We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious prime rib. Accommodating servers.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub

Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub
Ranked #9 of 229 Restaurants in Eau Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious prime rib. Accommodating servers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went here to celebrate graduation from UW EAU. Servers were very friendly and patient with our party of six adults and three small children. The prime rib was excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovelakemi709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    33
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
374 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Pleasant Atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Houligan's is one of those dark wood English pub places with good, but not extraordinary food. I had a very nice house salad with organic greens and the horseradish crusted salmon. The salmon was nicely prepared and not overcooked and dry as sometimes happens at restaurants.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Houligans has excellent food. Really nice daily specials with fresh flown in fish and the steaks are excellent.
Nice wine choices.
They do have a bar menu if you choose to do that.
Real quality here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Don't know why we haven't come here more often - food is excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife picked this for her birthday dinner and it didn't disappoint….just left us asking why we don't come here more often! She had the Scallops special and raved about them (caveat: they were not cheap, at $27.99), and I had the Candied Garlic Burger (a much less pricey $9.99), and it was terrific! Main course dinners are pricey, but there are plenty of items to choose from that can provide a very pleasant evening out without denting the wallet too much. We'll be back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClearWater62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best steaks in Eau Claire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Steaks, excellent.
Drinks, outstanding.
Specials, hit or miss.

"Candied Garlic Sauce", the bomb.
Our go to place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asic_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub also viewed

 

Been to Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing