We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt a bit mislead”
Review of Inn at Pinewood

Inn at Pinewood
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eagle River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Pinewood
Ranked #1 of 2 Eagle River B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt a bit mislead”
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

The hosts were accommodating and pleasant. The breakfasts were excellent. The room was very nice and the bed was extremely comfortable. The reason I'm not giving the stay a higher rating is that I felt a bit mislead from the description on the website. I choose the honeymoon suite because the website description said the room had a private deck overlooking the lake. The price was 50% more than the standard room, but since this was our 30th wedding anniversary trip, I felt it was worth it. It turns out that the 'private' deck was really a common area deck, shared by all guests, which hangs off the game room. Our room did have a door that lead to the deck, but the door was blocked by furniture. I feel that the room description on the website was pretty much a lie.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is an historic cabin (was a boys camp may years ago) nestled in the northwoods with a private lake for fishing, swimming and boating. The breakfasts included scrumptious quiches, muffins, fresh fruit, etc. The manager/hosts just took over this summer, but they have lots of experience in making the guests feel welcome and comfortable. Our room overlooked the lake and we could pleasantly hear the loons each evening. The interior is furnished with many antiques and other quaint northwoods furnishings. It is a beautiful place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen&MikeTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago suburbs
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My husband and I visited friends who live in Eagle River but could not stay with them due to a cat allergy. The atmosphere was vintage Northwoods--a cozy fireplace, big picture windows overlooking the lake, pinewood paneling, wood plank floors, and interesting antiques. The owners were taking over that weekend for the managers. They went out of their way to help us and make us feel comfortable. My husband enjoyed one morning of fishing the lake. Breakfast was tasty. We both loved the area and would stay at the Pinewood Inn again. Typically, my husband does not like B & B's. But he said, "This place has changed my mind."

Room Tip: We enjoyed a corner room with a view of the lake on the 2nd floor. No elevators though, so be prepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at the Inn at Pinewood. We drove up to see the fall folliage and were not disappointed. It was amazing. The road leading to the Inn was glowing with yellows and oranges, and reds. Fabulous!! We also took a boat out on the lake to see some of the fall colors up close. It was very quiet & peaceful. That evening, we lit a fire in the large fireplace and enjoyed the crackling sounds and dim light. Very romantic. The Inn keepers made us feel very welcome and comfortable. They were also very interested in my husband, who graduated high school here in 1985 before it became a B&B. They made him feel like a celebrity. This particular weekend was also the Cranberry Fest in Eagle River. We got to meet a lot of the other folks staying at the Inn who only made our experience even more special. I wish we had more time to spend, but I'm sure we will be back in the future.

Thank You,
Chris & Phil Gramley

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisso1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central california
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The setting was beautiful, right on the lake. Canoes and kayaks were available for use and I went out on an early morning ride through the rising mist on the lake. Then came a most delicious breakfast, with several kinds of muffins, an egg dish and plenty of fruit. The Inn is a former boys school and the interior is filled with antiques, outdoor memorabilia, stuffed animals, games to play and small rooms that served as a gift shop, library and movie room. We only stayed one night but this would be an excellent place for a week's stay. Not only were the accomodations comfortable, unique and warm (a fire was going in the fireplace all the time), the hosts were truly hosts. They did everything they could to make our group of 8 feel at home. We couldn't have been more pleased.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tojo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We enjoyed our one night at this property, wish we could have stayed longer. We chose the honeymoon suite with the beautiful lake views! The owners were there and spent much time with each guest making sure all were comfortable and shared knowledge of the area and the home. Plenty of coffee for early risers and a huge breakfast, today was coffee cake muffins and warm stuffed french toast. We fell in love with the two dogs, Sydney and Harley (they are not there full time however). The home is full of interesting collections and lots of things to do in down time if you are not on the lake. So different from New Mexico, we loved our stay.

Room Tip: Review the web site....we loved the view from honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sewbusy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have stayed at the Inn at Pinewood each of the last five summers when we come to pick up the kids from camp. Each visit we unplug for a couple of days and enjoy the peace & quite. This is a great place for a quick retreat and every year we come back with a fun story. This year we got caught on the lake far from the shore in our row boat when a rainstorm came up and our hosts from the Inn came out to tow us in quick :)

Room Tip: Quite & peaceful, TV only in the TV room not in each bed room. It is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJF_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle River
3.8 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
170 reviews
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
295 reviews
6.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
284 reviews
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
215 reviews
9.8 mi away
No photo provided
Oneida Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Three Lakes
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Pinewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pinewood

Property: Inn at Pinewood
Address: 1820 Silver Forest Lane, Eagle River, WI 54521-9458
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing