We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food...could use a thorough cleaning!”

Dickey's Barbecue Pit
Ranked #159 of 231 Restaurants in Eau Claire
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great food...could use a thorough cleaning!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is the second Dickey's we ate at. After a superb visit in South Dakota, I had very high expectations. The food did not disappoint-one kid's meal with fresh chicken nuggets, coleslaw, and a drink was less than $5. My son and I shared the two meat platter of chopped brisket and ribs, mac and cheese, and potato casserole. The large pickle bin, multiple sauces, and ice cream were a big hit.

The let down was the cleanliness of the business. Of all 12-15 tables, only one was clean. As we were leaving (one hour later), one of the employees came out to clean the tables, but meanwhile, I watched people looking for a clean table without success. The floor was visibily sticky and soda laden. A deep clean would brighten the whole place. Friendly employees-but they could go the distance by keeping the place clean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerJenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    7
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Above average food, not cheap”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

We've been to Dickey's a few times. Good smoked meats (beef, pork), small portions (that goes for the main dish and sudes), and high prices characterize this chain restaurant. I suggest the lunch specials and the free ice cream.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PsychMike71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osseo, Wisconsin
1 review
“Mouth-watering BBQ!”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My experiences at the Eau Claire Dickey's has been nothing but GREAT! Very friendly staff, consistent, authentic Texas BBQ, and reasonable pricing! This is NOT fast food quality...just served quickly. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nolan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Never to return.”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The food isn't bad...but it is "fast food" BBQ...I have eaten at Dickey's in the Deep South, and although the food tends to be a little more consistently better, not by much - so I speculate it is the business model of the franchisee.

The Eau Claire branch often has overdone and dry meat, the price is high for the cafeteria style approach and the the sides are only average.

Not terrible, but not outstanding and too pricey for the inconsistent food, move on. If you want Rock'in BBQ make your own or head south, Eau Claire isn't going to top any list. Mike's and Famous Dave's are better but Dickey's is at the bottom of that list.

Oh one, other thing...I have horror stories about catering. Don't let them do it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mabollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
getmetherenow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Dickeys is fast food barbeque in a sense. Sometimes great, sometimes not so great. Meat is sometimes dry and not fresh. They tend to run out of some items as well. When everything is fresh it's great. Best bet - - go on a Saturday. Weekdays are a crap shoot. Pricing is somewhat high for the type of restaurant that it is.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank getmetherenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dickey's Barbecue Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing