We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was hoping for actual smokehouse flavored food”
Review of Mike's Smokehouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mike's Smokehouse
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Was hoping for actual smokehouse flavored food”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Thinking we were going to a restaurant that had real smokehouse flavoring. It had nothing like that. You order your food at a counter and then you find a table to sit at. We were standing for a little bit until someone left since there were no tables available right after we ordered our food. The wait staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The food was good but since we were hoping for smokehouse flavoring we were a little disappointed. The baked beans, though, were very tasty!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kereez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good tangy sauce”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Had the ribs, beans, and Cajun fries. Overall pretty good. Was passing through on I94. A little off the beaten path but great staff and atmosphere made it a great place to take a break.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eatin_plenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Food was very good!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I would have given this 5 stars based upon MY food and the service we had, but my 17 yr old son had a rib sandwich which he only ate about half of as it was too thick an chewy he said. However, I had the rack of ribs - the meat was fall off the bone tender, plenty of meat, and the bbq sauce was very good. There was plenty of food on eveyones plate. The baked potatoes were huge. My 2 yr old ate all of his food and my wife was very pleased with the loaded potatoe. The people were very happy and extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant is banquet style in a way with some booths much like a bbq place you'd find in the south, so if you're looking for ambiance it isn't the greatest, but if you're looking for good food and friendly staff I would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Had a group of about 25, they don't do reservations but saved three large tables for us, wait staff was beyond helpful and very courteous, food was good, deserts are still being raved about!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank betsykaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not as Good as Most But Didn't Want to Put POOR Rating.”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The portions were small. We asked for a substitution of a slice of Texas toast instead of bun so it was open faced. There wasn't a full ice cream scoop portion of the meat. The brisket was dry. The potato salad was too runny. The fries were overdone. We were given only one choice of a BBQ sauce that was too sweet for our tastes. The wait staff was friendly and accommodating so that was nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mike's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing