We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“POOR Service, rude and uncaring if they have your business or not”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Eau Claire
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sparta, Wisconsin
1 review
“POOR Service, rude and uncaring if they have your business or not”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The worst exsperience I have ever had from any business...ever. They didn't try even apoligizing for their actions. Was just told for the next nights stay" sorry we don't feel we can accomidate you, please go somewhere else" I have never had a worse exsperience ever and on my wife and my anniversary vacation to top it. Shower broke so we were unable to bath in the room we paid for, 1/2 of the excersise equipment didn't work right. Paint peeling off walls. On top of it just rude and uncaring people. They would rather you go somewhere else than have to deal with anything. So if you feel like being treated like crap, not bathing and having faulty equipment..by all means stay here.
'

Room Tip: Any other motel or hotel would be better than this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campusgm, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
I would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. I assure you that our guest is always our first priority and we work very hard to make sure each one is happy and comfortable. I will make sure to address these points and I hope next time you are in Eau Claire you will return and see the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    31
    21
    17
    19
See reviews for
35
16
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed at this property while working a job in Eau Claire.

Room was small for two beds. WIFI did not work despite reporting problem to front desk. Bathroom was also small but had a fine shower/tub and the sink drained well. Room was mostly clean. Carpet needed to be replaced. Refrig worked but thermostat on AC was non-functional. Didn't matter since it kept the room nice and cool anyway.

Must be frustrating working in Engineering and Housekeeping at this property since there are so many small items that need to be attended to. Hence, the remodel headline on this piece.

Breakfast was sparse in the newly remodeled lobby. Cereal, hardboiled eggs, coffee, juice, muffins.

There are better places to stay, but this place isn't too bad and is located close to a major hospital, shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: I'd say the rooms at the back of hotel are the most quiet since there would be less traffic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campusgm, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
I would like to thank you for your review of Americas Best Value Inn- Campus View. I appreciate your feedback and it will help us to continue improving the stay of all future guests! I have discussed the issues you brought to my attention with our Housekeeping and Maintenance departments and we will be making improvements. I hope next time you are in Eau Claire you will be our guest again and enjoy our ongoing renovations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrill, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We came to town for a softball tournament and it was slim pickings finding a hotel ahead of time, so I was a little nervous. I had previously called Comfort Inn & Suites and they didn't have any rooms, but they recommended we try here. Check In was fast and the staff was friendly. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. It seemed like the room at one time had been a smoking room because it had a slight stale smoke odor, but it wasn't enough to turn us away. They had an indoor and outdoor pool which the kids loved. We were very surprised that both times we went to the pools we were the only ones there. The breakfast had the usual muffins, bagels, toast, cereal and hard-boiled eggs and yogurt. It served our purpose and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNBushor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campusgm, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Americas Best Value Inn- Campus view! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback! I hope that next time you are in Eau Claire you will stop back in and we can show you our continued improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a three softball tournament in Eau Claire and this hotel was close to both of the fields we needed to be at. Air conditioning worked great in our room, but no so much in our daughter's room. The whirlpool bath was great for the kids in our suite. Small area for morning breakfast and there was cereal, muffins, yougurt and donuts. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinMOM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campusgm, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
I would like to thank you for your review of Americas Best Value Inn-Campus View. Your comments are very much appreciated and help us to continue improving the stay of all future guests. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that next time you are in Eau Claire you will be our guests again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Ok I checked in front desk looks nice but the upgrades stop there. Get into the room it smells musty and like smoke. Tv remote needs new batteries or a whole new remote. Paint cracked on the wall. Bed fair at best. Take a shower the Next morning orange rusty water comes out for awhile before becoming clear. I have to hold the showerhead because it isn't tight enough to not spray strait down. The water takes about 15 minutes to drain after showering (note I didn't close the drain. The decor in the room obviously hasn't been upgraded since the 80's besides the TV.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diggs1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campusgm, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
I would like to first apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. I have notified our Maintenance Manager of these problems and they will be addressed immediately. Your comments are very much appreciated and help us to continue improving the stay of all future guests. I apologize again for any inconvenience during your stay and hope that next time you are in Eau Claire you will stop back in and we can show you our continued improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eau Claire hotels

Cottonwood
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Property is very clean and staff is very friendly. Willing to help with any of your needs. Restaurant and bar attached to hotel as well. Shopping and other restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Suites are nice when you have a group of people as it is 2 rooms in one. Also has a nice whirlpool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We chose this hotel because they allowed us to bring our dogs. We paid a bit more because of this. It's an older building with long hallways. Ask for a room close to the lobby if you can't walk far. Dogs are welcome for a $20/night charge. You can't leave them alone in the room for any reason. Perhaps if you have a really quiet dog you can get away with it, but not with our anxious Lab who barks at any sound in the hallway if left alone. If you are alone you gotta put the pup in the car to go to the lobby for the breakfast. Rooms on 1st floor have sliding doors. They have folks with dogs in 1st floor rooms off the courtyard so you take them out the sliding door to walk in the courtyard (not fenced). Our room door was very hard to slide open and close. Very hard. Staff was really friendly. Breakfast was very basic - generic cereal, toast, muffins. No frills, clean room, squishy bed, long long hallways. Pool looked beautiful (we didn't have time to swim). Lobby was the most updated place in the motel. Connected to a pub and a pizza and subs restaurant. They did not shovel the snow off of the sidewalks.

Room Tip: It's an older building with long, long hallways. Ask for a room close to the lobby if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eau Claire hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#16 of 25 in Eau Claire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Eau Claire
Motel 6 Eau Claire
#21 of 25 in Eau Claire
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Eau Claire WI
Super 8 Eau Claire WI
#14 of 25 in Eau Claire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lismore Hotel Eau Claire - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Campus Area
Clarion Hotel Campus Area
#15 of 25 in Eau Claire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View
Address: 809 W Clairemont Ave, Eau Claire, WI 54701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eau Claire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Eau Claire
#7 Business Hotel in Eau Claire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 stories, interior corridor. All rooms non-smoking (State law 2010). O'Leary's Pub, and Mancino's Grinders Restaurant on site. FREE guest breakfast and wi-fi. FREE parking for cars/trucks/buses. Pet friendly (charge). Indoor pool and whirlpool. Conference Center and meeting rooms available, multiple catering options. Walking distance to Mayo Clinic and Sacred Heart Hospital. Walking distance to UW - Eau Claire, WI State office building, and Chippewa Valley Technical College. Restaurants nearby. Local attractions, parks, and trails nearby. Short, 20 minute drive to Leinenkugel's Brewery, and Irvine Park & Zoo in Chippewa Falls. Renovated 2010/2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View Hotel Eau Claire
Eau Claire Quality Inn
Quality Inn Eau Claire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing