We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of neat stuff to look at!”

Paul Bunyan Logging Camp Museum
Ranked #5 of 29 things to do in Eau Claire
Attraction details
Altoona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lots of neat stuff to look at!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was a great place to kill a couple of hours. I would recommend it to anyone. Great for kids and adults. Lots of history being preserved there. Keep up the good work!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
473 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Seasonal Area Outside”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is by the Chippewa Valley Museum area by downtown Eau Claire. I would wait until all outdoor exhibits are open before taking a visit. There is a historic old logging camp set up. I visited this place back in the 1970s, and the place is about this same. I would plan a visits here along with the museum next door since you are in the area. This place is OK alone but would do the museum combo.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WItraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“"Timber"”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Paul Bunyan Logging Camp will take you back t the 1890's Logging Operations living conditions
of a Real Logging Camp. Many authentic logging camp buildings that you can walk thru and see the artifacts contained in these Buildings Visit The Interpretive Center and the Dale Syth Theater and see a Great film on Logging made back in the day.I was so impressed, That I became a Member for $30. I And my Family can go as many times a season as we want, the five us go and often picnic on the grounds and still see artifacts that we had not seen before.But if you go on a day trip,the Paul Bunyan Camp And The Chippewa Valley Museum, Which are right next to each other have a great combo price $9 for both Museums,Less for Kids. Go online for operating times

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great 3D Replica Exhibits for the kids”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The kids will enjoy the real life replicas of early logging days. The chain saw carving national champions in August each year provide some amazing carvings to enjoy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yankee_Doodle_Do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Iowa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not what we expected.”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

After reading the blurb on the Wisconsin Tourism website, we decided to visit. There are several interesting exhibits and displays. Felt that maybe it was geared more for children than adults. Had several Interruptive recordings in the buildings which explained a few things, but it would have been much more intersting and enjoyable if there were charactors to ask questions and interact with. Combine our visit with the Chippewa County Museum next door. Felt that if both facilities were the price it cost to get into just one it would have been more reasonable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MALaehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paul Bunyan Logging Camp Museum also viewed

 

Been to Paul Bunyan Logging Camp Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing