We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful property. Lovely hosts. Incredible...”

Review of Poggio alla Rocca

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Ginestra and Corbezzolo apartments
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
aerial photo poggio alla rocca
Enter a caption for your photo
Sughera apartment
Sughera apartment
Sughera apartment
Ginestra and Corbezzolo apartments
Sughera apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Sole apartment
Sole apartment
Sole apartment
Sole apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Ginestra and Corbezzolo apartments
Ginestra and Corbezzolo apartments
brand
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Casale di Pari, Civitella Paganico, Province of Grosseto, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Korean first
Norwegian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Wayne H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful property. Lovely hosts. Incredible holiday.”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a stunning place to stay, relax and enjoy Tuscany. The hosts are a lovely, friendly couple always on hand to offer coffee, ice cream or offer advice. The views are incredible. The rooms authentic and cosy. Would absolutely recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view, relaxing peace, delicious food in Pari”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very nice time with our 3 kids at Poggio alla Rocca. The view is outstanding, the pool great and the village of Pari has a delicious small restaurant at the first floor.
Our hosts were very friendly and accommodating. I can especially recommend the apartments Ginestra and Corbezollo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alekmil
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I will definitely go back”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Poggio alla Rocca for few days this summer. The place is simply beautiful and relaxing, few kilometres away from the charming town of Pari. The owners are very helpful and and do everything they can to make you feel at home.
Wonderful holiday in Tuscany

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the site
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjetil76
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place and hosts”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I stayed at Francesco and Susanna's amazing Poggio alla Rocca for 8 days this summer.

We had high expectations after having read all the great reviews of the place, and we can only say that reality beat the expectations. Poggio alla Rocca is located on a hill top with an astonishing view over the Tuscan landscape. The place in itself is kept to high standards, indoors as well as outdoors, and the pool area, with it's infinity pool, beats everything of what we've experienced after 10 years at various agristurismos across Tuscany.

What made the stay even more special was how Francesco and Susanna ensures that their guests enjoy their stay. Every morning they come ask you if you'd like a cappuccino or espresso and bring it to your terrasse or the pool along with home made cookies. In the afternoon they serve ice cream to their guests. They help you with recommendations on restaurants and places to visit. And not to forget, they offer free wine... They're simply the perfect hosts!

We highly recommend Poggio alla Rocca to everyone who wants to experience the real Tuscany.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool area. Hosts.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking view with great hosts”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights (apartment with pool view) at Poggio alla Rocca and it was just amazing. The house is very nice and especially the pool with the wonderful view is stunning. Moreover, our hosts Susanna and Francesco enchanted our vacation with their friendliness and their complimentary tasty house wine ;) This was definitely the best place during our Tuscany trip. Many thanks again!

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S
Sammamish
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horrible Mold Issues- Do not Stay if you Value your Health”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
7
people found this review helpful

Date of Stay- June 25th. Planned to stay a week but we had to leave. See photos.
As of this post date if you value your family’s health please read on. We arrived at 14:00 and walked into our room to a very strong musty/moldy smell. The room was very humid but we assumed that once the air conditioner was turned on it would be better. By 14:30 the smell had still not dissipated so we opened the windows and doors and went outside. At 18:30 we went back to the room and the smell was still very prominent. We left the window open, locked the door and went to get groceries for our week stay. When we arrived back at 19:45 the door would not unlock. We went to get the owner and she also could not unlock the door. Fortunately the screen was not locked so we were able to climb through the window and this was the only was that we were able to access the room. Not a long term solution but we rolled with the punches. By 20:45 two people had come to fix the door to no avail. We were sitting outside and closed the screen on the window so mosquitoes would not get in. At 21:00 we went to open the screen and it was stuck. We tried to open it for 20 minutes until we all had bloody knuckles. Again we called the owner because now we had no way into the room. She tried to open it and then left saying it hurt her hands (??). Eventually our neighbors helped us pry it open. At 22:15 we opened the pull out sofa and were greeted by a very dirty mattress cover. We took it off and underneath we noticed little black spots on top of the mattress that looked like mold and smelled like urine. One person in our party decided to turn the mattress over and an entire mattress covered with mold greeted us. Please see photo! At this point we knew we could not stay so we went to get the owner again. During this time we also checked the bigger double bed mattress to find it also had mold. See photo. We then looked at the mattress in another apartment and found that mattress covered in mold too. See photo again. By now we had pulled the mattress out of the window because the door was STILL locked. We asked the owner for a new room, she said there were no rooms. We asked her to please call another place for us to stay. We could use the assistance as we were foreigners to Italy and didn’t know the language or the

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
L’ospite per noi è tutto, lo ascoltiamo sempre ed agiamo giornalmente per soddisfare le esigenze personali di ciascuno anche quando la persona non è conciliante. La struttura e gli arredi sono del 2013 quindi nuovi ma siamo nella campagna toscana, bellissima ma naturalmente più umida nelle stagioni eccezionalmente piovose. La gestione è fatta direttamente dai noi proprietari, sempre presenti sul posto per eliminare qualsiasi inconveniente e prendersi tutte le responsabilità ; le critiche, accertate che sono fondate, vengono immediatamente trasformate in azioni correttive come anche in questo caso

Problema macchie nere sul lato inferiore del materasso (responsabilità nostra):

La fodera del materasso del divano letto pur essendo nuovo e lavato ad ogni inizio stagione aveva effettivamente delle macchie di muffa nera (secca senza nessun odore neanche di urina in quanto si tratta della parte inferiore, quella più vicina al pavimento e non quella superiore protetta da un ulteriore coprimaterasso che come si vede dalle foto era pulito) che sono state tolte con candeggina in 10 minuti. Le macchie bianche del materasso matrimoniale sempre sulla parte inferiore sono a contatto con le doghe e costituiscono un problema comune a tutti i materassi in lattice (condensa sviluppata dal calore umano) soprattutto in mesi eccezionalmente umidi e piovosi come sono stati i mesi di maggio e giugno 2016.
Azione correttiva posta in essere: i materassi dei divani letto sono stati ricoperti anche nel lato inferiore con fodera, che viene controllata settimanalmente e sostituita per il lavaggio quando occorre.

Problemi causati dall’ospite:

La zanzariera della finestra e' stata tirata giù dall'esterno dall'ospite a porta già bloccata; non era possibile aprirla dall'esterno e l’ospite per averla aperta in maniera impropria (non da dentro ma da fuori) ha causato danni.

La porta e' stata chiusa non in maniera corretta dall'ospite e quindi si e' bloccata; alle 23.15 con intervento di un fabbro effettuato di sabato sera e pagato dalla proprietà, era di nuovo aperta alla presenza dell'ospite che pero' stranamente non lo menziona nel suo commento.

E' stato offerto agli ospiti di alloggiare nell'appartamento del proprietario (l'unico disponibile) che avrebbe occupato l'appartamento non gradito all'ospite: offerta rifiutata.

Alle 23.15 dello stesso giorno 25 giugno 2016, anche se di sabato sera, la porta bloccata era di nuovo funzionante, la zanzariera aperta e le macchie tolte con semplice candeggina ma l’ospite ha preferito cambiare struttura.

Francesco e Susanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smythe100
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing view and apartment”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the apartment (Sughera) in early may. When you arrive you are amazed by the view and are still amazed up until the point that you leave.

The apartment had a lovely rustic feel, but had modern fitting, furniture etc. also had everything you need for cooking.

The pool and common areas very spotless and with so many places within the beautiful gardens, you would never really notice the other guests if all were full.

The hosts were very welcoming and a pleasure to chat too.

The local town Pari is very picturesque, and only 30 minutes walk or 5 minutes drive.

The best views in Tuscany and should be on your list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing