We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We won't be back....and I doubt the owners even care!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Egg Harbor Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Egg Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Egg Harbor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We won't be back....and I doubt the owners even care!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

My first red flag is that their website does not feature any photos of rooms. There's a reason for that. Very outdated, in color, design, etc. Comfortable but that was about it. Small, small bathroom... and although they said carpeting was new, my feet were always black so I had to start wearing sandals.
Our screen door was ripped down one entire side, so we could not leave the door open at all.

The grounds are nice, pool and the sunsent, well - the owners can't take any credit for that.
I think the biggest issue was that these people seem to care less about their level of service. We encountered first the husband, then the wife, and then maybe a daughter. NOT ONCE, Not Once -- were we welcomed, shown any information about our room, thanked for our business or even encourage to 'come back and visit'. This is the hospitality business folks -- that means being hospitable, and hopefully liking what you do! It seems to us that you are just biding your time until you could get out of your investment.

Room Tip: Can't say. Ours was minimally satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    29
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
90
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We found the Egg Harbor Lodge quite by accident. We came in without a reservation, were given a room and found it to be a perfect example of north woods charm. It's a little dated (window air conditioner in the room, practice putting green, 1 tennis court) but it's been kept up beautifully. It doesn't strive to be a five star hotel but it's ambience is wonderful. The lodge sits atop a bluff overlooking Egg Harbor. At sunset, guests gather in lawn chairs or sit on their balconies to watch a magnificent show. The vibe here is relaxed and mature without being geriatric. My wife and I loved this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jswan1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Built c. 1980 and not updated since! Other than new roadside sign :) rooms are dated tired and worn. Bedding is motel style spread blue sheets etc. Bath is dark, old. Views are all this place offers. Service is basic level. No iron in room. Forget any special requests.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgdcil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

A hidden gem. We needed a place for 7 adults to just relax and enjoy Door County's slow pace and outdoor beauty. We were thrilled when we arrived to see a breathtaking bay view, and exactly the right level of creature comforts. The adult atmosphere with no screaming kids is something you need to experience - we love kids, but it's much more relaxing when they're not taking over the pool with Marco Polo! After staying in more than a dozen places in Door County this is now our absolute favorite. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happydaymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

Egg Harbor Lodge has old school charm and a gorgeous view. Our room was great. A view of the bay with a nice outdoor pool just a few feet away. Sarah and her staff were wonderful. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mulgrew82110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

I called to confirm our reservations and told them we were staying to celebrate our anniversary. We arrived in the evening, and were given a room directly next to the office "so they can keep an eye on us". We thought this might be for special attention we'd get, however, we just got to hear the loud conversations and the office door slam all day. The room was clean but very outdated and we could only get the A/C to work when we jiggled the plug in the outlet. The staff was not helpful in directing us to local restaurants or sites, they seemed to not want to be bothered with us. Also, the beds were horribly uncomfortable, we both woke up sore every morning. We would definitely not stay here again, there seem to be many newer and friendlier places to stay in Door County.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calvinneal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

We stayed in a premium unit with an awesome view of Green Bay! The wireless Internet is faster than most and even works in some of the outside areas. The staff is excellent,the grounds meticulous.
Our Sprint cell could never find a signal. The Att phone worked almost everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calvinneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
8.7 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
11.6 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
5.2 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egg Harbor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egg Harbor Lodge

Property: Egg Harbor Lodge
Address: 7965 State Highway 42, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Egg Harbor
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Egg Harbor Hotel Egg Harbor
Egg Harbor Lodge Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing