We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keeping it real at Alpine!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Troy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Valley Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East Troy
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Keeping it real at Alpine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Alpine Valley is what it is. It's not Vail or Banff or even Devil's Head (Wisconsin)...it's a local ski hill for Milwaukee/Chicago. This is where we go to learn, practice and have a good time. You can ride the same black run (Big Thunder) over and over, tweaking your turns and having a blast. The detachable quad gets you back up the hill very quickly. They offer great kids ski/ride classes, with excellent instructors. I even had a 50 year-old buddy with me recently who wanted to learn to snowboard, the instructor was really patient and knowledgeable. He was on the lifts before the day was over.
The food is excellent in the bar and the service is friendly and warm. I've been coming here for the past 10 years and I love it for exactly what it is.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soopnatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
12
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shorewood, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have gone skiing to several different places throughout the midwest, and have never had an experience like this. The slopes were over crowded, hotel room was lacking in many ways, inside the resort was over crowded and extremely loud. Parking was a nightmarish joke!!! For $140/night, it's not worth it at all. You could be parking your car 1/2mile away from the hotel, so happy trails to you for what you spent to stay there! The lines to purchase a lift ticket and equipment rental was painfully long. Definitely not a good first impression of this place. Will not be returning in the future, too many other nice places that are better worth the money. The restaurant/bar was over-crowded and after 15minutes of waiting for our server, I had to go find him! Not a fun experience considering what we paid for the trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Troy hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Although there were positives about the area, skiing and slopes, when you do not get a a good nights sleep, that can ruin any vacation. These beds were the worse that I've ever slept in! In all my travels across this country and not always in the most expensive places, these beds were horrible. If management would take a small percent of profits and buy new and updated beds and bedding this experience would have been tops. The hotel was outdated but very clean, but needs some upgrading especially because we had a Suite, this was no suite. The pool was awesome! The front counter was so helpful, nice and friendly! The cleanliness was great! The skiing, ski school and the slopes , EXCELLENT, just don't stay at this hotel if you want to sleep. We had the suite with 2 rooms looked and felt like a full bed , absolutely not big enough for a adult man and woman, and sofa bed. this suite should have slept 6 , ITS A SUITE and they charged us for the 3rd person, only 3 people in a suite and they charged extra for a 3 person. The absolute positive was the private lesson by Lynn Gustafson, If you only go to ski or snowboard ask for Lynn for lessons, she was Awesome, Just do not stay there.
Getting back to the room, the shower water was light, and did fill the tub, so that's an issue, the soap holder in the shower was rotted. the bedding was from the 70's, and one chair in the living room was broke so if you sat on it you fall back, The hallways were so dark and could be a bit scary, and when going to the pool, although the pool itself was great, you don't know to get towels at front desk till your in the pool, bad signage. All over they had heat lamps but out of the 6 i saw none were on, it was 12 degrees and none were on, was there a reason? The main restaurant was good and tried to show an expensive experience and was a bit price but its a resort, OK, but with a limited menu it wasn't worth it, eating at the bar is cheaper and the bar is a nice experience. Down by the cafe it was advertised for skiers to relax and get a quick bite and was advertised of pizza but they didn't have any. Over all I would ski there but never stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed 1/2-1/4 2014. Just needed a fun little getaway. My hubby went there as a teenager with his family and I had never been. Pretty nostalgic place, loved the coziness of it! Slopes were a little icy but it was still good. Our room was back to back with the slopes so we were able to leave our gear on the patio very nice. The rooms are clean, front desk staff not the most helpful, purchasing lift tickets and skis was pretty easy. All in all pretty reasonable place to go play in the snow. Bty we stayed in room 102.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Readd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitewater, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This place is not worth your money for skiing. Better places all over the state money wise and quality wise. Runs are way too short and it gets too filled on the weekend; even more than the average ski resort. Food was mediocre as well. Did not stay over night, just went there to check it out. Will not return and do not recommend unless you golf or are there for a concert.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkville, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Have stayed here quite a few times on concert weekends. Before we always had a room that was kind of gross, however we were pleasantly surprised this year to have a really nice room! It was clean, and comfortable, with a balcony facing the ski hill. Seems like they are trying to revamp the place which is great because we love seeing concerts at the amphitheater, and getting a room right there is a great bonus. It is however VERY expensive for what you get, but you are definitely paying for convenience. The prices for everything seem to be jacked higher on concert weekends. Pretty good bar and lounge on site, and especially great bloody Mary's at the little snack hut on the golf course. Hope to get a room again next year for the same concert.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kati4140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

For a last minute anniversary getaway we thought heading to WI would be a great place to hit the slopes and enjoy some R&R. Boy, we could not have been more wrong! The hotel (motel) it self was outdated with terrible amenities; dirty and dingy. The room was less desirable than a Motel 6 or another cheap motel, but at a much higher rate. The slopes were icy and the snowboard lesson was terrible. I did not bring a blow dryer, because most hotels, even motels, provide then in the room. However, when I called the front desk to inquire about a hair dryer, they told me I could come down and pick one up. Overall this place is definitely a "resort" that should be skipped. Travel the extra miles in the midwest, or better yet, save your money and head out west where it is the real deal! I am not a gambling woman, but I am pretty sure this "resort" was built in the 12th century, see pictures!

On a positive note, we met an excellent sever in the bar, named Darren who was fantastic!

Room Tip: Find a different resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lkala23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Troy
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in East Troy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkhorn Lake Geneva Area
14.1 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
14.8 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
15.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Valley Resort

Property: Alpine Valley Resort
Address: Alpine Valley Resort, East Troy, WI 53120
Region: United States > Wisconsin > East Troy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 128
Also Known As:
Alpine Valley Hotel East Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing