We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best lodging in Egg”
Review of Landmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Landmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Still the best lodging in Egg”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

For all the little idiosyncracies of Landmark, it still remains the best lodging in southern Door. The view is first-rate - I look forward to it every year. The view for the price is still incredibly undervalued. Yes, the units are different and privately owned, but I find this makes repeat visits interesting and more personal. The amenities are numerous, the restaurant is getting much better, and the AC/heat situation in rooms has been solved. I found wireless to be much better this visit. I'll always recommend Landmark (disclaimer: I'm related to owners of units in Landmark).

Room Tip: Navigator is more private and quieter; Harbor and Flagship are nearer to outdoor pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cblukens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Suites are unique. They are individually owned, and owners have some discretion as far as their color choices and artwork. There is also a robust set of standards dictated by the Interiors Committee, and each suite must meet these standards before it can be part of the rental pool. Thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    202
    88
    36
    28
See reviews for
255
240
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This was my first time visiting Door County and I loved it. The Landmark was beautiful and the view was outstanding! Having a whirlpool and pool for each cluster of buildings was great because it wasn't very crowded. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Door County has a wide variety of scenic beauty ... from amazing State parks, lighthouses and an incredible 300 miles of shoreline to shopping boutiques, local artists, antiques and wineries. And don't forget the golf, cuisine and festivals. The Landmark Resort is centrally located, and most of our guests come back year after year because of the plethora of silent sports, scenic beauty and fun activities. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ejido, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Breathtaking views, great accommodations and attentive staff are just a few of the attributes that make the Landmark Resort the perfect vacation spot in Door County. My husband and I celebrated our wedding reception here and could not have been more satisfied with the resort. From the rustic chic rooms to the spectacular food and service, this place made our special day unforgettable. There are a variety of rooms available, which made it a perfect option for our guests. The Egg Harbor room in the Carrington Pub has recently been updated and was the ideal venue for our nautical wedding. Apart from the natural beauty and charm of resort, the staff impressed us the most with their professionalism and hospitality. We were able to cancel a room for international guests who were unable to attend at the last minute, free of charge. One of the staff members even drove to Green Bay to pick up a guest who got stranded on the day of the wedding! We are so grateful for all that the Landmark Resort did for us on our special day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Congratulations. We were delighted to be part of your special day. For 30 years now the Landmark Resort has been a haven for romantic getaways and honeymoon vacations, as well as a perfect setting for an intimate Door County wedding. The Landmark Resort provides the scenic beauty of the bluff overlooking the Bay of Green Bay - a picture-perfect backdrop for your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Make sure you realize that this place has been "grandfathered in" by the ADA. We had family reunion and couldn't get wheelchairs in rooms without lifting. Then the wheelchair does't even get into the bedroom, so plan on having extra help trying to get your handicapped loved one in bed. Oh did I mention to be careful when going in and out doorways so you don't accidentally dump your loved out of their wheelchair. No financial reason they can't make this just a little easier for Americans with disabilities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
The Landmark Resort is a 30 year old property, and it is true that some things have been "grandfathered" in. No one has ever been dumped out of their wheelchair on our property. We've had kids crash a golf cart, but you can imagine the horseplay that was going on. Addressing the needs of the handicapped has always been important to us. We were among the first to be ADA compliant with assist chairs for our pools and whirlpools. Right now we are investigating the price, features, and installation timing for the elevated seat toilets. We're not perfect, but our efforts to improve continue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have been to Door County many times, for many years and stayed at a lot of different places. We booked this room through vrbo.com at the last minute, to extend an already-planned trip to other areas in Door County. It was actually the only room I could find in Door County for the last minute Friday night for just one night, so my expectations were low (I just wanted a decent place to stay).
Much to my surprise, I was very happy with the resort. I didn't realize it was such a big resort with so many activities (all the pools, a nice playground, restaurant, shuffle boards, etc.). I would love to go back to have a little more time to spend there.
Our room was a one bedroom, so we had the kids (age 4 & 6) sleep in the bedroom and we slept out on the pull out couch. The bedroom was a little tight, the furnishing a little dated, but this is all very typical of most places in Door County and didn't bother us at all.
We were at the hotel for only 15 hours probably, so it's hard to give a thorough review, but I'd definitely go back and I'd certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madisonsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed in the Flagship building. It was nice. Good location on the property. The halls have a musty odor but it is clean. The restaurant is just OK. The bar is fun. Karaoke on Saturday night is a blast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cancan449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate getting comment cards and reviews from our guests. There have been a couple reviews noting the musty smell. It does exist in some hallways, and we are addressing it. New carpeting has been installed in our Navigator building. The other three lodging buildings - Flagship, Harbor, and Charthouse - are scheduled to have their carpet replaced this fall. The timing decision was made to minimize the impact on our guests during the busiest time of the year. Perhaps that decision could be second-guessed that the elimination of the smell is more important than the inconvenience of the installation would have been in June. Just a note that we care, and there are changes underway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have stayed at the Landmark several times. This year the grounds were in much better shape with less weeds and more mulch so the outside appearance was much improved from all the weeds we saw last year. However once we entered our Flagstaff room we noticed a very "off" smell. We aired it out for a couple hours by leaving the door open. However the halls smelled very musty so it frankly wasn't 't much better. The furniture was well worn with scratch marks that could be easily taken care of. The unit lacked coasters of any kind, so we had to use small plates to avoid further damage to the furniture. There weren't even any saucers to set a coffee cup on. The kitchen also lacked a blender so that left out the smoothies we were prepared to make. We also couldn't find a scissors. So adding those few items could improve one's stay. Bathroom lacks counter space and our faucet was very hard to operate. The bedroom is quite small, lacks a TV set and the mattress was so soft we both ended up with backaches. My husband even tried sleeping on the couch since we both sunk to the middle of the squishy mattress. When I mentioned this at the front desk, we were told the mattresses had all been replaced a couple years ago. It certainly was not money well spent! Staff was friendly enough, but for the high summer prices, I would expect a bit better accommodations. It's a great location and we will return and hope for a more updated room that is better equipped next time.

Room Tip: All rooms have a woodsy view. Some have a water view. The room location didn't matter to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
202 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
743 reviews
12.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
13.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Resort

Property: Landmark Resort
Address: 4929 Landmark Dr, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-8857
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Landmark Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's Landmark Resort features 294 tastefully-appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. Comfortable and casual, the accommodations reflect Door County's relaxed attitude. With alternate views of the forested countryside or Green Bay's sparkling waters, the suites include a fully-equipped kitchen, living room, dining area and deck. All of the units are air-conditioned, feature cable television, a DVD player, and free wireless internet access. Indoor pool is open 24/7. Plenty of great amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Landmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI
Landmark Hotel Egg Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing