We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money Trap”
Review of Metropolis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metropolis Resort
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Eau Claire
Reviewed 16 February 2010

the water temp was very cold, the waterpark was too small, ARCADE was too big and not much to do there for young children,( about 3-5 years old) so you drive 3 to 4 hours to stay somewhere only to spend an extra $300 dollers in the arcade, because there is not much else to do,especially for the adults. If I were you i would go to the Waterpark of America in Minneapolis, that is better by 100%

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BUCKINHERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2010

My new husband and I rented the "Paris Apartment", their honeymoon suite, after seeing pics of it online. The room was really great--clean, comfortable, well equipped. However, the room heat/cooling was a pain to set and reset itself halfway through the night. The noise was HORRIBLE from the hallways as well as above and below us (why is the honeymoon suite on 2nd floor and not 3rd?). If you're looking for relaxation or a nice getaway and a full night's sleep, this is not the place to stay. If you're looking for a fun time with the kids, then this is the hotel for you! We were told we'd receive 20% off room and only received 10% because the manager who originally told us we'd receive 20% off wasn't working that day. Not good customer service. Hot breakfast was only okay and kind of undercooked. Room was very clean and you couldn't hear the freeway at all but it's kind of dumb that you have to keep calling down to the front desk to complain about the noise and kids running in the hallway and they don't do anything about it. The room is VERY overpriced too, for what it is.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elmleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Metropolis twice and each time was wonderful. It is our way of excaping home without having to travel too far or paying too much. During both stays we only had one issue and that was that our room service order got screwed up during our second stay. I recommend The Metropolis to any couple looking to excape for a weekened!!!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank maggierhy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Bring the whole family! We had a blast. The water park was great. The Action City Game area was fun. It had great Pizza and tacos. The Hotel had a wonderful breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was no need to leave the hotel. It's all under one roof, and the rooms are super comfortable. Nicely decorated. (We had a suite).

The staff was courteous and helpful. We love going there just to get away, and we live in the same town!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I would recommend the Metropolis to anyone, but especially a family with young children.

We really enjoyed our time in the waterpark, the lifegaurds were very attentive and friendly. The childrens area had lots for the little ones to do!

Our room was extremely clean, and there was never a problem getting extra towels or whatever we needed.

The breakfast was a plus and the food from the grill was great. We extended out stay one day longer than planned and were accomidated quickly!

Staff was friendly and helpful, we will definately be back, Thanks Metropolis!!
Sara

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripwithtwoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

The room we stayed in was one of the two bedroom suites, which worked out great for our family of 4. The room was very clean and comfortable! The waterpark was a lot of fun and I really like the fact that it's open early in the morning on Saturday and Sunday. Action City is also a blast. And I can't say enough about the breakfast. Very good food and I was very impressed with the staff. They kept everything filled at breakfast despite the fact that it was a zoo down there! Great job!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie08Abby06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

I would like to recommond that the water temperature and the air temperature in the waterpark area be warmer, we were all pretty cold. Other than that it was pretty fun my 12 year old got bored after a couple of hours tho, there isn't a ton for his age of kids to do.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family4funEauClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eau Claire hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Eau Claire South I-94
2 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Eau Claire
Hampton Inn Eau Claire
#7 of 25 in Eau Claire
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Lismore Hotel Eau Claire - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Oxbow Hotel
The Oxbow Hotel
#8 of 25 in Eau Claire
108 reviews
2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Eau Claire, WI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolis Resort

Address: 5150 Fairview Dr, Eau Claire, WI 54701-9444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eau Claire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Eau Claire
Price Range: £77 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropolis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolis Resort, located just 90 miles east of Minneapolis in Eau Claire Wisconsin offers extreme family fun for all ages. Metropolis is the only venue in the Midwest featuring a conference center, hotel, Indoor Water Park, Family entertainment center with a Trampoline Park, Ninja Warrior Courses, indoor go-karts, laser tag and so much more...and it's all under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropolis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Eau Claire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing