We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above average lake-front vacation property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Eagle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wild Eagle Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Above average lake-front vacation property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I've stayed there twice as part of a large group and overall they have exceeded expectations.
I could list many minor issues I've had, but they are indeed quite minor and not the types of things that are unique to this property in any way.

I'll focus on the positives: great access to the water, easy going staff that works hard to get you what you need, nice boat rentals, nice selection of free watersports at the beach such as kayaks and canoes, clean property constantly being maintained, nice units that are just fine for vacation, well stocked kitchen, good free wi-fi throughout, lots of new or like new Weber kettle grills throughout the property so it was no problem to grill whenever one would like.

The docks need some work. Areas that are collapsing a bit and there needs to be improvement in the number and location of tie-on cleats.

Would absolutely stay here again if back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, Director of Sales at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate any and all feedback and are thrilled that you have come back to stay with us once again. I have some great news to share with you! We applied for new and additional dock space with the Department of Natural Resources. It looks like we have been approved to install the new and additional docks for 2015. We are very excited to be able to offer the new docks to our guests next summer. We hope you come back to vacation with us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    26
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
41
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darien
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We love wild eagle. Hans was the best! Only requests would be a swing near our building - they are all by the beach. Also wish the TVs were upgraded. Ours broke down twice. We travel with our daughter who is 9 and she sees the same friends there. Camp Runamuk used to be better-bring the old program back...pls.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLH228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, Director of Sales at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We will be sure to inform Hans what a great job he is doing! We do our best to strategically place the wooden chairs and swings around the property so everyone can enjoy them. However, from time to time they do get moved to different locations. We hope that you were still able to enjoy the panoramic lake view and breeze. Our beach has a number of Adirondack chairs that our guests are welcome to use as well the patio chairs located on each patio or deck. We apologize that you were having some difficulties with your TV. Rest assured that if your Television was malfunctioning that we have since replaced it with a new one. Please feel free to email me at tammy@wildeaglelodge.com to inform me what you feel we can do better with our Camp Run A Muk/Family Activities Program. You mentioned bringing back the old program. I would sincerely appreciate more details about what you liked about the old program versus the new one. Thanks again for your feedback. We appreciate your return business and look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. If you have any free time to get away this Fall, the Northwoods is a magnificent time to come up and view all of the breathtaking colors. The Eagle River area also hosts it's annual Cranberry Fest over the weekend of October 3rd - 5th. If you like cranberries and crafts, this is an event you won't want to miss. Visit www.eagleriver.org if you'd like more information on this growing event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

As a former resident of Eagle River, this trip was the first time I'd stayed there as a tourist. I'd read about Wild Eagle Lodge on tripadvisor.com (as well as having had friends recommend it) and wondered if it could really live up to its reputation. In short, it can and it did.

I was thrilled to get a good off-season rate and a unit that overlooked quiet Lynx Lake. Beautiful northwoods view from the condo, but I was equally impressed with the quality and attractiveness of the furnishings throughout the unit. Excellent standards of cleanliness and comfort.

A bonus of staying off-season is how quiet it was at the resort. At night, I could clearly hear the distinct call of loons from the lake and the wind in the trees. Perfect. I hope next time, my visit can last longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karlasbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, Director of Sales at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Wild Eagle Lodge as your vacation destination. We are so pleased that you were able to experience the beautiful loon calls as the sound carried across Lynx Lake. Please give us a call when you find the opportunity to travel to the Northwoods once again. If you would like, please feel free to visit our website and sign up for our special promotion emails. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

On a whim, my wife, Donna, said, "Let's take a vacation in Wisconsin!" I thought she was crazy! WISCONSIN! SERIOUSLY? Since it was her idea, we, of course, went - To Wild Eagle Lodge in Eagle River. Turns out SHE was right and I was wrong!

We LOVED this place! The lodges look rustic but the interiors are new and clean. We were in unit 101, which is the bottom left unit in the far left lodge if looking at them from Duck Lake. Our view was through so nice pine trees to the lake and I was always reminded of "On Golden Pond" every time a loon cried out!

We had a slight mishap within an hour of our arrival. The units have a nice gas fireplace to throw some romantic heat into the room and I fired it up as it was about 62 degrees when we arrived. I never even thought about the exhaust but, fortunately, I decided to walk to the lake to look at our dock (each renter gets dock space). Walking back to the unit, I noticed a huge flame on the deck of the unit. A robin had built a nest on the exhaust and this caught fire. I knocked it down and put out the fire. (Do not blame housekeeping as a robin can build a nest in an hour or so.) Be sure to check before starting your fireplace.

I met the man upstairs and it turned out he was on the board of directors. He is a very sweet man that we enjoyed talking with frequently. That brings us to the staff. ALL were very nice and quite helpful but I must say that one stood out for us - Amelia! We lost WiFi for a while and when I called, she immediately came to the room and checked. When she saw she had also lost WiFi in the room she took us to look at another room that did have it. We chose to stay where we were and they had it fixed the next day. All week long, she always put herself out to be of great service. I give the entire staff an "A" but she gets an "A+".

While there is plenty to do year round in Eagle River, do try to bring or rent a boat. The chains of lakes are wonderful and we spent an entire day just cruising around, looking at some of the stunning homes on the water.

All the units at Wild Eagle Lodge have full kitchens and, cooking utensils, and dinnerware. The only thing you will absolutely WANT to bring is plenty of BUG SPRAY. You are in the north woods and the mosquitoes here have no fear of daylight. I suggest light colored clothes and not walking in the woods at night.

Will we go back? ABSOLUTELY!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the restaurant area as you can. They often have weddings and othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gregory_ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, Director of Sales at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are so glad that you and your wife chose Wild Eagle Lodge for your vacation. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone.

We apologize for the mishap with the bird's nest. The bird's seem to really like to make their nests on the exhaust. We try to watch this closely but unfortunately that one created her nest rather quickly I expect. We thank you for your understanding.

We are glad that you were able to see an Eagle soaring by. They truly are magnificent birds and it is such a treasure to see one in it's natural environment.

We look forward to having you as our guests again for a future stay. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

First time visit and will come back to that place again.The lake is wonderful. Beautiful views from all units! The resort has a nice walking trail around the property and lots of docks for your boats. There is a very nice restaurant, the Blue Heron, on the property. Its best to make a reservation for that, since it can get crowded. The pool is clean and very nice. There are tennis and basketball courts on the property.

Overall I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrvideotalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, General Manager at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to visit our website and check out what events are taking place in the Eagle River area. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We come up to Eagle River every year and we always choose this place! It is very modern yet still retains the north woods charm. The property is extremely well maintained and the staff is friendly for the most part. The condo we stay in is always perfectly spotless and modern (we stay in a different one every year, so consistency is great here!) It comes with quite a lot of amenities such as a modern full kitchen, three bedrooms, and two fantastic bedrooms as well as a great room. There are also similar one and two bedroom condos. The lake is wonderful. Beautiful views from all units! The resort has a nice walking trail around the property and lots of docks for your boats. There is a very nice restaurant, the Blue Heron, on the property. Its best to make a reservation for that, since it can get crowded. The pool is clean and very nice. There are tennis and basketball courts on the property. The only thing I don't like is there are no laundry facilities in the resort. Overall, I love this resort and honestly, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a condo on the bottom floor. They have better access to the lake. Try to get a condo on D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, Director of Sales at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you taking the time to share your thoughts and feelings about our resort. We are honored that you choose Wild Eagle Lodge and the Blue Heron Restaurant for your yearly getaway. As you stated, we currently do not have laundry facilities located on our property. However, we are considering adding a laundry facility on our property within the next five years. There are a lot of factors involved and obstacles to over come, but we hope to add this amenity in the near future for our guests. Once again, thank you for your feedback and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have traveled a fair amount over the years for hockey tournaments in WI and our best hotel ever was the Wild Eagle Lodge. Our family of five enjoyed two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a kitchen that is nicer than ours at home. My son slept on a pull-out couch in the living room in front of the gas fireplace. When we weren't at the hockey arena, we borrowed board games and movies from the front desk... a really nice touch! We had one team dinner in the restaurant and it was just OK... that was the only downside. The kitchen is fully loaded with coffeemaker, pans, etc. All very nice and clean. None of us wanted to leave at the end of the weekend. We will absolutely be back again, perhaps in summer when I am sure the property is just lovely. P.S. We ever saw a real eagle during the day, no kidding!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy S, Director of Sales at Wild Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the privilege of seeing a beautiful eagle. They truly are magnificent birds to watch. Please give us a call to check availability for your summer vacation as we are filling up fast. We also will look forward to having you as our guests again next hockey tournament season. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle River
3.1 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#10 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
23.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
22.4 mi away
Holiday Acres Resort
Holiday Acres Resort
#2 of 8 in Rhinelander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Eagle Lodge

Property: Wild Eagle Lodge
Address: 4443 Chain O' Lakes Rd, Eagle River, WI 54521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wild Eagle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Eagle Lodge is the premiere resort on the Eagle River Chain of 28 Lakes. Wild Eagle Lodge offers 1, 2, and 3 bedroom condos ranging in size from 980 to 1,520 square feet with a fully equipped kitchen, two full bathrooms, a gas fireplace, private deck or patio, sofa sleeper, high speed internet, complimentary rowboats, canoes & kayaks, dockage space and a panoramic lake view. Enjoy the swimming pools, beach, campfires, tennis court, sand volleyball court and Blue Heron restaurant on-site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wild Eagle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Eagle Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing