We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Wild Eagle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wild Eagle Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Certificate of Excellence
Allen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I stayed five nights at the Wild Eagle Lodge last week. The reviews we had read on Trip Advisor were right on target. Our condo was roomy, extremely clean, and furnished appropriately for a Wisconsin North Woods vacation. The staff at WEL was always courteous and helpful.
And finally as two Texans who are fall color deprived, the views from our living room windows and patio were fantastic. Our unit faced Duck Lake (I think), and the fall colors of the trees must have been at their peak. Unbelievable!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, Director of Sales at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
The Wild Eagle Lodge staff thanks you for choosing us for your vacation getaway. You chose a perfect time of year to travel to the Northwoods to take in the beautiful scenery. We hope you come back to stay with us again soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    27
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
83
43
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Very spacious 2-bedroom condo with a large deck and nice woodsy decorations. Super relaxing to sit on the swings overlooking the lake, or around a crackling bonfire beneath a sky full of stars. The boat rentals were a bit pricey, but a small John boat can get you to several of the lakes along this chain of waterways. Nice amenities, but would have appreciated a laundry room on site (there was a fish cleaning station... So you'd think they could add a small coin operated laundry house, too). Overall a fantastic getaway. Check out Bond Falls and Adventure Copper Mine if you stay here... Two of our faves.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinlkaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Nice resort on the eagle river chain. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo that included a full kitchen and 2 bathrooms. Well furnished. It was hot and the AC struggled to keep up.
We spent most of the time on the water. Beautiful chain of lakes. Family enjoyed it. Check out the pirate ship nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisctravfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This place was perfect for our family of four. The condo was a huge two bedroom, very clean, and nicely furnished with full kitchen. The grounds were great with so much to do, tennis, volleyball, playground, free dvd's and games, kid's club activities, fish cleaning hut, grills at each unit, sandy beach with free kayaks and canoes and jet skis and boats for rent. There are fire pits with wood and kindling provided for guests. The indoor pool area also had a sauna and Jacuzzi. The fact that the resort has (free) reservable boat slips for their guests was the reason we settled on this resort, but all the other amenities are why we will definitely come back. As I was checking out, the owner asked me if I could suggest anything that could be improved, and I really couldn't think of anything significant. I hope they continue this level of quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and glad we did. So convenient. Our fishing guide pulled right into the parking lot. The condo was gorgeous. Right outside was the lake, picnic tables, bike path, boats etc. They had a variety of activities for the children which were many. I would have liked an upstairs unit as we had to keep our curtains drawn a lot for so many people walking by. The lake is very busy so not much fishing. Front desk help were very friendly and helpful...I agree for families that a 9:00 am checkout is too early. Wanted to try the restaurant but never got there. Unfortunately we heard by letter that starting next year you will have to rent for a week in the summer.

Room Tip: Upstairs for less noise. Choose a unit facing the larger lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyDBrooksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The facility boasts a number of ammenities that would strongly align with the needs of Families. It's clean and well kept. Boat rentals are available, boat launch is on the property. Sandy beach for the kids as well as a clean, indoor pool area if the weather turns against you.

A number of different Bedroom configurations are available as well as positions around the property. We stayed in two different 3 BR units. I would recommend a 2nd floor unit and facing Duck Lake if the option is there. 2nd floor to avoid being below any heavy-footed upstairs occupants.

I'd recommend the location, but would advise you to watch your total visit cost. The resort is not inexpensive. A multi-day stay with a boat, along with a dinner or two at the Blu Heron will add up in a hurry.

Also keep in mind they have a 9:00 a.m. check out time. Somewhat early for resort properties in the Northwoods. Make sure to plan this into your overall trip timeline.

Room Tip: Upper Level rooms avoid noise from heavy-footed upstairs guests. Also, ask for a Lake-facing unit i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have stayed at this resort for the past three summers. It is a lovely setting and the condos are very comfortable. The front desk and the new restaurant leave something to be desired, however, given the price (around $350 a night). The checkout time is 9 a.m., and that is set in stone -- not even a half hour extension -- even though there was not a housekeeper in sight when we timely checked out. The restaurant refused to take a reservation due to a festival on the property, and even when the restaurant was not busy the staff refused to allow us to place a carry out order for 2 people. We were very disappointed with the attitude and plan to look elsewhere for next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sepelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, Director of Sales at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
During the busy summer season (middle of June through the middle of August), Our check out time is 9:00am. Like many Northwoods resorts, the reason for this early check out is so our housekeeping department can "turn" our 72 lodge homes. Since our lodge homes are large condos versus smaller hotel rooms, they take quite a bit longer to clean and have ready by the 3:00pm check in time. Therefore, we must keep to the 9:00am check out time during the summer season. Any other time of the year our check out time is 11:00am. The Blue Heron Supper Club and Lounge opened in December of 2012. Since this establishment is brand new, we are continuously evaluating our hours, menus, and policies to find what works best for our guests and customers. The Blue Heron Supper Club and Lounge management had decided that during our Wild Days event that they would be unable to take reservations or allow carry outs. This way, they could ensure good customer service to the guests who were dining in the restaurant. Allowing carry outs would have prolonged the time it took for a meal order to be placed and the time for the entrees to be served for the dining room customers. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. We thank you for the feedback and will revisit this policy for our Wild Days Event in 2014. We hope this guest of the past three years reconsiders their travel arrangements for next year and comes back to stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle River
3.1 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
63 reviews
3.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#10 of 12 in Eagle River
53 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
284 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Eagle Lodge

Property: Wild Eagle Lodge
Address: 4443 Chain O Lakes Rd, Eagle River, WI 54521-7500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wild Eagle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Eagle Lodge is the premiere resort on the Eagle River Chain of 28 Lakes. Wild Eagle Lodge offers 1, 2, and 3 bedroom condos ranging in size from 980 to 1,520 square feet with a fully equipped kitchen, two full bathrooms, a gas fireplace, private deck or patio, sofa sleeper, high speed internet, complimentary rowboats, canoes & kayaks, dockage space and a panoramic lake view. Enjoy the swimming pools, beach, campfires, tennis court, sand volleyball court and Blue Heron restaurant on-site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wild Eagle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Eagle Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing