We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't look like much from the outside”

Tokyo Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 233 Restaurants in Eau Claire
Price range: US$15 - US$33
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Doesn't look like much from the outside”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Went in on Mothers Day with a larger group on short notice. The restaurant did a fantastic job of accommodating us. Waiter was excellent, clever, did a fantastic job of exceeding our expectations and was entertaining for our kids. The chef put on a good show and the food was prepared very well. While it didn't look like much from the street the service and the taste made up for it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    10
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in town”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I always enjoy going to Tokyo to eat. The service is good and the food is great. Much quieter than the other Japanese grill in town. One of our families favorite places to eat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnF1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I ate here during my stay in Eau Claire, was not a horrible experience but the menu did not have very many choices and was very confusing. Food was good, the people we shared our table with were fairly rude, which made our dining experience not pleasing. Our chef was very friendly and knowledgeable. They take a long time to serve drinks and refills.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teejaybby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I love this place. It's not cheap... but you're paying for great food and a little show as well.
The food is freshly prepared right in front of you. The chef will try to throw your freshly cooked shrimp into your mouth from the grill. The food portion is fairly generous. One of the things I truly love is just how I feel after I've eaten there. I'm satisfied and I don't feel "weighed down"
Another nice fact about Tokyo is that it is locally owned. Fairly uncommon in a tough economy... My only real complaint in this review is the horribly boring decor this restaurant has to offer.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two Harbors, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must stop place in Eau Claire”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I've stopped here a few times for lunch during my travels through Wisconsin. The service is always very attentive, the food is excellent and well presented and the prices are extremely reasonable. Essentially you get an interesting, tasty meal for the same cost fast food place might charge.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing