We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and Relaxing Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pickwick Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Troy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pickwick Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 East Troy B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and Relaxing Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here during the weekend of Lake Geneva's Winterfest. It was a short drive from LG and the town was small and charming. I chose the Pickwick Inn because of its great reviews and overall value of the rooms. The Inn is terrific and Jane and Dave made our first B&B experience one worth repeating! We stayed in the Louisa May Alcott room and it was lovely. The breakfast was amazing and the other guests, who were much more experienced with B&Bs, told us we made a great choice for our first stay. I agree!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brains-and-Bones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    0
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stumbled upon the Pickwick while researching Wisconsin B&B's. About once a month my wife and I try to get out of Chicago for a weekend.We're not made of money, and need to keep it within a couple of hours from the city so we gave Pickwick a try. I am glad we did!

If you want to veg out watching HBO from your bed after exploring exciting local recreation options you‘ll be disappointed. But if you are looking for a well kept, easy going small town getaway full of hospitality & big tasty breakfasts, I highly recommend the Pickwick.

We stayed in the Arthur Conan Doyle room for 2 nights and it was both spacious and cozy. The decor was unique and interesting, but not tacky or overboard. All rooms have gas fire places that turn on or off by hitting a switch,ideal for a winter visit. The hosts are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfasts were huge, homemade and delicious. Another big plus: there was a mini fridge in the hallway (happened to be outside our door) packed with Mike's hard & wine coolers, free for the taking.

I'm not sure if it’s the AC vents or thin walls,but a lot of sound carried through the rooms.I really appreciate privacy & peace when I'm trying to escape big city living, so this was a bit of a turn off.

Another thing to note:there is almost nothing to do in East Troy Wisconsin. A few blocks away is "the square”, which has a handful of restaurants, pubs and shops.This plus no TV in the guest rooms, and you could find yourself very bored if you don't plan ahead.There was wi-fi, so we didn't miss TV all that much, and we took a couple of drives to Milwaukee and nearby towns to keep us occupied. Lastly, there was a bucket of old children's bath toys in the bathroom closet, which I found to be a little odd, especially since they claim to not accommodate children.Maybe not a huge deal, but that's why I knocked off a star for cleanliness. Otherwise the room was very clean and well kept.


And did I mention breakfast is huge and delicious?
Overall we had a great stay, and I’ll definitely come back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are rather spacious, Charles Dickens and Louisa May Alcott rooms have whirlpools, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Pickwick Inn on a Tuesday evening in early January. Even though it was cold outside, it was warm and inviting inside. Jane and David Moyer are wonderful innkeepers. Their home is well appointed, comfortable and fun. We stayed in the Louisa May Alcott room, which is open, sunny and romantic. The fireplace and jacuzzi were a wonderful counterpoint to our chilly walk in the nearby south unit of the Kettle Moraine. Jane's wonderful breakfast included the best blueberry cobbler we've ever eaten.

Room Tip: The main differences between the rooms may be the presence of a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lv2trvl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

In Wisconsin for other reasons, I took a side trip to E. Troy so that I could see the land my ancestors owned in the 1840s. I love B&Bs, so I decided to stay at the Pickwick Inn. It was the best decision ever! The hostess is gracious and generous, and the food is wonderful. Those blueberry pancakes just can't be beat. She went out of her way to accommodate my food allergy (she really didn't need to) and the room was spotless - and I mean immaculate. And I don't know what kind of mattress I slept on, but it was super comfortable. I loved E. Troy and hope to go back, and if I do, I will most definitely stay at the Pickwick Inn.

Room Tip: The innkeeper recommended a cooler room; she's very helpful so don't hesitate to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celticats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

One of the best B&B breakfasts we've had, served in the spacious screened porch; great owners with interesting stories; fun themes in the rooms; central air; fireplaces in the rooms (we should come back in winter!); fascinating house; nice yard.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Troy
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in East Troy
85 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkhorn Lake Geneva Area
10.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waterford/Burlington WI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
958 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Crossroads Motel
The Crossroads Motel
#3 of 3 in Elkhorn
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickwick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickwick Inn

Property: Pickwick Inn
Address: 2966 Union St, East Troy, WI 53120-1225
Region: United States > Wisconsin > East Troy
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing