We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Music,Views & Excellent Food”
Review of Fanny Hill - CLOSED

Fanny Hill
Price range: US$17 - US$17
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Music,Views & Excellent Food”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Deck dining at Fanny Hill is a very pleasant experience. On certain nights they have entertainment (music) on the deck which overlooks the Chippewa River.
We had the Garbage Salad which was excellent. Also the Coconut Shrimp appetizer.
Very relaxing evening in beautiful Eau Claire

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael1947212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny H, Director of Sales at Fanny Hill, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your positive review, Michael! The Italian Garbage Salad is a guest favorite here at the Hill! We would love to have you join us again before the weather cools off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    12
    2
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing, expensive”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

On occasion we would go to Fanny Hill for the Friday night fish fry until they changed the menu and omitted the all you can eat then reduced the size of the portions. We have been served fish so overcooked you could hit it with a knife and not even penetrate it, called the manager over and demonstrated this to him, he was not concerned. Never been back, it us a shame this used to be a real treat. SAD

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wtmrdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easter Buffet”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My friend and I wne to Fanny Hill for their Easter Buffet. Having been there in the past for their Mother's Day Buffet, I had high expectations for Easter. I was not disappointed. Everything was labeled, the variety was wonderful and the service was great. I was particularly impressed with the Rosemary and Fennel Roast Pork loin and with the Corned Beef Hash. They also had two whole smoked salmon, Norwegian Lox and cream cheese to serve on their mini bagels. The dessert table had only 3 or 4 selections, but they were good. I would certainly go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiddoMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Holiday Tradition well preserved...”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

In early January I hosted our extended family to a gathering at Fanny Hill for 13 and our first grandson, We chose the Sunday afternoon brunch and were treated to a variety of great choices. From smooth velvet hollindaise on the eggs benedict to fresh made waffles with berries served hot and crisp all options fit us well.

A festive mood and attentive wait staff helped the holiday decorations come to life. All the traditional trimmings were there. Santa sauntered past and an electric trains sounded off as whisked around the bar area. People lingered and conversion was cheerful as everyone took there time to enjoy the family get together.

Fanny Hill will always be a delightful place to visit. Service and fine dining puts them over the top.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadott, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service, and Ambiance”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

In June we had dinner at the Fanny HIll Riverview Grill and were not impressed with the quality of the food although our server Mike was great. We heard that they had hired one of the areas finest chefs a couple of months ago so we decided to give it another try. What a surprise. Our food was one of the best gourmet meals we have for some time. My wife's Chef Carved Chateaubriand Au Poivre would melt in your mouth and the Almond Crusted Walleye was full of flavor with a nice texture.The portion size was so large we had leftovers for another full meal. We asked for Mike again and he provided first class professional and sincerely friendly service. They have windows along an entire side of the dining area that give a spectacular view of the Chippewa River valley. If you sit at a table in this area dress warm as it it much cooler there during the winter months. We chose a comfy warm table in the area of the fireplace. The ambiance was nice and it was not noisy even though there were many tables filled. The alcohol prices are a little high but not a big deal for the total experience. Their ice cream drinks would be much better if they used a little more ice cream and eliminated the whip cream on top. With this new chef Fanny Hill is bringing back their reputation as being one of the area's best dining establishments.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCandVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny H, Director of Sales at Fanny Hill, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your response! Mike is often requested here at the Hill for dinner service and we're always happy to let our servers know when someone appreciates their hard-work and dedication.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fanny Hill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing