We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING”
Review of Shallows Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shallows Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We've been coming to The Shallows Resort since I was born 21 years ago (my parents had been coming many years before my birth). Originally, we had a motel room. We upgraded about 18 years ago to the Gatehouse, and upgraded again this year to the Beachhouse. Every year, we are BLOWN AWAY by the wonderful hospitality given by Bob and Liz. The rooms are ALWAYS clean, and the view is BRILLIANT! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE WHO WANTS A WONDERFUL VACATION! A+!!
-The Conroy Family

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KConroy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    24
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in a Gatehouse room that had a separate bedroom and full kitchen. The room was clean and modern. I slept well every night, and I never can sleep in hotels! A very short walk down a path surrounded by beautiful flowers, was the pool and then Horseshoe Bay. Kayaks were available to use, as were bikes. My family used the kayaks every day! This is a great resort for couples, families and family reunions. We enjoyed making s'mores around the bonfire on our last night. We will be back!

Room Tip: Motel rooms and beach house are really close to the water. Gatehouse had water views and a short wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family of 4 stayed in the Gatehouse at The Shallows. It was very clean, had enough room for all of us, and was decorated perfectly to feel like you're in Door County! The amenities were also great (had boats, bikes, tennis courts and a heated outdoor pool) and the staff was friendly and helpful.
We brought breakfast food even though a continental breakfast was included. We were glad we did because the breakfast was just cinnamon rolls, bagels, and juice.
We recommend bringing beach towels because they don't give beach towels for the pool or lake.

Room Tip: The Gatehouse was the perfect size for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids. The kids used the pullout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Our extended family stayed in two rooms at the Shallows and had a great time. A very nice location especially for the wonderful sunsets. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was limited but the cinnamon buns were great. The hotel itself is like much of the area, older but they maintain it to a very high level. The swimming pool and hot tub were great for the kids, as was the kayaks. They also have tennis, badminton and a basketball hoop. Our kids said it would be perfect for a full family reunion!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Shallows is a beautifully landscaped and well-maintained resort property. Located directly on the water, you'll have a wide variety of water activities you can take advantage of, free of charge...whether it's boating, canoeing, or kayaking. You'll want to take advantage of the tennis courts to work off the delicious frosted cinnamon rolls available each morning in the enclosed Gathering Room, poolside. (Free coffee, juice, and mini-bagels/cream cheese are also available.) Bring your own rackets & balls, or they have ones you can borrow. We, as well as our children, enjoyed the beautiful pool and hottub. The Rainbow playset and sandy beach area provided additional fun for our younger children. Bikes are available, as well, to borrow for young and old alike. Our family loved staying here and we will definitely return. Highly recommend. The property owners are very nice and welcoming. We've never stayed at a place that is so well cared for and loved by so many. Now we know why.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beachhouse, Unit A, and loved it. Beautifully renovated. Loved the view from our un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiliki6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having never visited Door County before, we had been warned to lower our expectations. We did, but we were pleasantly surprised by the Shallows. Easy to find with a GPS and relaxing from the second you drive down the pathway to the main building to check-in. The family that runs the resort is super friendly and gives you a decent one-over of what to activities are available on property.

We stayed at one of the beach cabin and it was very spacious - which added to the relaxing nature of the trip. The first night we used the grill provided at the cabin to make dinner and it seems we may have over-prepared as we bought a lot of essentials which it turned out were already in the cabin for us to use. It was also nice having a full kitchen so that we could make our own meals or get a decent midnight snack since a lot of the area closes down pretty early.

My favorite part of the resort was building a fire in one of the two fire pits on the property and watching the sun go down. The owners are happy to provide the firewood and fire-starters to make the night go off without a hitch. My own warning is to bring a lot of bug spray and possibly some fogger - those bugs out there are huge and they like to swarm - but that's not limited to just the Shallows - it seemed to be pretty much all of Door County.

Room Tip: The beach cabins were lovely. Sat TV, A/C, full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jig1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This resort is located directly on the water with unbeatable views. It is clean, quiet and pet friendly. We were greeted warmly and made to feel immediately welcomed. In the evening you can sit by one of two fire pits right next to the waters edge and watch the gorgeous sunset! I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
2.5 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
11.6 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
10.8 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
14.6 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shallows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallows Resort

Property: Shallows Resort
Address: 7353 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-8943
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Shallows Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shallows Resort is a relaxed, family-friendly Door County resort located directly on shores of Green Bay. From our shoreline you can watch the sun set, launch one of the resort's canoes, kayaks, or rowboats and sit by the camp fire ...all in the seclusion of our Egg Harbor waterfront resort. We have a variety of accommodations and price points to meet your vacation needs. Make our Door County lodging your home base to tour the entire Door peninsula - we're centrally located to some of the area's best restaurants, parks, golf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Shallows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallows Hotel Egg Harbor
Shallows Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing