We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hockey tourney hotel EVER”
Review of Wild Eagle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wild Eagle Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Certificate of Excellence
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best hockey tourney hotel EVER”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have traveled a fair amount over the years for hockey tournaments in WI and our best hotel ever was the Wild Eagle Lodge. Our family of five enjoyed two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a kitchen that is nicer than ours at home. My son slept on a pull-out couch in the living room in front of the gas fireplace. When we weren't at the hockey arena, we borrowed board games and movies from the front desk... a really nice touch! We had one team dinner in the restaurant and it was just OK... that was the only downside. The kitchen is fully loaded with coffeemaker, pans, etc. All very nice and clean. None of us wanted to leave at the end of the weekend. We will absolutely be back again, perhaps in summer when I am sure the property is just lovely. P.S. We ever saw a real eagle during the day, no kidding!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, Director of Sales at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the privilege of seeing a beautiful eagle. They truly are magnificent birds to watch. Please give us a call to check availability for your summer vacation as we are filling up fast. We also will look forward to having you as our guests again next hockey tournament season. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    27
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
83
43
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Spent the weekend at Wild Eagle. Very nice accommodations near the main trails and close to Trackside rentals. The kitchen was well equipped with major appliances and a coffee maker. The 3BDR had two comfortable king beds and 2 singles.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, Director of Sales at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We are so happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time on the snowmobile trails. We thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have been going to Wild Eagle Lodge for a number of years, and find many things about the property that I like. It has been our go to place in the Northwoods, but the times they are a changing, and not for the better. The location is still ideal and the condos well maintained and beautifully furnished, but the treatment of the guests and the feeling of having your very own little vacation place on the lake is diminishing with each visit.

After a few trips last year, our final visit was not great, which we shared with the person checking us out. She informed us that a new owner had just taken over and was dedicated to making everything better. One of the things we complained about back then was that the swimming pool was rented out to local residents, who seemed to think they owned the place, and therefore the pool and sauna were really crowded for lodge guests. I am not sure, but I believe this is still the practice, which is too bad, because I really loved going into the steam room and relaxing each day.

This fall we decided to give them one more chance, and were very sorry we did. When I made the reservations I specifically said that we would like a quiet room when we stayed there. The woman making the reservations said there would be a wedding, but that the music and event would be over by 10PM. I said that would be okay, but again asked for a room away from the noise. On our last night there, when we were getting up at 5AM (as many fishermen and other travelers do) for a long trip home, the music blasted away until midnight on the dot. When I called the front desk, the woman said it was her first wedding and she didn't know how long it would last. At 10PM there were maybe five or six people left, and the music still blasted. It went on until midnight exactly. I don't believe that Wild Eagle didn't have the start and stop time included in the contract, I believe they don't care if the guests don't like it.

I feel Wild Eagle has to decide if it wants to be a resort or a wedding venue. If they want to rent condos to vacationers, they should allow those people to sleep and wake at their leisure while they are on vacation. They sell themselves as having a restaurant on site, but they closed it to resort guests for two of the three days we were there to accommodate the wedding party. The afternoon of the wedding every available pier on the beach was taken over for pictures by the wedding party for more than an hour. It is a lovely place for a wedding, but it takes a lot away from guests coming there for a private vacation. I have no idea if the restaurant is any good, because we couldn't eat there. If they want to do both, they should offer steep discounts to resort guests for any nights they are inconvenienced by the party groups taking over.

When I complained the night the music was blaring (and our room was right in line with the tent they throw the weddings in) the employee gave me the owner's number and said she was sure he would want to talk to me. I called the number, he did not answer, and has not contacted me since our stay. I purposefully waited a few weeks to make sure I would not hear from him and that I could give a fair review.

Our first few years of staying here were simply wonderful. We would always buy a few potted flowering plants for the condo to make it feel truly like home, and walked the property and used the steam room and had massages and just loved the place. Over the years, the attention to detail is not what it used to be, the employees seem to be using the place as their own party place, and little is done to help anyone who is not happy with their stay. I doubt we will stay here in the future because it has been a little less of a vacation every time we go there, and a little less of a feeling that they care if you come back. It's one of the things we love about the area, there are so many beautiful lakes and beautiful resorts.....might as well stay at one that appreciates your visit.

Room Tip: We like the bottom units because they have adorable terraces to sit and enjoy the lake. Units on Du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, General Manager at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We very much appreciate comments, including constructive criticism, from our guests. We must know what problems we are having or we won't be able to fix them. We always encourage our guests to report any problems or issues they may be having on the resort immediately so that we can rectify them expeditiously. Our concept is that we are in the happiness business. We want and expect to exceed our guest expectations. If our guests have not had a wonderful, happy experience in staying with us then we feel we have failed. We have weekly senior staff meetings to discuss any problems that occurred the previous week, and correct those problems. Lori's comments will be at the top of the agenda at our next meeting.

The Wild Eagle Lodge is under new ownership and management. We have made many positive changes and improvements to the property. We have purchased 6 brand new pontoon boats, two brand new Lunker fishing boats, new swimming raft and beach furniture, new siding on the lodge home buildings, upgraded condo furniture and carpeting where needed, opened a new on-site restaurant – the Blue Heron Supper Club and Lounge, and more. We are continuously making plans for future improvements to enhance our guest’s comfort and enjoyment. We never forget that our guest’s comfort and satisfaction drives our success.

Thank you for the comments Lori. We hope you reconsider and come back to stay with us again as we continue to improve. Curt Bradley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, Wisconsin, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just want to say we visited with groupon purchase. Loved this place. We were then midweek and had an awesome time. Loved all the facilities and would recommend to others and plan on returning. Love all the extras as the firepits. The resturant onsite had very delicious food and something for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, Director of Sales at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you Sherry for your review and positive comments regarding our resort and restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Anniversary stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I stayed five nights at the Wild Eagle Lodge last week. The reviews we had read on Trip Advisor were right on target. Our condo was roomy, extremely clean, and furnished appropriately for a Wisconsin North Woods vacation. The staff at WEL was always courteous and helpful.
And finally as two Texans who are fall color deprived, the views from our living room windows and patio were fantastic. Our unit faced Duck Lake (I think), and the fall colors of the trees must have been at their peak. Unbelievable!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, Director of Sales at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
The Wild Eagle Lodge staff thanks you for choosing us for your vacation getaway. You chose a perfect time of year to travel to the Northwoods to take in the beautiful scenery. We hope you come back to stay with us again soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Very spacious 2-bedroom condo with a large deck and nice woodsy decorations. Super relaxing to sit on the swings overlooking the lake, or around a crackling bonfire beneath a sky full of stars. The boat rentals were a bit pricey, but a small John boat can get you to several of the lakes along this chain of waterways. Nice amenities, but would have appreciated a laundry room on site (there was a fish cleaning station... So you'd think they could add a small coin operated laundry house, too). Overall a fantastic getaway. Check out Bond Falls and Adventure Copper Mine if you stay here... Two of our faves.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinlkaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Nice resort on the eagle river chain. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo that included a full kitchen and 2 bathrooms. Well furnished. It was hot and the AC struggled to keep up.
We spent most of the time on the water. Beautiful chain of lakes. Family enjoyed it. Check out the pirate ship nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisctravfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle River
3.1 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
63 reviews
3.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#10 of 12 in Eagle River
53 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
284 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Eagle Lodge

Property: Wild Eagle Lodge
Address: 4443 Chain O Lakes Rd, Eagle River, WI 54521-7500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wild Eagle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Eagle Lodge is the premiere resort on the Eagle River Chain of 28 Lakes. Wild Eagle Lodge offers 1, 2, and 3 bedroom condos ranging in size from 980 to 1,520 square feet with a fully equipped kitchen, two full bathrooms, a gas fireplace, private deck or patio, sofa sleeper, high speed internet, complimentary rowboats, canoes & kayaks, dockage space and a panoramic lake view. Enjoy the swimming pools, beach, campfires, tennis court, sand volleyball court and Blue Heron restaurant on-site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wild Eagle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Eagle Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing