We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Eau Claire
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed at this hotel last week. I have been staying there for many years, each November for a yearly shopping trip with friends. The hotel now serves a continental breakfast, which was never available when this was owned by other chains. This is a very good value for the money. Nice warm indoor pool, hot tub, bar and small restaurant. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgrandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 122 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2009

The deskworkers were polite, friendly and responsive. The single bed rooms on the first floor seemed small because of the level ceiling, but seemed larger on the second floor because of the upward-sloping ceiling. You might, therefore want to ask for a room on the second floor because of this effect. Unlike what others have reported here, the rooms I stayed in suffered no water leaks or cleanliness issues, and the exterior doors, while somewhat clunky, did open. My main complaint: I like that a hotel of this price has a swimming pool and sauna, but I ran into problems last time with staff not enforcing the hotel's adult swim hours, as kids were still there way after 10. When they finally left, I had only ten minutes of swim time left before the pool area closed at 11.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UWECAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We booked here because of the location and the cheap rate. Front desk was friendly and quick. Arrived at our room and no kidding, it was about 100 degrees in there! The heat was blasting. We immediately turned off the heat and opened the sliding door. We never ended up getting the cool air to work. The vent was broken and would only work on heat.

We left our room and came back at 1100pm that night and our non smoking room smelled just like a smoking room. The hallways were filled with cigarette smoke and permeated into our room. We hate, hate, hate the smell of cigarette smoke!

Next morning, we had no choice but to take cold showers. Even when the the hot water was turned on all the way, the water was still freezing.

We would never stay here again. It wasn't even worth the $50 we paid for our room. I would suggest any other hotel in EC but this one.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank ltl_leah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingByOpenbook, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2010

The hotel is now newly renovated. We have addressed your concern and are confident you will not experience that again. Please report any concerns to management or myself and we will take care of you. Thank you very much for helping us provide a better hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I priced a lot of hotels in Eau Claire before choosing America's Best Value Inn. They had the best price by far and the website made it look O.K. We asked for a non smoking room and even though the halls smelled of Smoke pretty badly the room smelled fine. The first night it rained hard and I woke to a dripping sound, the roof leaked and my hubands clothes that were on a chair were soaked, and the blue dye from the chair came off on them. The dripping just missed the computer just 18" away. I barely got them to give me anything to get the clothes cleaned and they said they would move us to a room with a king size bed, no extra charge. The bed was bigger but the room smaller, I was not impressed. Both mornings the free breakfast was pretty much gone by 7:45am though it was supposed to go until 9. For the full cheapness story read on: After i realized the clothes and floor were wet I trudged down to the desk at 5 am and a tired employee said "sorry, that is weird, we just had the roof repaired." I asked if they would pay to have my hubands clothes cleaned .after much back and forth she begrudgingly gave me $1 in quarters. I asked for soap, that was given begrudgingly as well, then I learned the laundry cost $2, so I was back to complain, said again it needs drycleaning or professional cleaning because of the blue dye, she gave me another $1 and said Shopko next door sold stain sticks.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EzraMildewDesireJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eau Claire hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#16 of 25 in Eau Claire
141 reviews
4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Eau Claire, WI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Days Inn West-Eau Claire
Days Inn West-Eau Claire
#22 of 25 in Eau Claire
207 reviews
4.1 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire
5.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Eau Claire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View

Address: 809 W Clairemont Ave, Eau Claire, WI 54701
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eau Claire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Eau Claire
#7 Business Hotel in Eau Claire
Price Range: £47 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 stories, interior corridor. All rooms non-smoking (State law 2010). O'Leary's Pub, and Mancino's Grinders Restaurant on site. FREE guest breakfast and wi-fi. FREE parking for cars/trucks/buses. Pet friendly (charge). Indoor pool and whirlpool. Conference Center and meeting rooms available, multiple catering options. Walking distance to Mayo Clinic and Sacred Heart Hospital. Walking distance to UW - Eau Claire, WI State office building, and Chippewa Valley Technical College. Restaurants nearby. Local attractions, parks, and trails nearby. Short, 20 minute drive to Leinenkugel's Brewery, and Irvine Park & Zoo in Chippewa Falls. Renovated 2010/2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Campus View Hotel Eau Claire
Eau Claire Quality Inn
Quality Inn Eau Claire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing