We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shallows Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shallows Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Our extended family stayed in two rooms at the Shallows and had a great time. A very nice location especially for the wonderful sunsets. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was limited but the cinnamon buns were great. The hotel itself is like much of the area, older but they maintain it to a very high level. The swimming pool and hot tub were great for the kids, as was the kayaks. They also have tennis, badminton and a basketball hoop. Our kids said it would be perfect for a full family reunion!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    23
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Shallows is a beautifully landscaped and well-maintained resort property. Located directly on the water, you'll have a wide variety of water activities you can take advantage of, free of charge...whether it's boating, canoeing, or kayaking. You'll want to take advantage of the tennis courts to work off the delicious frosted cinnamon rolls available each morning in the enclosed Gathering Room, poolside. (Free coffee, juice, and mini-bagels/cream cheese are also available.) Bring your own rackets & balls, or they have ones you can borrow. We, as well as our children, enjoyed the beautiful pool and hottub. The Rainbow playset and sandy beach area provided additional fun for our younger children. Bikes are available, as well, to borrow for young and old alike. Our family loved staying here and we will definitely return. Highly recommend. The property owners are very nice and welcoming. We've never stayed at a place that is so well cared for and loved by so many. Now we know why.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beachhouse, Unit A, and loved it. Beautifully renovated. Loved the view from our un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiliki6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having never visited Door County before, we had been warned to lower our expectations. We did, but we were pleasantly surprised by the Shallows. Easy to find with a GPS and relaxing from the second you drive down the pathway to the main building to check-in. The family that runs the resort is super friendly and gives you a decent one-over of what to activities are available on property.

We stayed at one of the beach cabin and it was very spacious - which added to the relaxing nature of the trip. The first night we used the grill provided at the cabin to make dinner and it seems we may have over-prepared as we bought a lot of essentials which it turned out were already in the cabin for us to use. It was also nice having a full kitchen so that we could make our own meals or get a decent midnight snack since a lot of the area closes down pretty early.

My favorite part of the resort was building a fire in one of the two fire pits on the property and watching the sun go down. The owners are happy to provide the firewood and fire-starters to make the night go off without a hitch. My own warning is to bring a lot of bug spray and possibly some fogger - those bugs out there are huge and they like to swarm - but that's not limited to just the Shallows - it seemed to be pretty much all of Door County.

Room Tip: The beach cabins were lovely. Sat TV, A/C, full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jig1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This resort is located directly on the water with unbeatable views. It is clean, quiet and pet friendly. We were greeted warmly and made to feel immediately welcomed. In the evening you can sit by one of two fire pits right next to the waters edge and watch the gorgeous sunset! I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenEE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Every August, my extended family and I spend a week in Door County. The Shallows remains our hotel of choice. Although a bit dated, its facilities are clean, beds comfortable, and bikes readily available. I should add that the establishment's view of the water is stunning, especially when with family/friends around a roaring fire at sunset.

P.S. If you love your room and want to reserve it for next year, don't be afraid to say so before leaving!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raritan, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Having visited Door County Wisconsin a dozen or more times over the last 20 years, our trips there had always involved camping at a nearby campground. Given the so-so weather forecast for our visit, we decided to ditch the camping and find a resort. Excellent decision!

After a couple of contacts with places that did not accept 4-legged guests, we happened on to The Shallows. (Thanks to other Tripadvisor reviewers.) We were not disappointed!

Arriving late afternoon on a Monday, we were surprised to find several other guests there; after all, this is still off season. We were greeted by Bob, half of the couple who own The Shallows. Having never been there, we felt immediately welcome and at home. Figuring that we would spend very little time actually at the resort, we had opted for one of the second-floor Woodview rooms, which would not offer any view of Green Bay. Imagine our surprise to open our door to a first-floor room and finding a sliding glass door offering a gorgeous view of the "back yard" shoreline and water just a few steps away!

The room was spotless and fresh-smelling. Nothing musty here! (I walked around the room in white socks during our stay, and my socks were as white at the end of the day as at the beginning!) The queen sized beds were extremely comfortable and the bathtub/shower had been recently updated. We also noted a refreshing lack of noise from any neighboring guests. Also notably absent was the typical motel room noise box that provides oven-like heat or bone-chilling drafts. Silent baseboard heat provided the gentle warming comfort that we needed.

The grounds were very clean, especially considering the heavily wooded environs.

The continental breakfast was coffee, tea, orange juice, mini bagels w/cream cheese (toaster available) and iced cinnamon sweet rolls, served from a warming tray. Nice touch! The meeting room is nicely decorated with a view of the Bay. What a wonderful way to start your morning!

The Shallows has several other properties in the area, and I have no doubt that each of them is operated and maintained in similar fashion to the main property we visited. The main property is located just a few minutes drive from Egg Harbor, where shopping, food, a grocery store and gas station are available. Egg Harbor is centrally located on the west side of the Door Peninsula, making for convenient access to all the Door has to offer.

Our room rate here was less than the rate we paid at a motel elsewhere on our trip, and the motel surely did not have the view and amenities that The Shallows offers.

We understand that there is biking, kayaking, fishing and boating available here as well but it was far too chilly and rainy this week to take advantage of those activities. There were chunks of ice on the Bay the day we arrived. Brrr...

We met several of the staff members during our stay and each of them was genuine in their friendliness. This is a Mom-and-Pop that has been in business for two generations and their obvious pride in the appearance of their facility and their guest's satisfaction explains why they are successful.

This was our first stay at The Shallows; it certainly won't be our last.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank medman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The Shallows is in a great quiet location south of Egg harbor. Rooms were very clean, but a little on the need for upgrading side. Breakfast cinnamon rolls were very good. Nice view of the lake when you go to the beach area.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John38474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
2.8 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
11.6 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
14.6 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
8.0 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shallows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallows Resort

Property: Shallows Resort
Address: 7353 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-8943
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Shallows Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shallows Resort is a relaxed, family-friendly Door County resort located directly on shores of Green Bay. From our shoreline you can watch the sun set, launch one of the resort's canoes, kayaks, or rowboats and sit by the camp fire ...all in the seclusion of our Egg Harbor waterfront resort. We have a variety of accommodations and price points to meet your vacation needs. Make our Door County lodging your home base to tour the entire Door peninsula - we're centrally located to some of the area's best restaurants, parks, golf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shallows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallows Hotel Egg Harbor
Shallows Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing