We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent menu.”

Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub
Ranked #8 of 231 Restaurants in Eau Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Tenerife, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent menu.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Saw this restaurant advertised in our hotel and decided to give it a go. Was pleasantly surprised. Greeting was have you a reservation and when we said no, there was a look..... But found us a table anyway. Waitress Leah was excellent although seemed very busy. We had to wait a while to order, but when our food came it was worth the wait. Four of us all had different and all felt very happy. Ordered as quite full, the Truffles for dessert and was surprised only ONE on a plate. I thought TruffleS meant more than one. Was delicious but still think two could have been served.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mavis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    34
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious prime rib. Accommodating servers.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went here to celebrate graduation from UW EAU. Servers were very friendly and patient with our party of six adults and three small children. The prime rib was excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovelakemi709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pleasant Atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Houligan's is one of those dark wood English pub places with good, but not extraordinary food. I had a very nice house salad with organic greens and the horseradish crusted salmon. The salmon was nicely prepared and not overcooked and dry as sometimes happens at restaurants.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must try”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Houligans has excellent food. Really nice daily specials with fresh flown in fish and the steaks are excellent.
Nice wine choices.
They do have a bar menu if you choose to do that.
Real quality here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Don't know why we haven't come here more often - food is excellent”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife picked this for her birthday dinner and it didn't disappoint….just left us asking why we don't come here more often! She had the Scallops special and raved about them (caveat: they were not cheap, at $27.99), and I had the Candied Garlic Burger (a much less pricey $9.99), and it was terrific! Main course dinners are pricey, but there are plenty of items to choose from that can provide a very pleasant evening out without denting the wallet too much. We'll be back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClearWater62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub also viewed

 

Been to Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing