We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality look at history...”

Chippewa Valley Museum
Ranked #6 of 26 things to do in Eau Claire
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Have your own adventure in history at Eau Claire's nationally recognized Chippewa Valley Museum, open year-round. The museum offers award-winning exhibits, beautifully preserved historic structures on the grounds, fun activities, a 1950's ice cream parlor, a museum store, and more. A visitor favorite is the multi-media object theater "This Day." The Chippewa Valley Museum sits beneath towering pines in Eau Claire's beautiful Carson Park, a 134-acre peninsula nestled inside horseshoe-shaped Half Moon Lake. The Chippewa Valley Museum is accredited by the American Alliance of Museums.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quality look at history...”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Chippewa Valley Museum is a hidden gem among the pines of Carson Park in Eau Claire WI. Many permanent exhibits depict the rich history of the Chippewa Valley. The fur traders that traveled the rivers and the lumber-jacks the cleared the forests are shown in all their glory.

Maps and displays has improved a great deal over the years as local support for this museum has been used well. Friendly staff are always willing to share stories and point out features. The library is another treasure chest of information and resources.

A family will find something for everyone and a cool fresh ice cream treat at the end if the old style soda fountain is open. Usually during the busy times.

Stop in and visit. A small fee has a great return on your investment in time. All will find something to learn about our town, our community and the people who lived here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
284 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A group to which I belong held their annual meeting at the museum. I visit Eau Claire very rarely, and had no idea that there was such an excellent museum in the area.
Before the meeting we had a buffet lunch. Museum space did not really lend itself to this type of activity; there was a long line, and quite a bottleneck developed. Not a fault of the museum -- the museum wasn't designed for that kind of event. But we did get to eat in the old-fashioned ice cream parlor, which was a delight.
Following the meeting, we got to go through the museum. I only had time for the traveling exhibit, "Images from the Civil Rights Movement" and for the permanent exhibit on farm life. The Civil Rights exhibit was small, but extremely well thought out. For an "advanced middle-aged" person like me, many of the images stirred memories, while at the same time, enlightened.
The farm exhibit was so accurate that it literally stopped me in my tracks several times; the recollections were so vivid, and apparently so universal. Other times the exhibit made me chuckle with fond memories. There is a 17-minute film about clearing the land, early settlement, and day-to-day farm life. VISITORS SHOULD NOT MISS THIS FILM!!
Unfortunately I didn't have time at all for the Ojibwa section of the museum on this visit. Always have to save something for next time!

Kudos to the museum curators and directors!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ComradeCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Withee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small but neat”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

It's a small museum but the staff is well informed. The exhibits are neat and quite detailed. The exhibits are unique. I've never seen the same things other places.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eau C;aire Co./Ohio State 4-H exchange visite”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Thi was awondrful trip to take high schoolers from another state to show a slice of life in Eau Claire Co, There was a n interactive show to watch and hands on activities. And to top it all off-Ice cream cones in the old fashioned parlor!! I should mention my 17yo daughter volunteers at the museum and loves the volunteers and the facitlities.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
395 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Good local museum set in a great park”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

As this Museum is set in a large park there is no problem parking and the park is well worth a visit on its own. The museum was informative and interesting and I enjoyed it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ManicUSAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chippewa Valley Museum also viewed

 

Been to Chippewa Valley Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing