sun, blowing leaves and snow. We were thankful for the power as much of the city lost theirs. Every time we come there are more updates and it's fun to see what's new each time we visit. Always clean and meets our every need.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Thank you Debbie and family - so glad you had a great vacation!
The Team at Lake Forest Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danandrea...
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fun memories!”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This was our first time visiting Lake Forest Resort. Despite unseasonably warm weather which allowed us very limited winter activities outdoors, we enjoyed a relaxing stay with extremely friendly hospitality! We enjoyed the Thursday afternoon movie & popcorn provided by the resort, water aerobics classes throughout the week, & that there was the ability to borrow sporting equipment on-site. Although somewhat dated, accommodations were clean, well maintained, & there were adequate supplies stocked in the kitchen. We're looking forward to visiting next year already!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2017
Hi Dan & Andrea -
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and the large TripAdvisor community. We're very glad you had a relaxing week - that's what getting away is all about. When you come back next year you'll notice some updates in your condo, fresh paint in the lower level, pretty Northwoodsy lampshades in the living room, some new wall art and new lighting in the guest bedroom are a few of the things we have on tap. Thank you for staying with us this Winter, we look forward to seeing you again next year.
The Team at Lake Forest Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motions
FL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not as Advertised”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We booked our stay here through Interval and we are hugely disappointed with Lake Forest Resort and intend to call, as the description contains false information.
Pool and Fitness Center are not on site, you need to drive to the place...Once there it is a sad state of affairs, the place is in need of a lot of work, reminds me of a pool/gym at a one star hotel...We were shocked when we got there...Hot tub is small and was out of service. No aerobics or activities at all. They all should not call it a fitness center, as it was a small room with a few pieces of outdated equipment. No restaurant or bar on site. Office and sitting area closes at 4PM and all day on Sunday. Game room as a pingpong table only. Rooms are very outdated. Internet is HORRIBLE, and the write up actually tells you to go to McDonalds if you want good service. The place was nearly empty when we were there and service was nonexistent, we gave up trying to do anything on the internet. Not friendly staff, when we checked the lady was just not helpful...She had no interest in answering any questions and pointed to a flyer vs any input on her part..We had to drive to get firewood. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!!! PLACE IS NOT A RESORT.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
It's very rare that we have a guest who experiences disappointment such as yours so let me start by expressing concern over your concerns, which I will address individually.

The Lake Forest Health & Fitness center is located just up a short hill from the condos, all located within the 200 acre Lake Forest Recreation Area. As we tell guests when they check-in, the facility is not owned or managed by Lake Forest Resort. It is independently owned and operated and we pay a membership fee for our owners and guests to use the facility. The facility is an older one and while it certainly doesn't compare to a new facility at a larger complex, it does supply the basic amenities of pool, hot tub, sauna, exercise room, massage by appointment and water aerobics classes several times a week. We'll be sharing your comments on that facility with its owners.

Being located in the rural Northwoods of WI, high-speed DSL internet service is not available to us, it's sad but true. We get our internet service via an antennae system which provides us with basic broadband. We're very upfront and honest about this and offer our owners and guests alternatives if they require faster service, i.e. going back into town (5 - 10 minutes) to a coffee shop or fast food establishment where DSL is available.

When you checked in yesterday we were about half full, which is normal for this time of year. We were fortunate enough to receive about 8" of fresh snow in the past few days so we have many guests here right now enjoying winter sports, specifically snowmobiling and ice fishing.

The condos at Lake Forest Resort are just shy of 40 years old. We take pride in keeping them very clean and well maintained. We work consistently on introducing upgrades that are within our budget while keeping them rustic, homelike and comfortable. The condos have wood-burning fireplaces and we sell fireplace logs in the lobby.

We're known for our friendly staff and receive weekly positive feedback about them. I'm sorry you felt your check-in experience was less than favorable. Upon check-in, all guests are told that the staff dept. heads phone numbers are posted on the side of the refrigerator and to please call on Sunday, when the office is closed, with any questions, concerns or emergency maintenance issues.

We don't like our guests to feel disappointed, we like them to relax and enjoy their time at the resort and the beautiful Northwoods of WI. On behalf of myself and all the staff, please know that we take guest concerns very seriously.


Sue - Resort Manager
Lake Forest Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip-C...
1 review
“Great time - thanks”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Staff were amazing - helped us find a Church for Christmas Eve service. They have a 3 mile XC ski/snow shoe trail on the property. We used the hot tub at the fitness center. Our Condo was warm, we used the wood burning fireplace. Great week spent there

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Hello Gordon & Family -
So glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience with the greater Trip Advisor community. Please come back and see us again!
The Team at Lake Forest Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nrgamsk
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful winter wonderland.”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were among the guests for the Christmas week kat Lake Forest. (Fortunately, we were able to book the week. Every unit was booked!

It was perfect weather for snowshoeing, skating, enjoying the fireplace and guests each evening, (Two of the cabins had family members so we had lots of time for visiting.) Everyone there was in a holiday mood, staff was most accommodating, and saw to a most pleasant holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Dear Neal, Irene & Family -
Thank you so much for spending your Christmas holiday with us and sharing your experience with the greater TripAdvisor community. Sounds like you had a lovely time and enjoyed many of the winter activities we have to offer. Please come back and visit us soon.
Happy New Year!
The Team at Lake Forest Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing