We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Riverstone Restaurant and Tavern
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Eagle River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Wow. What great meals - I had veal wellington with asparagus and baked potato, my husband had the roast duck with asparagus. Amazing appetizers with the best home-made baked hot bread ever, with delicious garlic dipping oil. Salads were great. Old fashioned great. Service & atmosphere great. We got there early but when we left the place was packed and people were waiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    52
    27
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good food in the northwoods”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We showed up on a Holiday Weekend without reservations. They got us a very nice table with a short wait. My wife was suffering from a headache and they went out of the way to try to find her some aspirin. Excellent menu with some different items you just don't find in Northern Wisconsin. The waitress understood the demands of small children and did an excellent job of taking care of us. Definitely a kid friendly restaurant. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful Service”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We went to this restaurant on a recommendation. The food was not nearly good enough to overlook the horrible service. The restaurant opened at 5pm. We were the first people in the front door, though a group was let in the back door and seated before us. We ordered appetizers which did arrive promptly. We placed our order for two pizzas at 5:10. The first pizza did not arrive until 6:15, the second pizza until 6:30. That is an unacceptable wait time for pizza, plus we weren't served together! We were so disappointed by the wait time that we spoke to the manager about it. He was minimally apologetic at best. He gave a response of "Huh...It's the same staff we usually have working the kitchen so I don't know what happened." He did not even compensate our wait by taking off the cost of an appetizer. We paid full price (which was too much in my opinion), did not get to eat together, and the words "I'm sorry" did not come out of the manager's mouth when told about our poor experience. I really feel that you only get good service here if you know someone. Don't bother going if you are a second rate citizen, like us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BJTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Lakes, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food but slightly pricey”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The food and atmosphere was very good! However it comes with the big city downstate prices to go with it. If your going to go fiure $50 for two plus drinks and deserts if you have them.
If the prices don't bother you then this is a very good spot for higher quality dinners.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank don w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place - and good food!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The food is really good and the staff and owners are very nice. Great wine selection - probably the best in town. Nice for families or couples.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank W-K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverstone Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Riverstone Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing